ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2013, 11:16 PM   #7951
Hoots
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hoots's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Gundaroo NSW OZ
Oddometer: 1,516
Is anyone using shorter aftermarket clutch and brake levers?

If so, any recommendations?
Hoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 07:21 AM   #7952
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoots View Post
Is anyone using shorter aftermarket clutch and brake levers?

If so, any recommendations?
I dropped my bike first day I owned it. Kickstand sunk into grass. The clutch leaver bent at the "break off" notch at about 35 degrees. I then cut the break leaver about 1cm past that notch and it makes a great short lever.

you could do the same pretty easily... minus dropping the bike.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:24 AM   #7953
Velociraptor
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 1,122
I had some aftermarket levers I got from KTM Twins. They were not shorty levers. I liked the feature to easily adjust lever play. I ended up talking them off because they did not fit well inside my Cycra pro-bend bark busters and the levers did not have the bump that enabled starting the bike in gear. I have them on my supermoto now, where being able to start in gear is not as important. Anyway with the pro-bend setup on my 690, breaking a stock lever is much less likely. I have not seen any shorty levers for the 690, but if you found some for the 990 SMR or SMT they might fit the 690, but prob would not be able to start in gear. KTM Twins said they were working on a new design. They were from FP Racing.
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:05 AM   #7954
modeselector
Common as muck
 
modeselector's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Washington USA
Oddometer: 624
FI flashing the 8's

Wondering if anyone has some input. Took a perfectly running '12, properly mapped for my Uni and Wings and yesterday put on new EVO 2 tanks from RR. Took the time to do a mild spring clean with the airbox off and add dielectric grease to all the electrical connectors.

Tanks on, put things back in place and upon start up, get the flashing 8's FI code, somewhere I translated it to "Grip Position Sensor" - I assume is the same as TPS. It starts, rough idle. Put in gear or if I add throttle will kill the engine.

Now here are a couple things I messed with during the RR tank install:
- Had to ditch the black plastic piece near the steering head on right side but throttle cables pass through there soo without thinking, started to remove the throttle cables by loosening the threads on top, forward of the tb but stopped, realized how silly that was just to get the cables from the shroud and just cut the damn thing to fee the cables.
- the inside lip of the tb looked a bit dirty and I carefully cleaned around inside lip and butterfly face with a rag and tb cleaner.
- A partial canisterectomy was performed when I first purchased the bike but kept the valve on the right side stil plugged in - all vacum caps were installed. I took this off as required to put on the rr tanks and closed the loop with the 22k Ohm resistor. I reversed this back, putting valve back ON the bike and plugged the cable back in this valve but still get error code.

Nothing looks pinched but I ran out of time last night and will have a closer peek Sunday.

Maybe someone has input or thoughts.
modeselector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:21 AM   #7955
thorinoakenshield
ya mo be there
 
thorinoakenshield's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: ☼
Oddometer: 456
coolant

So what coolant are you pimps using?
I need to top off my reservoir a bit. i've dropped my bike too many times...
The manual calls for Motorex G48 Coolant. It's "free of nitrates, amines and phosphates."
Now I may have Motorex stickers on my bike, but I sure don't want to buy this expensive-ass coolant ($15/L).
What's the NAPA, Pep-Boys, etc. equivalent?
Maybe Honda coolant?

EDIT: oh wait, this may be what I need: Prestone Extended Life Coolant : "Free of silicate, phosphate, borate and nitrate"
I remember using this on my sportbike many years ago....

thorinoakenshield screwed with this post 03-30-2013 at 09:31 AM
thorinoakenshield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:09 AM   #7956
ABuck99
0.0
 
ABuck99's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 609
I was introduced to a new product from Moose Racing yesterday- and I am confident that it will prove to be as good as all the other products they put their name on. I would have no reservation giving it a try when I exchange the coolant in the 450 & 950.

It doesn't appear to be on the Moose website yet, but I checked the distributor website and it shows available April 5 (if you can wait). Any of the thousands of dealers doing business with Parts Unlimited can get it.

Price: .5 Gallon is $19.95 & Premixed 50/50 ready to pour in. Motorex G48 is about $18 a liter

From the spec sheet:
  • High performance water based coolant
  • Optimum heat transfer and cooling ability in the most extreme temps and operating conditions
  • Excellent wetting, lubricity, and fluid contact with the cooling system
  • Biodegradable formula, environmentally safe and "green"
  • Non-hazerdous, non toxic formula
  • Premixed and ready to use, no guesswork
  • Lowers water temperatures as much as 25deg F
  • Lowers Oil temperatures as much as 50deg F
  • MADE IN THE USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by thorinoakenshield View Post
So what coolant are you pimps using?
I need to top off my reservoir a bit. i've dropped my bike too many times...
The manual calls for Motorex G48 Coolant. It's "free of nitrates, amines and phosphates."
Now I may have Motorex stickers on my bike, but I sure don't want to buy this expensive-ass coolant ($15/L).
What's the NAPA, Pep-Boys, etc. equivalent?
Maybe Honda coolant?

EDIT: oh wait, this may be what I need: Prestone Extended Life Coolant : "Free of silicate, phosphate, borate and nitrate"
I remember using this on my sportbike many years ago....
__________________
KTM: 06 KTM950S & 10 KTM450EXC
ABuck99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 11:20 AM   #7957
shipwrek12001
Shipwrek
 
shipwrek12001's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa
Oddometer: 2,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by modeselector View Post
Wondering if anyone has some input. Took a perfectly running '12, properly mapped for my Uni and Wings and yesterday put on new EVO 2 tanks from RR. Took the time to do a mild spring clean with the airbox off and add dielectric grease to all the electrical connectors.

Tanks on, put things back in place and upon start up, get the flashing 8's FI code, somewhere I translated it to "Grip Position Sensor" - I assume is the same as TPS. It starts, rough idle. Put in gear or if I add throttle will kill the engine.

Now here are a couple things I messed with during the RR tank install:
- Had to ditch the black plastic piece near the steering head on right side but throttle cables pass through there soo without thinking, started to remove the throttle cables by loosening the threads on top, forward of the tb but stopped, realized how silly that was just to get the cables from the shroud and just cut the damn thing to fee the cables.
- the inside lip of the tb looked a bit dirty and I carefully cleaned around inside lip and butterfly face with a rag and tb cleaner.
- A partial canisterectomy was performed when I first purchased the bike but kept the valve on the right side stil plugged in - all vacum caps were installed. I took this off as required to put on the rr tanks and closed the loop with the 22k Ohm resistor. I reversed this back, putting valve back ON the bike and plugged the cable back in this valve but still get error code.

Nothing looks pinched but I ran out of time last night and will have a closer peek Sunday.

Maybe someone has input or thoughts.

I think and stand to be corrected..... because you messed with the cables you messed with the two throttle position sensors (thad, apad) I believe maybe your apad is now not setup with thad... giving apad improper voltages...
shipwrek12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 12:32 PM   #7958
modeselector
Common as muck
 
modeselector's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Washington USA
Oddometer: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwrek12001 View Post
I think and stand to be corrected..... because you messed with the cables you messed with the two throttle position sensors (thad, apad) I believe maybe your apad is now not setup with thad... giving apad improper voltages...
Thanks shipwreck.

You know, thought the same thing as I tried to return them to where they were...I will have another look but outside the obvious loose cable, how else could I verify they are where they need to be?
modeselector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 12:54 PM   #7959
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Invader View Post
What oil do you guys use?


Sorry...

Hey Gio: Try the Michelin t-63. Nice allround tire.
Hey Evil, send me an Email, I have some info for you.....

aarongibson(at)gmavt.net
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 01:02 PM   #7960
Lexey63
AlcoDventurer
 
Lexey63's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: The Russian Federation, Samara city
Oddometer: 46
exhaust bearing has free playing inside the rocker, is it broken, or it normal? odo 5500 ml

__________________
http://zovff.ya.ru
Lexey63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:07 PM   #7961
Dotbond
Africa, Africa
 
Dotbond's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Dunedin. New Zealand
Oddometer: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexey63 View Post
exhaust bearing has free playing inside the rocker, is it broken, or it normal? odo 5500 ml
Is the free play sideways or up and down?.
__________________
2012 KTM 690 R
2010 KTM 990 R (Sold)

2008 N.Z.Yamaha Safari: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=306905
2007 N.Z.Adventures Safari: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=201557
Dotbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:17 PM   #7962
Dotbond
Africa, Africa
 
Dotbond's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Dunedin. New Zealand
Oddometer: 771
Radiator Cap leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris 690R View Post
Mine does the same thing! Let me know when you find the issue. I figured it was just how it is. I have already had to fill the rad overflow tank as it ran dry after 500 km from new? Normal?

Chris
There is a known issue with the top of the radiator cap where the vent hose goes in, doesn't seat correctly. My rad cap was replaced under warranty. Go see your dealer.
__________________
2012 KTM 690 R
2010 KTM 990 R (Sold)

2008 N.Z.Yamaha Safari: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=306905
2007 N.Z.Adventures Safari: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=201557
Dotbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:29 PM   #7963
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorinoakenshield View Post
So what coolant are you pimps using?
I need to top off my reservoir a bit. i've dropped my bike too many times...
The manual calls for Motorex G48 Coolant. It's "free of nitrates, amines and phosphates."
Now I may have Motorex stickers on my bike, but I sure don't want to buy this expensive-ass coolant ($15/L).
What's the NAPA, Pep-Boys, etc. equivalent?
Maybe Honda coolant?

EDIT: oh wait, this may be what I need: Prestone Extended Life Coolant : "Free of silicate, phosphate, borate and nitrate"
I remember using this on my sportbike many years ago....


Distilled water and Water Wetter.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:36 PM   #7964
slidefighter
Gather it up, keep on...
 
slidefighter's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Oddometer: 368
Dirty_Sanchez: You say you passed on the Akro remap and it runs really well. What are you running, please?

P.S. Geaux Tigers (Class of '67...yes...'67!). It's even worse, I started in '59 (slow learner), Billy Cannon was a senior...

Thanks...

Lee...
__________________
Slidefighter

"Never adopt an ideology that masks a lack of courage"
slidefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 07:10 PM   #7965
shipwrek12001
Shipwrek
 
shipwrek12001's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa
Oddometer: 2,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by modeselector View Post
Thanks shipwreck.

You know, thought the same thing as I tried to return them to where they were...I will have another look but outside the obvious loose cable, how else could I verify they are where they need to be?

I would think it you removed the cables completly from the throttle body, the tb would set at 0 if you will. the bike should idle with out a code.
if the cables have any pressure on the tb cam(throttled up), it would give the wrong reading for starting. if the tb cam had negitive pressure (the wrong way) it would logically give the wrong reading..

cables have zero tension on the tb at idle

or of course your hairy knuckles could of knocked apad out of wack. you unpluged something and of course you might of kinked the line in the tank putting the adapter on..thats not hard to do...

is it possible you did all three ? just playin

there are others here that know way more...
shipwrek12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015