ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2013, 03:30 PM   #8041
thorinoakenshield
ya mo be there
 
thorinoakenshield's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: ☼
Oddometer: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdd04 View Post
Thank you both, I decided to double up and ordered both parts. Sorry Dad2bike, I would have joined your buy, but had already purchased before seeing your post.

I realize that something has to absorb the energy in a fall, but that brake lever twisted a full 90 degrees and etched the teeth into the clutch case cover.

And, all it took to make it look good as new was putting a small screw driver into the toe pad and twisting it back.... I suppose there is good and bad to that.

It has a very very tiny weep of oil when the bike is level. Any issues with using JB Quick, or Weld to repair this?
I should've mentioned that I've lowered my brake pedal enough so that the adv spec case saver might not stop it. There's a good chance that it will. It's the cleanspeed lever, so I'm not too concerned.

Likewise for the shifter, although it's kinda beefier than the stock brake pedal.

Check out the pics.
Please don't hate me. It's still nice to have them on.




thorinoakenshield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:02 PM   #8042
Brute
Melbourne , outer east .
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 1,046
Can anyone tell me if an 08 speedo will plug into an 09 /10 speedo plug ?
Brute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:39 PM   #8043
Maurizio
2 smoker
 
Maurizio's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Turin, Italy
Oddometer: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
an 08 speedo will plug into an 09 /10 speedo plug ?
No.
__________________
maurizio
'14 250 EXC E "Sparkling Orange"
'08 FLHCTUSE3 - '76 CB 750 F ss
sold: '03 950 adv s, '05 450 exc, '08 690 e
Maurizio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:39 AM   #8044
Brute
Melbourne , outer east .
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 1,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurizio View Post
No.
That's a bummer , my 08 speedo isn't working , back light only works , but I don't know if its the speedo or wiring .
Brute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:56 AM   #8045
Noyah
poser
 
Noyah's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Oddometer: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
That's a bummer , my 08 speedo isn't working , back light only works , but I don't know if its the speedo or wiring .
Maby if you buy the 08 wire?
__________________
KTM 690 Enduro R

--> My Movies <--
Noyah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:25 AM   #8046
Brute
Melbourne , outer east .
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 1,046
Sorted , after tracing every wire , it was a break in the white & red wire back from the triple clamp ..
Brute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:27 AM   #8047
Brute
Melbourne , outer east .
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 1,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noyah View Post
Maby if you buy the 08 wire?
Mines an 08 , I just wanted to know if I could plug it into a friends 09 to see if the prob was in the wiring or dash .
Brute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:32 AM   #8048
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
Sorted , after tracing every wire , it was a break in the white & red wire back from the triple clamp ..

Unfortunately the stock wiring harness on these bikes is good for a finite amount of time. KTM went with really small gage wiring and they decided to put a lot of tight bends in the loom. Combine this with vibration, shock, wet, dry, warm, cold, dust, and mud and the insulation in those tight bends will suffer and split. I have fixed a bunch of wires on my bike before they failed or caused issues but the end goal is to rewire the bike....following in Crankchafts newly blazed trail.

I plan to rewire the bike so I can utilize this speed which was used on the 950's and 640 adventures. It is very clear and easy to read and they hold up for a long time. I have no need for the tach and never liked the stock 08 cluster.

__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:50 AM   #8049
Brute
Melbourne , outer east .
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 1,046
I`d like to rewire mine . Behind the headlight it`s a birds nest . Like you said , as that loom that goes through the triple clamp gets continually flexed every time you turn the bars it`s broken wires waiting to happen .
Brute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:17 AM   #8050
sdd04
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: The Ozarks....SW MO, NW AR-great place to play!
Oddometer: 761
Haven't had mine that long, but I find myself re-routing wires almost every time I work on it to avoid what looks like future rub throughs.
sdd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:41 AM   #8051
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
I`d like to rewire mine . Behind the headlight it`s a birds nest . Like you said , as that loom that goes through the triple clamp gets continually flexed every time you turn the bars it`s broken wires waiting to happen .
The original idea we had was to run a single heavy power and ground cable up to the front of the bike and tie it into a power distribution panel. The lights, speedo cluster, etc would tie into this distribution block and the only wire that would experience any flex would be the power/ground wires which could be shielded much nicer and fused on both ends in case of a short.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:39 AM   #8052
ramjet
Beastly Adventurer
 
ramjet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Super F'd Up N. California
Oddometer: 2,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramjet View Post
I like the concept here:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...postcount=6004
Can someone tell me how it connects/drains to the rear main?
And where to get the fittings for the replacement air filter?
Any other thoughts?
Can someone answer this for me:

How does a Safari tank hook into the rear main? Would it be possible/best to hook in the in-frame tank similarly?

What is the connection of the Unifilter to the intake? Is there an off-shelf connector?
__________________
Fundamentally transforming a KTM..
ramjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:13 AM   #8053
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramjet View Post
Can someone answer this for me:

How does a Safari tank hook into the rear main? Would it be possible/best to hook in the in-frame tank similarly?

What is the connection of the Unifilter to the intake? Is there an off-shelf connector?

The Safari tank and the RR tanks tie into the main tank through an added piece that slips around the plastic fuel tank mount. This added piece is made from aluminum and has a barbed fitting coming off of it. there is a hose running from this fitting to the tank control valve. This setup would work for any additional tank you want to run in addition to the stock. The only advice is not to open the aux tank until you have ridden about 60 miles on the main tank or you risk overflowing the main tank.






if you look closely you can see the fuel setup under the tank and the line routing to the valve...this photo is for the RR tanks:

__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:28 AM   #8054
ramjet
Beastly Adventurer
 
ramjet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Super F'd Up N. California
Oddometer: 2,167
Thanks Seth! Would that overflow be a problem if as in Noyah's bike, the aux drained into the main via the main's overflow? (although I like the setup you show there better with the shutoff and filter(?).

Any thoughts on the filter? Maybe use a twinair on top of the aux?
__________________
Fundamentally transforming a KTM..
ramjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 12:10 PM   #8055
Noyah
poser
 
Noyah's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Oddometer: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramjet View Post
Thanks Seth! Would that overflow be a problem if as in Noyah's bike, the aux drained into the main via the main's overflow? (although I like the setup you show there better with the shutoff and filter(?).

Any thoughts on the filter? Maybe use a twinair on top of the aux?
Yes the Safari will flood you rear if you fill it up and dont close the tap, gravity sucks sometimes.

I had a problem one time when i filled the front tank and then overfilled the rear ( gas level above the connection from the front tank )

As long as you dont overfill the setup is golden and no moving parts or exposed hoses

Filter you asked about connects like this :

__________________
KTM 690 Enduro R

--> My Movies <--

Noyah screwed with this post 04-02-2013 at 12:15 PM
Noyah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015