ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2013, 09:41 AM   #8161
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by snohobo View Post

Then the FI light came on - 9 blinks which indicate - Input signal from pressure sensor of induction manifold too low/high ktm.

What the hell and where the hell is the pressure sensor of induction manifold?
A more conventional term for the manifold pressure sensor might be engine vacuum sensor. I think (from memory) it's on the left side of the throttle body assembly. I would first check the electrical connection for the sensor. You should be able to identify it from the wire colors (blue black purple) using the wiring diagram.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro

DirtJack screwed with this post 04-08-2013 at 10:25 AM Reason: Wire colors from shop manual
DirtJack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:08 AM   #8162
JustBob
Uh...who me?
 
JustBob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Young Harris, GA
Oddometer: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
I do suggest spraying some contact cleaner on there to get any grit out before you do the collars the first time.
All of this worked. I was able to easily back off the pre-load one turn. Will see how that does.
Thanks.
__________________
Bob Hancock
'14 R1200GSW
'10 690 EnduroR
'11 WR250R
JustBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:49 AM   #8163
sprouty115
Studly Adventurer
 
sprouty115's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprouty115 View Post
Thanks for the tip. I just got an email back from xtrig, they said they don't have anything available for the 690. Still waiting on Merge to see what they say. I'll PM drjoe and see what he did.
Excuse the bad form of quoting myself, but BTO sports just sent me this message:
"HELLO,
This is BTO sports we would like to inform you. The Hydraulic pre load will work if you have the ktm 500 mm pds shock. Thank you for visiting BTO sports have a nice day."

http://www.btosports.com/p/MERGEHPL

Still not sure they are correct so I'll be sending them a pic of the shock with the side-mount reservior to see if they still say it will work.
sprouty115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:32 PM   #8164
Yellow Pig
Allergic to Asphalt!
 
Yellow Pig's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks, Ca.
Oddometer: 6,873
The new KTM 690 Power Enduro R Commander V is out. Anyone try one?
__________________
So Many Idiots, So Few Comets!!!!!!!!!
Yellow Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:33 PM   #8165
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellow Pig View Post
The new KTM 690 Power Enduro R Commander V is out. Anyone try one?

Not much call for them since Tuneecu is free.
__________________
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:05 PM   #8166
BK.RD.RNR
Torque Stick
 
BK.RD.RNR's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Watching Kenny61 Ground Assault Videos
Oddometer: 5,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprouty115 View Post
Excuse the bad form of quoting myself, but BTO sports just sent me this message:
"HELLO,
This is BTO sports we would like to inform you. The Hydraulic pre load will work if you have the ktm 500 mm pds shock. Thank you for visiting BTO sports have a nice day."

http://www.btosports.com/p/MERGEHPL

Still not sure they are correct so I'll be sending them a pic of the shock with the side-mount reservior to see if they still say it will work.
It appears to lock in place by using the adjuster ring primarily.. It may just work for the 690.
BK.RD.RNR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:37 PM   #8167
Mudguts
when in doubt GAS IT
 
Mudguts's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Some were in , lostralia
Oddometer: 2,017
The 690 shock body is 52mm and threaded part is 54mm . Same as the 950 super Enduro
The current PDS shock is bigger again as my xtrig adjuster is 56mm
But I suppose it would be easier you for you guys to try
Cause I'm in Australia postage to and fro would be a pain in the arse
Mudguts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 05:27 PM   #8168
snohobo
Supermoto hippy
 
snohobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere in south america
Oddometer: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtJack View Post
A more conventional term for the manifold pressure sensor might be engine vacuum sensor. I think (from memory) it's on the left side of the throttle body assembly. I would first check the electrical connection for the sensor. You should be able to identify it from the wire colors (blue black purple) using the wiring diagram.

OK - another member on supermoto junkies said it might be the MAP (manifold air pressure) sensor located on the top of the throttle body. I cleaned it yesterday with throttle body cleaner and used di-electrc grease for the connector - no change.

It appears that the sensor on the left side of the TB is the TPS (throttle position sensor). I'll go investigate just to see.
__________________
Ride Reports:

Supermoto Around Death Valley - In Progress

Supermoto Around South America - Terminado
snohobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:00 PM   #8169
Assfault
Exposed Member
 
Assfault's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: RockyMountains
Oddometer: 1,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by snohobo View Post
OK - another member on supermoto junkies said it might be the MAP (manifold air pressure) sensor located on the top of the throttle body. I cleaned it yesterday with throttle body cleaner and used di-electrc grease for the connector - no change.

It appears that the sensor on the left side of the TB is the TPS (throttle position sensor). I'll go investigate just to see.

When I threw this code, 9 flashes, it was because I installed a highflow air filter and the MAP pressure dropped out of spec due to the higher flow, lower pressure. I had to go back to a more restrective filter as I dont have the capability to change maps in the ECU. I changed my air filter to get something that sealed the airbox better than the crap stock one which let dust and dirt in. Your only cure is to get it back into spec for the program installed in the ECU.
Did you change the filter or your airbox characturistics?
__________________
* Assfault, Ass-Fault, Ms Ass, thier neighbors or friends, are not responsible for any incidents, accidents, or accusations, that might result from you using this forum in the pursuit of adventure greatness. Avoid taking ADV before bed time. Do not use if you experince faintness, dizzniess, inversness, difficulty urinating or an erection lasting longer than 4 hours. Thank you*
Assfault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:09 PM   #8170
snohobo
Supermoto hippy
 
snohobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere in south america
Oddometer: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Assfault View Post
Did you change the filter or your airbox characturistics?
When I originally got this code back in Colombia (10,000 miles ago) - I was running the stock filter. I brought it to the dealer - and they cleared the code and changed my spark plug. He also sold me a higher flow foam filter - which I didn't install until at least 2,000 miles later.

I'm still running the new foam filter - but at one point in my trip one of the inserts ripped out of the top of the airbox. i've been expoying it back on ever since. I suspect it's letting in a little bit more air into the box because the lid doesnt sit as flush as it used to - but it's been like that for thousands of miles.

I could try putting on my buddies airbox to see if it changes anything. Or go back to the paper filter.
__________________
Ride Reports:

Supermoto Around Death Valley - In Progress

Supermoto Around South America - Terminado
snohobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 12:21 AM   #8171
Hoots
Beastly Adventurer
 
Hoots's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Gundaroo NSW OZ
Oddometer: 1,193
What sort of rim locks are people using?
Hoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 02:10 AM   #8172
TheMuffinMan
Forest Ranger Magnet
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Denver, USA
Oddometer: 5,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoots View Post
What sort of rim locks are people using?
None, I keep tires at 25/27psi and it takes me wherever I need to go.
__________________
"All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost."
'12 690 Enduro // 690 Wiki
TheMuffinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 02:59 AM   #8173
Evil Invader
Studly Adventurer
 
Evil Invader's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Hell-sing-land, Sweden
Oddometer: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoots View Post
What sort of rim locks are people using?
This:



Make sure it's for 2.50 rim.

__________________
690 "DIY" thread (incl. "Rallybike build"): http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=708813

M Motoadventures
Evil Invader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 03:17 AM   #8174
Mudguts
when in doubt GAS IT
 
Mudguts's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Some were in , lostralia
Oddometer: 2,017
I use motion lite loc's tyres are still on so they must work
Mudguts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:02 AM   #8175
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudguts View Post
I use motion lite loc's tyres are still on so they must work

I use the Motion Pro Lite Loc Rim Rim Lock....which I think are the same ones you are referring to. They work great and are significantly lighter than those black ones (which I have also used).

__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014