ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 09:40 AM   #3226
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by garrett View Post
Hi Folks
Just bought a 2010 690 R and while riding it noticed the previous owner lowered the bike in the forks as he's somewhat shorter than I. He lowered the bike about .75 of an inch in the clamps. The owners manual doesn't indicate the stock position of the forks in the clamps. Whats the height of the forks in the clamp supposed to be from the factory?

Yesterday was my first real ride on the bike so I diialed the mapping to position 3 just to get a feel of the low range throttle response. My intent is to dial it up in increments as I ride the bike to see what I like, but I'm curious what setting some of you use in more technical terrain? Do you change settings or just get used to a certain setting and forget about it?

I know there's a Luggage Thread, but I'm tired and lazy after a long day at work and don't feel like typing another post so I'll ask here. This IS the Wunderfest afterall...the bike has the KTM side racks (suitcase carrier) system and the endura top bracket on it. I won't be using hard luggage so will end up removing the side racks and go with the Giant Loop luggage for longer trips and a smaller tool pack on a rear rack for day tripping. Whats the EnduroTop bracket for? Is it integrated with the side rack or a separate stand alone piece? I'm looking at the Touratech Luggage Rack for a small pack for tools and a jacket.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Garrett
The stock location for the forks is top of tubes almost flush with the triple clamp. (just a hair higher). This will affect your handling especially if you have luggage. When my bike was loaded for the first time I felt like my front tire was pushing in the turns... "chopper'd out" or something. I lowered the front suspension with the fork tubes 1/2 inch above the triple clamp and it solved that "pushing" when turning in dirt. Now I actually have my front and rear suspension lowered so my fork tubes are flush with the clamp. (I'm a short bastard)

As for the luggage rack, You will find a lot of people run racks even with soft bags to take the weight off the gas tank/plastic subframe. I have the touratech top rack and it wants to chew up my straps it seems like. Almost like the anodizing is rough. I will be modding it soon.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:46 AM   #3227
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,005
Has anyone run a Kouba link to lower a 690? I'm thinking of slamming my 690 for the ice this winter and wondered if it worked well or not.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:49 AM   #3228
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
Has anyone run a Kouba link to lower a 690? I'm thinking of slamming my 690 for the ice this winter and wondered if it worked well or not.
I tried running a 1 and 5/8" kouba link and removed it. I was rubbing the tire on the tank in the desert whoops.

It would probably work great for ice racing. I'll sell it to you cheap... ?
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:08 AM   #3229
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
I tried running a 1 and 5/8" kouba link and removed it. I was rubbing the tire on the tank in the desert whoops.

It would probably work great for ice racing. I'll sell it to you cheap... ?
PM me man, done deal!
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:26 AM   #3230
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Livin' in the 90's
Oddometer: 5,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
Has anyone run a Kouba link to lower a 690? I'm thinking of slamming my 690 for the ice this winter and wondered if it worked well or not.
I sat on an R with the Kouba link, it was the same height as my 08 E.

Ronin looks to be a bit smaller than us from the pics in his RR. I'd be afraid of the ice tire doing a number on the tank.
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 12:33 PM   #3231
shan
Adventurer
 
shan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: SW France
Oddometer: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtmajors View Post
So could this bike be raced offroad in stock form? I'm not talking professional racing. I mean amateur. Would I be happier with a ktm 500exc? Wish I could give one a good flogging and see how it handles.
I sold my 2012 500 six day exc to get the 690 RR
The 500 is not to good for long trips and as much as it was a rocket ship its more like a 250 ,

If you wont to do the distance and not have the short service intervals and always having to find fuel ,the 690 is the dogs !

But my bike is not stock lol
shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:08 PM   #3232
garrett
Gnarly Adventurer
 
garrett's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary
Oddometer: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
The stock location for the forks is top of tubes almost flush with the triple clamp. (just a hair higher). This will affect your handling especially if you have luggage. When my bike was loaded for the first time I felt like my front tire was pushing in the turns... "chopper'd out" or something. I lowered the front suspension with the fork tubes 1/2 inch above the triple clamp and it solved that "pushing" when turning in dirt. Now I actually have my front and rear suspension lowered so my fork tubes are flush with the clamp. (I'm a short bastard)

As for the luggage rack, You will find a lot of people run racks even with soft bags to take the weight off the gas tank/plastic subframe. I have the touratech top rack and it wants to chew up my straps it seems like. Almost like the anodizing is rough. I will be modding it soon.
Thanks Noah!

Great blog, I'm envious of your trip. Have a great ride and if you're coming through Calgary let me know.
Garrett
__________________
I like bikes...
garrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:34 PM   #3233
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK.RD.RNR View Post
I sat on an R with the Kouba link, it was the same height as my 08 E.

Ronin looks to be a bit smaller than us from the pics in his RR. I'd be afraid of the ice tire doing a number on the tank.
Stiffer spring, the ice is like pavement. DTX bikes on the ice don't make contact with the bike because the suspension is set up for it.
__________________
Just say'IN

crankshaft screwed with this post 05-12-2012 at 02:26 PM
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 05:41 AM   #3234
blakrj
Need to ride
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Cloggland via Borneo, TX, UK, Oz and S.Africa
Oddometer: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantah View Post
They don't have a race called the Mexican 1000 anywhere else. It was this particular race people spent big money to get a piece of; nothing else.

Nobody went down there sight seeing. You know that, right?

You are on the wrong forum.
Never say never. Once upon a time there used to be a race in Africa called the Dakar...
__________________
2011 KTM 690 Enduro R, 2010 KTM 690 Enduro R (stolen)
2008 Yamaha YZ450, 2002 Yamaha YZ426
www.bruneibikers.com
www.airborneriders.com
blakrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:52 AM   #3235
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,005
I was able to do a quick amp check on an external Bosch fuel pump yesterday and the meter read 84 watts. As I recall, the 690 has 200w available. Anyone with a Vortex having cold start issues? I'm finding that I need to crank for a little while to get it to fire. Adjusting the idle helped a little and it starts fine when warmed up. I'm thinking the cold start enrichment PBW needs to be increased. I admit that I pulled the air box out and installed the pod filter.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 11:34 AM   #3236
Barman
Way Offline
 
Barman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Oddometer: 1,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
I was able to do a quick amp check on an external Bosch fuel pump yesterday and the meter read 84 watts. As I recall, the 690 has 200w available. Anyone with a Vortex having cold start issues? I'm finding that I need to crank for a little while to get it to fire. Adjusting the idle helped a little and it starts fine when warmed up. I'm thinking the cold start enrichment PBW needs to be increased. I admit that I pulled the air box out and installed the pod filter.
I've been thinking about installing a pod filter just to eliminate removing the airbox every time I work on the bike. Would make my life simpler.

Mine starts right up with the Vortex. No issue there but it has stalled a couple of times waiting at lights. It's not the same as the stalling with the stock ECU, different dynamic. Just coughs and dies. I'm thinking it's running too rich at idle. I've gone through everything in the last week. Valves adjusted, all grounds refit, good spark plug, no shorts in the coil wiring, new injector, even replaced the rollover sensor with a spare from my R1 I had laying around. I have installed an 88c on fan switch. Could the fan cycling on drop the voltage maybe? Probably a stretch but I'm not going to eliminate it as a possibility.
Runs like a beast with the new ECU though.
__________________
I am at one with my duality.
Barman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 11:50 AM   #3237
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barman View Post
I've been thinking about installing a pod filter just to eliminate removing the airbox every time I work on the bike. Would make my life simpler.

Mine starts right up with the Vortex. No issue there but it has stalled a couple of times waiting at lights. It's not the same as the stalling with the stock ECU, different dynamic. Just coughs and dies. I'm thinking it's running too rich at idle. I've gone through everything in the last week. Valves adjusted, all grounds refit, good spark plug, no shorts in the coil wiring, new injector, even replaced the rollover sensor with a spare from my R1 I had laying around. I have installed an 88c on fan switch. Could the fan cycling on drop the voltage maybe? Probably a stretch but I'm not going to eliminate it as a possibility.
Runs like a beast with the new ECU though.
Been going for evening urban rides, hitting the clover leaf down the street and doing laps around it, followed by trails behind the mall and grocery store where the kids cut through and then a little bit of stair riding at the bank

Runs like a champ, just the cold start is a bit off I think and that could be the increased amount of air with the air box gone. I'll switch maps and see if it changes. I'm thinking of wiring the power to the ECU through a separate switch, bypassing all the silly safety stuff and hoping that the power to the ECU will be consistent. The wiring harness in the bike is shit anyway, but they all are. Husky seems to be the worst of them all.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 12:27 PM   #3238
Barman
Way Offline
 
Barman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Oddometer: 1,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
Been going for evening urban rides, hitting the clover leaf down the street and doing laps around it, followed by trails behind the mall and grocery store where the kids cut through and then a little bit of stair riding at the bank

Runs like a champ, just the cold start is a bit off I think and that could be the increased amount of air with the air box gone. I'll switch maps and see if it changes. I'm thinking of wiring the power to the ECU through a separate switch, bypassing all the silly safety stuff and hoping that the power to the ECU will be consistent. The wiring harness in the bike is shit anyway, but they all are. Husky seems to be the worst of them all.
I did a VT loop on Monday. Passed through your neck of the woods then hit a few trails below Bromley, had a blast.

For close to $900 list for the oem harness you'd figure it would be top notch.
__________________
I am at one with my duality.
Barman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 02:01 PM   #3239
The Letter J
lost in the 690 mega
 
The Letter J's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Oddometer: 1,044
Crankshaft:

With your airbox removed, where did you put your intake air temp sensor? I have mine ziptied to the left side of the frame and it seems to work fine there, it just doesn't look real sanitary. Did you come up with a better solution?
The Letter J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 02:10 PM   #3240
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Letter J View Post
Crankshaft:

With your airbox removed, where did you put your intake air temp sensor? I have mine ziptied to the left side of the frame and it seems to work fine there, it just doesn't look real sanitary. Did you come up with a better solution?
I zip tied it to a wire bundle near the throttle body, so nothing fancy. I'm planning on moving the battery farther forward and then putting the filter where the battery is using alum tube. The plan is to weld a boss in the alum tube for the intake sensor to plug into. A nice light Shorai battery behind the radiator mounted flat would be the ticket I think.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015