ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-31-2015, 05:28 PM   #1
skyguy OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Oddometer: 132
Google Earth Pro is now FREE

Just saw this on Gizmodo – Google Earth Pro, which used to be $400/year, is now apparently FREE.

http://gizmodo.com/google-earth-pro-...ree-1682987518
skyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 04:20 AM   #2
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 13,270
Kind of unclear if it will remain free. It says "free trial" in places.

Downloaded it and played with it. Some cool features. For most of my day to day use, google maps are just fine.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 06:42 AM   #3
OceanMtnSea
Pretty Dogged
 
OceanMtnSea's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: left middle Saskatchewan & entering middle BC
Oddometer: 601
Yes it says FREE








BUT........................here seems to be some issues????




OK.......HERE IS HOW I GOT IT TO WORK.

1) Open your standard version of Google Earth
2) Sign in to Google Earth
3) Got to HELP....then Upgrade to Google Earth Pro
4) This will open an internet window(Firefox in my case)
5) Fill in the form using the gmail address you used to sign in to Google Earth

Presto.....they email you the License Key


6) Now download Google Earth Pro and install
7) Sign in with your gmail address and enter the GEPro Key sent via email.

.......and viola it is loaded and fully integrates with Garmin Basecamp

HAPPY MAPPING
__________________
2007 BMW Dakar & 2009 Ducati Multistrada leaving the middle of the in-land sea called Saskatchewan for the Mountain Valleys of BC, Canada
http://s737.photobucket.com/user/Oce...?sort=3&page=0

OceanMtnSea screwed with this post 02-01-2015 at 07:27 AM
OceanMtnSea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 09:07 AM   #4
ohgood
Beastly Adventurer
 
ohgood's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: alabama
Oddometer: 2,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyguy View Post
Just saw this on Gizmodo – Google Earth Pro, which used to be $400/year, is now apparently FREE.

http://gizmodo.com/google-earth-pro-...ree-1682987518
thanks for the heads up !
__________________
Yes, Android AND iphone GPS works without cellular data. Use offline maps and enjoy. (thanks drtbyk!)
ohgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 11:20 AM   #5
scarysharkface
30-125
 
scarysharkface's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Where Prince Charles spent his honeymoon
Oddometer: 13,224
use your gmail address as username and "GEPFREE" as the license code.
__________________
The road to Hell is paved...
Save $5 on a Smugmug subscription when you use my coupon:
yBr7OofIPuOP6
scarysharkface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 08:26 AM   #6
wonderings
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 950
I used the license code sent to me by google when I signed up for pro. Installed with no issues on my iMac. I do not use it whole lot, do all my routing in basecamp. Pretty much only use Google earth for sat images and street view.
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 02:22 PM   #7
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,897
Just wondering if Google sent everyone who paid for Pro a refund? I'd be pretty upset if I'd purchased Pro and six months later they made it Free.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 02:31 PM   #8
byways
byways
 
byways's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 2,257
Another learning investment. So, an important question: What would I be able to do using GE Pro that I cannot do with standard GE and BaseCamp?
byways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 02:42 PM   #9
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,897
Well, for what you do Tony, not much. I haven't found a real need for GE in quite some time. I trust my old Topo data more than I do Googles DEM.

__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 03:27 PM   #10
byways
byways
 
byways's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 2,257
Map-making tool ... That caught my eye. What's your take on that tool, Drtbyk?
byways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 03:52 PM   #11
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,897
Depends on what you want to make maps for, I suppose. I never found a need to use anything other than screenshots and a PDF editor (Preview on Mac) to mark them up. Do this regularly for our Tour Map Books.

If you want a 'map' though you can always just print from BaseCamp...

__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 05:22 PM   #12
byways
byways
 
byways's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 2,257
Many travelers do like their paper maps. And I do need to find a mo' betta way.

I wonder if there are copyright issues in doing the screen-shot thing ... But I'm hijacking now, and gotta stop.

Perhaps we can visit about this next time you're in the neighborhood!
byways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 06:26 PM   #13
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,897
Sure Tony. In the interim you might want to read Google Earth Pro Copyright restrictions regarding making commercial maps. I would assume they have change them since the original 'Pro' was targeted to Businesses.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 05:46 AM   #14
wonderings
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 950
I always liked Basecamp, I plot my routes there and I liked that I could view them in Google Earth with a simple right click on my route and select view in google earth. I installed Google Earth Pro on my new iMac 5K and it seems that this function does not work, I had to install the regular version of google earth to keep this functionality.
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 05:57 AM   #15
byways
byways
 
byways's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 2,257
Could there be a preference setting for that in GE Pro?
byways is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015