ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 06:40 AM   #4966
phx690
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Oddometer: 11
The dealership just said the new map would make it stall more. I would imagine it came with a baffle, I assume it's this 3" long slightly tapered metal piece with a quarter inch lip around the top.
phx690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:44 AM   #4967
Garp
Beastly Adventurer
 
Garp's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Newtown, CT
Oddometer: 2,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx690 View Post
The dealership just said the new map would make it stall more. I would imagine it came with a baffle, I assume it's this 3" long slightly tapered metal piece with a quarter inch lip around the top.
Yep, It installs between the Muffler and the connector pipe. Supposedly it has the most effect with the narrow end pointing towards the front of the bike, but I noticed almost zero effect, it's still obnoxiously load and stalls. I went back to stock, quieter but it still stalls.
Garp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:55 AM   #4968
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Watching Kenny61 Ground Assault Videos
Oddometer: 5,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx690 View Post
I'm a new 2012 690 owner, only have about a hundred miles on it. I read through a ton of threads on stalling, just looking for an opinion. Only thing the bike has on it is an apex slip-on. This bike stalls at almost every light, as I'm taking a left I will give it a little gas and it stalls. Then it can take up to ten tries to get it going with a few good pops coming from the exhaust. They didn't add any new maps or anything, the dealership said that would make it stall more. Need some advice because I'm going on a 2000 mile ride Tuesday.

Get an FMF Q4, and do the 15 minute reset, no remap required, and waaaaaay less obnoxious than the Apex.
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:58 AM   #4969
Pantah
Red Sox Nation
 
Pantah's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: India Wharf
Oddometer: 10,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx690 View Post
The dealership just said the new map would make it stall more. I would imagine it came with a baffle, I assume it's this 3" long slightly tapered metal piece with a quarter inch lip around the top.

I have a 2012 also with about 2600 miles so far. My exhaust is stock. I switched my map to #1 (soft) early on and it started stalling occasionally. It would happen at a stop light if I bliped the throttle plus a couple times crawling through a jammed freeway.

An inmate suggested changing the map setting sometimes causes the stalling. The fix for it is to turn on the key, open the throttle slowly to the stop, and close it slowly. Then turn off the key. Presto! Hasn't stalled in the last 2k miles.

The other fix is the 15 minute idle. I think what this does is reset the ECU to it's default settings, thereby unlearning the rider's power habits.

I thought I read there is a way to bump up the idle. If there is it might be a quick fix to get you through your trip. My old 950 stalled a lot and I just bumped the idle from 1400 to 1600.

If that doesn't work, why not put the stock muffler back on and do the throttle twist thingie...

Good luck
__________________
Straight ahead and faster -Bo Weaver 1970
"There I was..." -Griffin Niner Three Hotel
"One day closer to a parade..." Jonny Gomes, spring training 2013
Pantah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:59 AM   #4970
phx690
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Oddometer: 11
What is the 15 minute reset?
phx690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:14 AM   #4971
phx690
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Oddometer: 11
Any suggestions on extra parts I should be taking with me. Only thing I'm taking other than the basics is an extra fuel pump and filter.
phx690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:37 AM   #4972
Barman
Way Offline
 
Barman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Oddometer: 1,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx690 View Post
What is the 15 minute reset?
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...0&postcount=22
__________________
I am at one with my duality.
Barman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:50 AM   #4973
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Watching Kenny61 Ground Assault Videos
Oddometer: 5,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx690 View Post
What is the 15 minute reset?
Do the TPS reset like Pantah suggested. The 15min reset consists of starting the engine from dead cold (sitting overnight), just let it sit and idle for 15mins straight with zero inputs (throttle etc.).

My understanding is that it resets the sensors, gives them adequate time to adjust to new weather/ air density conditions.

Also, don't know if this is part of your issue, but on my 08, you are not supposed to have any throttle input until the temp gauge reaches 4 bars. I found that the few times I ignored this, she seemed to stall very frequently. The last time I pushed my luck with that suggestion, it stalled as I was pulling into traffic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phx690 View Post
Any suggestions on extra parts I should be taking with me. Only thing I'm taking other than the basics is an extra fuel pump and filter.
If the tail light/ directional configuration is the same as the 08s, I'd take 3 or 4 extra left side rear directionals.
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:20 AM   #4974
Biped
NooB Again
 
Biped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon, Wet Side
Oddometer: 239
Here's a new one...

'08 Model, has been running great for 11k miles. While rding along the FI light comes on solid and the engine tone gets louder, lots of popping on decel. Cycle key/kill on/off and back to running great again. Happens itermittantly. No other FI warning lights. Will connect to TuneECU tonight to check for codes. Any suggestions....
I'm thinking could be SAS signal related, did the SAS'ectomy 3 years ago, resistor may have corrosion causing ECU to blunder.
__________________
If it moves and it should not, duct tape it, if it does not move and it should WD40 it!
Biped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:25 AM   #4975
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Watching Kenny61 Ground Assault Videos
Oddometer: 5,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biped View Post
'08 Model, has been running great for 11k miles. While rding along the FI light comes on solid and the engine tone gets louder, lots of popping on decel. Cycle key/kill on/off and back to running great again. Happens itermittantly. No other FI warning lights. Will connect to TuneECU tonight to check for codes. Any suggestions....
I'm thinking could be SAS signal related, did the SAS'ectomy 3 years ago, resistor may have corrosion causing ECU to blunder.

You have to put it into neutral for the FI light to flash your code for you, then compare with the manual for code. Remember to count both long, and short flashes, ie; 4 long, 3 short = (x) code.
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:53 AM   #4976
Maxacceleration
What now
 
Maxacceleration's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Wa
Oddometer: 1,865
Blink Code

Mine is flashing one long & three short.
Intake air temperature sensor - input signal too low
Intake air temperature sensor - input signal too high

__________________
Horsepower is a distant second to useable torque, unless cafe cruising is the reason for the purchase...
Quote:
Originally Posted by DireWolf
Sounds dangerous.
Maxacceleration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:29 AM   #4977
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Upstate SC
Oddometer: 8,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxacceleration View Post
Mine is flashing one long & three short.
Intake air temperature sensor - input signal too low
Intake air temperature sensor - input signal too high

Wiring to the sensor is either broken or the sensors gone bad due to the wiring pulling on the sensor. This happens a lot on 690's.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:49 AM   #4978
Biped
NooB Again
 
Biped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon, Wet Side
Oddometer: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK.RD.RNR View Post
You have to put it into neutral for the FI light to flash your code for you, then compare with the manual for code. Remember to count both long, and short flashes, ie; 4 long, 3 short = (x) code.
I did that, and no codes. I have picked up codes on TuneECU before that were not displayed on the bike. Will report back tonight..
__________________
If it moves and it should not, duct tape it, if it does not move and it should WD40 it!
Biped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:51 AM   #4979
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKINNY View Post
I have a 2012 with an FMF and it doesn't stall....
it backfires like a pack mule farting sometimes...
but it did that with the stock muffler...

It seems that the 690 has been wildly inconsistent since the first model...
every new year model has had some reports of stalling
The 2012's have warm start issues...
my 2008 has never had even a minor hiccup in 11,000 miles

Tell you dealer to call KTM...when I complained about the backfires on my 2012, they told my dealer to install the Akro map...

You can thank California for this. I suspect it takes a lot of funky stuff to make some of these bikes compliant with emmissions. So they run like crap with no power and lots of issues but they pass the emmissions test. Bravo
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 12:23 PM   #4980
SKINNY
Studly Adventurer
 
SKINNY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: West Texas
Oddometer: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth S View Post
You can thank California for this. I suspect it takes a lot of funky stuff to make some of these bikes compliant with emmissions. So they run like crap with no power and lots of issues but they pass the emmissions test. Bravo
I think we were all happier with the 49 state models...when the factories started building 50 state legal stuff, we all got cursed with the California drizzling shits...
SKINNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014