ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 01:16 AM   #76
garminych
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Oddometer: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocket_bear View Post
anyone heard from our buddy garminych lately? i left him a PM, hoping to buy a 2Gb upgrade, and haven't heard anything. just curious.

rocket_bear

Cheсk PM
garminych is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 07:46 PM   #77
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddyturn View Post
Have you been reading the Montana thread from the get-go? Much more complex but it all depends on how and what you are going to use the unit for. Let us all know how it works out.
You'll never get through the whole New Garmin Montana thread, but the topic in my sig is the Coles Notes version.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 03:09 PM   #78
rocket_bear
turbo giraffe pilot
 
rocket_bear's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Pugetopolis
Oddometer: 19
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by garminych View Post
Cheсk PM
just wanted to followup here and let everyone know how this turned out: go the upgrade earlier this week, and now have ALL of NA CityNav on my 276C. i'm a happy camper.

except for the 'only garmin could make us feel good about 2GB for $150 in 2012' part.

__________________
Jim

'06 950 Adventure
'04 Sherco 2.9
'99 750 Monster
'05 Thruxton
and misc. others

Observations blog:
http://observations.blackdogandmagpie.net
rocket_bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 04:15 AM   #79
pary7
n00b
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Quebec, Canada
Oddometer: 1
Got it in the same package as KevinC. Shipping was really faster than I expected. Ordered on June 2nd and I got it yesterday (June 14th). Less than 2 weeks. I own a GPSMAP 296. For now, it seems to work like the original one from Garmin. I was able to load mostly all of the City Navigator NA NT 2012 and a big section of Topo Canada v4.

Good to have space on my GPS. I'm going from 128Mb to 2Gb.
pary7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:34 AM   #80
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 15,892
I've got the two gig chip. I like it a lot. I have CNNA, and the following topos: Mo, Ar, Ok, Ut, Wy, and Colorado. All without problems. You can read my review in this THIS thread.
__________________
My SPOT - No tracks = not riding | Husky TR650 Thread Index | Husky TR650 OEM and Interchangeable Parts List | Cheap Beer & Tenderloins | "You know your getting old when a bad hair day includes your nose, eyebrows and ears" - Inmate - advNZer?

TRZ Charlie screwed with this post 06-18-2012 at 06:41 AM
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 02:58 PM   #81
MCLARDIE
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: scotland
Oddometer: 54
Yeh sounds great just back from Europe and the
Small memory cards are a pain in the ass
So pm sent now just waiting for reply

Cheers

Dave
MCLARDIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 02:48 AM   #82
CantRepeat
n00b
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Location: 127.0.0.1
Oddometer: 1
How's this for a necro, I just bought a 276c and was searching for memory for it. This site was on the google search.

I PMed the user who was making the 2gig chips hoping he still makes them. If not, what are the current solutions memory wise?
CantRepeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 07:49 AM   #83
Fasttrak
Captain Crash
 
Fasttrak's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Oddometer: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by CantRepeat View Post
How's this for a necro, I just bought a 276c and was searching for memory for it. This site was on the google search.

I PMed the user who was making the 2gig chips hoping he still makes them. If not, what are the current solutions memory wise?
Only what Garmin still stocks for a model they no longer support. I think they had 512 meg cards as the largest, could be wrong as it has been a few years since I researched this. I have the 2gig card in my 276 and it works out nicely, all of NA fits on one card and that is pretty cool considering it took several of the smaller cards to do the same thing.
__________________
'09 Husqvarna TE610
'12 Tiger Explorer Graphite
Fasttrak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 12:10 PM   #84
drewjb7
Gnarly Adventurer
 
drewjb7's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: MA wishing I was in VT
Oddometer: 138
276C memory

Looks like GPS City still has the 512MB cards:

http://www.gpscity.com/garmin-512mb-memory.html


Drew
__________________
"You're confusing me with someone who gives a sh*t." - bad guy in "Kickass"
Ride report: Orange in the Greens
Web:http://dbanton77.wix.com/industrialstrengthpr#
Blog:http://theindustrialstrengthpress.wordpress.com/
drewjb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 12:18 PM   #85
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 5,194
If it was me, I'd go for the 2gb cards from the member on this forum that is selling them. There have been enough good reports that it seems legit. Of course you still need an older card to take apart to put the new circuit board they send you into, but there should be some fairly cheap older cards floating around.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: KTM 650 ADV (Katuki), 09 DL650, 08 Husky TE610, 08 WR250R
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 10:58 AM   #86
Lobby
Viel Spass, Vato!
 
Lobby's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Oddometer: 28,407
Hmmmmm.

I've been looking for this thread for awhile now. Glad someone bumped it!
__________________
Gracie's Gold
Lobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 06:35 PM   #87
Wadester
Rides a dirty bike
 
Wadester's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: 'Cruces
Oddometer: 2,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning View Post
If it was me, I'd go for the 2gb cards from the member on this forum that is selling them. There have been enough good reports that it seems legit. Of course you still need an older card to take apart to put the new circuit board they send you into, but there should be some fairly cheap older cards floating around.

Here it is:
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=762001

__________________
Two roads diverged in a wood, and / I took the one less traveled by, and / now where the hell am I?

This isn't a "you're doing it wrong" topic. (Originally Posted by Human Ills, 7/1/14)
Wadester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:53 AM   #88
Ditch
Beastly Adventurer
 
Ditch's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: abq,nm
Oddometer: 1,104
Put one a couple of years ago and works great. Find one of the small memory Garmin cards to salvage for the housing. They're usually cheap since they don't hold much compared to todays memory requirements.
__________________
Wendell
You will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy....we must be cautious.
Ditch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:09 AM   #89
Kuno
n00b
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Suntown-Sweden
Oddometer: 4
2 gig card

It works with a 2 gig card, bought from Russia just the memory card without the plastic body, took apart and old 65mb memory card and put inside this new russia 2 gig one, works just fine..

was about 120 euro by paypal..
Kuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015