ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2013, 04:15 PM   #8521
HAFFMT
n00b
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by HAFFMT View Post
Checked kill switch. Battery terminal connections checked. Have tried changing gears and then back to neutral, clutch pulled in. Unfortunately no change.

Will have to check side stand switch. I do have the side stand removal switch, maybe I'll finally get around to installing it.
Starting issue ended up being a bad battery.

Bike would start once if I fully charged the original battery, but if I shut the bike off and then immediately tired to restart, it was a no go.
HAFFMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 02:28 AM   #8522
Brute
Melbourne , outer east .
 
Brute's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Oddometer: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingby View Post
Dumb things we do.

Keep in mind I am learning as I go here and am fairly new at bike maintenance.

I guess I wasn't reading the manual carefully enough and managed to incorrectly adjust the chain tension (don't ask... way too tight... I am an engineer who reads plans and dimensions all day and still managed to read the diagram wrong). Promptly went out for about 200 miles of riding over the next couple of days. Some dirt, some road.

Anyway, I just have this feeling that I didn't adjust the chain correctly, and of course do some reading online, re-read the manual and sure enough, I have the chain way too tight. I also read about the catastrophic potential of riding with a tight chain. So now I am a little worried.

I don't think I damaged anything, the transmission still is working fine, no leaks from countershaft seal (at least from what I can tell), sprockets and chain look no worse for the wear, no play in wheel bearings, so I think I am OK.

I have re-adjusted the chain using the method in the manual (push the chain up towards swing-arm from a point 30mm back from the chain slider with 5mm clearance to the swing arm itself). Now I am second guessing myself that it is too loose. My last bike was a Honda 450X a few years back and I recall the chain being tighter than this.

Do KTM chains operate a little looser than other bikes? What is everyone's thoughts on possible damage done to the bike due to my nice tight chain run, that just hasn't appeared yet?
Usually when you adjust the chain to tight it stretches the chain un evenly . I would jack the rear wheel up . Rotate the wheel & check the chain tension in several different locations . If it goes from loose to tight , loose to tight . You have damaged your chain . If not , don`t worry about the rest .
Brute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:31 AM   #8523
Seth S
Safari Scramble!!!!!
 
Seth S's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: sanity?
Oddometer: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brute View Post
Usually when you adjust the chain to tight it stretches the chain un evenly . I would jack the rear wheel up . Rotate the wheel & check the chain tension in several different locations . If it goes from loose to tight , loose to tight . You have damaged your chain . If not , don`t worry about the rest .
chain too tight = faster chain wear, faster sprocket wear, danger of damaging CS seal or countershaft.
__________________
Seth S

My intuition nearly makes up for my lack of good judgement. Just installed my new trolling motor
Seth S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:01 AM   #8524
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 744
Agree, I wouldn't worry about counter shaft anything...if it's not leaking no need to fix it. Just adjust chain properly and keep riding.
__________________
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:52 AM   #8525
sdd04
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: The Ozarks....SW MO, NW AR-great place to play!
Oddometer: 798
2 inch bar rise on 2013

Know it's been done on the 12's, but has anyone done it on a 13 yet?

I was looking at it today, and the clutch line looked dicey for distance.

Thanks
sdd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:33 AM   #8526
Xico
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 16
Stalling Issues on 2011 690 Enduro R

I'm having some problems with stalling with my bike.
Until now, I've checked
- All the fuel system from the pump to the injector
- Tried with another voltage regulator

But the problem continues.

Now I've conected the Tune ECU to see any problems.


Are these Throttle settings ok? I think I read somewhere of values of 0,5 or 0,7V... If they are not ok, how can I adjust them?
Xico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 12:37 PM   #8527
Biped
NooB Again
 
Biped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon, Wet Side
Oddometer: 327
Do you have the stepper motor plug disconected and butterfly closed or are those the reading with it connected.
When unpluged and the butterfly fully closed with finger it should read per the shop manual 0.50V to 0.54V for the top value and 0.70V to 0.74V for the bottom value. The 0.5V value is adjusted on the right hand TPS and the 0.7V value is adjusted on the left hand TPS. The two TPS's are related so adjusting one can affect the value of the other.
__________________
If it moves and it should not, duct tape it, if it does not move and it should WD40 it!
Biped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:29 PM   #8528
Xico
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Oddometer: 16
Thanks Biped!

The values on my TuneECU are with everything connected. Only with the computer connected.

The values you wrote are also for the 2011 models?
Xico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:35 PM   #8529
Biped
NooB Again
 
Biped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon, Wet Side
Oddometer: 327
The values are from '08 to '11, I believe '12 and on may be different. Make sure you read the shop manual before adjusting as you can bugger things up if done wrong.
__________________
If it moves and it should not, duct tape it, if it does not move and it should WD40 it!
Biped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:51 AM   #8530
jetcity
jetcity
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: portland, or
Oddometer: 12
2008 KTM 690E - complete shutdown

previouisly posted elsewhere... looking for enlightenment.

Accelerating through a left turn in town, bike completely shuts down.... no power at all.; did not accidentally hit kill switch; battery wiring did not look disconnected. would not respond at all to turning of the key
I waited for about 10 minutes --> fired up with a "FI - bat" error (I believe it said) with tachometer showing redline and clock reset. Made it home (1/2 mile) and parked it.
Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for the input.
jetcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:15 PM   #8531
blakrj
Need to ride
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Cloggland via Borneo, TX, UK, Oz and S.Africa
Oddometer: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xico View Post
Thanks Biped!

The values on my TuneECU are with everything connected. Only with the computer connected.

The values you wrote are also for the 2011 models?
2011 values are different to other years. I don't have them available, but will try find them.
__________________
2011 KTM 690 Enduro R, 2010 KTM 690 Enduro R (stolen)
2008 Yamaha YZ450, 2002 Yamaha YZ426
www.bruneibikers.com
www.airborneriders.com
blakrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:43 PM   #8532
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal, for a couple of weeks.
Oddometer: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetcity View Post
previouisly posted elsewhere... looking for enlightenment.

Accelerating through a left turn in town, bike completely shuts down.... no power at all.; did not accidentally hit kill switch; battery wiring did not look disconnected. would not respond at all to turning of the key
I waited for about 10 minutes --> fired up with a "FI - bat" error (I believe it said) with tachometer showing redline and clock reset. Made it home (1/2 mile) and parked it.
Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for the input.
Sounds like a bad earth. Have you checked the earth on the right hand (in)side of the frame just forward of the battery? Unfasten it, clean it up and retighten then go for another ride. Actually disconnect the wires going to the battery, clean up all the connections and refit. I would get some ACF50 and paint the stuff on as many connections around the bike as you can find. Chances are if one connection is feeling a bit old, the rest are too?
MeinMotorrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:01 PM   #8533
Mudguts
when in doubt GAS IT
 
Mudguts's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Some were in , lostralia
Oddometer: 2,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeinMotorrad View Post
Sounds like a bad earth. Have you checked the earth on the right hand (in)side of the frame just forward of the battery? Unfasten it, clean it up and retighten then go for another ride. Actually disconnect the wires going to the battery, clean up all the connections and refit. I would get some ACF50 and paint the stuff on as many connections around the bike as you can find. Chances are if one connection is feeling a bit old, the rest are too?

All earth points on the 690 have under coat on them there is about 6 earth points simply disconnect sand off under coat and reinstall earth ,
__________________
Birth of a Rally Bike - KTM525
Mudguts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:47 AM   #8534
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetcity View Post
previouisly posted elsewhere... looking for enlightenment.

Accelerating through a left turn in town, bike completely shuts down.... no power at all.; did not accidentally hit kill switch; battery wiring did not look disconnected. would not respond at all to turning of the key
I waited for about 10 minutes --> fired up with a "FI - bat" error (I believe it said) with tachometer showing redline and clock reset. Made it home (1/2 mile) and parked it.
Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for the input.
Another possibility is the fuel pump is starting to fail. See FI issues.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 06:22 AM   #8535
slidefighter
Gather it up, keep on...
 
slidefighter's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Oddometer: 336
Got the new fan switch and bash plate installed, but still waiting on a number of other parts to come in (kick stand cutout, etc) and so I've got time to do a couple of other "bomb proofing" things. I've read there are something like 6 frame grounds on the 690. Does anyone have pictures of where they all are located or a frame diagram that shows all of them? I'd be happy to photograph all of them freshly scuffed in location IF I knew where they all were...


Thanks,


Lee...
__________________
Slidefighter

"Never adopt an ideology that masks a lack of courage"
slidefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015