ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2013, 09:31 AM   #9271
motoged
Studly Adventurer
 
motoged's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Kamloops, BC
Oddometer: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
9 long 1 short is "Can bus communication Error"

My guess is that you have a broken wire or loose connection in your harness. Looks like its time to get familiar with your schematic.
I am a rider....and not a mechanically adept individual

I will soon be getting into my tank to install CA pump (preventative) and to externalize fuel filter....

When I read sh#t like this , I panic, have a mild stroke, and think I would rather learn how to be an astronaut and a brain surgeon....than figure out electronics and schematics....

So, I am paying attention
__________________
Ged Schwartz
Kamloops , BC


Baja '05 , Baja 06/07 , Baja 08/09 , BC Alpine Single Track




motoged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 09:36 AM   #9272
Velociraptor
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 1,021
"Looked around and found the ground connection of four wires on the right side of the tank near the top tank mounting bolts got broke off lifting the tank up."

That ground connection is very poorly done from the factory and is a problem waiting to happen if you pivot the tank up.

That is where my problem was but it was only one of the four wires and caused my instrument cluster to not work. Make sure those four wired are well grounded. I just redid the whole connection similar to what Uller did. Bike ran fine otherwise. I went through almost all of the wiring loom and everything else was in good shape after four years.

My guess is that it is the starter relay or the coil connection. The coil connection caused me some problems.
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD

Velociraptor screwed with this post 06-12-2013 at 10:08 AM
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 09:45 AM   #9273
goosecreek
a desk prop
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: dreaming of a ride
Oddometer: 2,233
Ged the fuel pump and filter are easy,however my low fuel light has not worked since I replaced the pump
goosecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 09:56 AM   #9274
motoged
Studly Adventurer
 
motoged's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Kamloops, BC
Oddometer: 865
Goose,
I have been in there two years ago to install the Safari tank and everything turned out ok....and Uller's site re: The Job is bookmarked and studied....
http://advrider.com/forums/showpost....7&postcount=96

Bobzilla and Uller are friends (both who live too far away for me to lean on their generousity by inviting them over.... ) who have extensive experience with this task....so they will be my first 911 call...
__________________
Ged Schwartz
Kamloops , BC


Baja '05 , Baja 06/07 , Baja 08/09 , BC Alpine Single Track




motoged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 11:00 AM   #9275
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by goosecreek View Post
Ged the fuel pump and filter are easy,however my low fuel light has not worked since I replaced the pump
That was another wire under the tank you were supposed to remove prior to lifting (or maybe you just didn't reconnect it....)

I know this from experience as I, too, have an nonworking low fuel light.

I wasn't thinking the last time I routed my wiring in that area and routed my low fuel sensor wire under the shock body where you can't see it.

Next time into the tank and "pop". Oh shit, what was that.......

I am resisting spending the $56 to get a new one. I do have a transparent safari tank so it isn't too much of a problem. Just have to remember to look down every now and again and then remember to actually stop for gas when it is noticed. (Don't try to drive all the way home after work on Friday night when you notice the gas is low during lunch on Friday......)
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 11:31 AM   #9276
motoged
Studly Adventurer
 
motoged's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Kamloops, BC
Oddometer: 865
I try to always fill the tank when the odometer tripmeter tells me I have gone 1/2 way to empty (easier to do when near civilization)....them thar new-fangled reserve lights are just something else waiting to blow up
__________________
Ged Schwartz
Kamloops , BC


Baja '05 , Baja 06/07 , Baja 08/09 , BC Alpine Single Track




motoged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 12:02 PM   #9277
Uller
Beastly Adventurer
 
Uller's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Arlington, WA
Oddometer: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoged View Post
I try to always fill the tank when the odometer tripmeter tells me I have gone 1/2 way to empty (easier to do when near civilization)....them thar new-fangled reserve lights are just something else waiting to blow up
That is the hard part. My "Empty" is a huge sliding scale. Sometimes it is 225 miles. Sometimes it is 300. I don't really know anymore....

Totally depends upon the R wrist and how much time it stays in the "rearward" postion.

I basically never pass a gas station, while riding in the mountains or other remote areas, when I know that my next stop is a ridge or two away and then I have a Huge reserve to rely on.

In this part of the USA it is really hard to be able to go over 200 miles without seeing a gas station. In other areas of the world that isn't the case and I would pay much closer attention to my fuel economy and where the gas stations are. When I had the stock tank only, I definitely paid much more close attention.
Uller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 12:17 PM   #9278
Biped
NooB Again
 
Biped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon, Wet Side
Oddometer: 259
Clutch Slave o-ring size

Anyone have the size on the clutch slave piston o-ring.
__________________
If it moves and it should not, duct tape it, if it does not move and it should WD40 it!
Biped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 01:30 PM   #9279
dad2bike
Cranky Old Fart
 
dad2bike's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 3,378
I think they all use -021 O-ring. Same slave as my 525EXC.
__________________
Tom
2006 950 Adventure "Big Orange", 2009 690R "Ginger",2003 525 EXC,
To Think is to Create!
My2Wheels
690 WIKI
dad2bike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 01:37 PM   #9280
goosecreek
a desk prop
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: dreaming of a ride
Oddometer: 2,233
Thanks Uller I will plug it in tonight.
Ged I went on the canyon adventure with you guys via the internet . You guys msut have had a blast.
goosecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 01:49 PM   #9281
Biped
NooB Again
 
Biped's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon, Wet Side
Oddometer: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad2bike View Post
I think they all use -021 O-ring. Same slave as my 525EXC.
Thanks. I will get some AS568A-021 as well as a metric equivalent 27 x 1.5, Buna N, 70A duro, and try them both. I suspect the metric one is the correct one.
__________________
If it moves and it should not, duct tape it, if it does not move and it should WD40 it!
Biped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 02:05 PM   #9282
AccelRus MaxiMus
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Oddometer: 102
690 Stator Image

Anyone have an image of the stock stator from
the 690 E (all the same P/N for 2008-2013)

Either in place or off the bike...

Looking to see if there is room for a higher
output wind on it... and hoping to avoid
having to pull mine apart to find out...

Thanks !
AccelRus MaxiMus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 03:24 PM   #9283
motoged
Studly Adventurer
 
motoged's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Kamloops, BC
Oddometer: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by goosecreek View Post
....Ged I went on the canyon adventure with you guys via the internet . You guys msut have had a blast.
Goose,
Yeah, Bobzilla invited me to join his posse for 9 days off-road around the Grand Canyon....I had a really good time meeting them all and enjoying the countryside. I have since invited Bob to come up to BC for a return favour later this summer.

I will let the cat out of the bag and say that Bob had threatened to sell his problematic 690 and build a Honda 500 Frankendualsport....he has dumped his 690 and is cross-breeding a DR650 with real suspension, etc.... .

The Grand Canyon story for the uninitiated (pics, story, and techno-info):
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=791319

Bob ( yellow t-shirt) In Zion w/ fuel pump, injector, regulator, whatever problem:








Me offering mechanical and technological wisdom to Bob:

__________________
Ged Schwartz
Kamloops , BC


Baja '05 , Baja 06/07 , Baja 08/09 , BC Alpine Single Track




motoged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 04:06 PM   #9284
Ontario GS
Budding Adv. Traveler
 
Ontario GS's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Peterborough, ON, CA
Oddometer: 386
2010 690 Enduro Questions

A couple of question from the mechanically inexperienced if I may.

1) What is the exhaust and intake valve clearance on the 2010 690 Enduro engine?

2) I would like to grease the swing arm bearings, is it a challenge to access\remove the swingarm?

Any guidance would be much appreciated.
__________________
John

Husqvarna TE250 (The Gator) -- 10 KTM 690 Enduro

Life ain't about how fast you ride, or how high you climb, but how well you bounce.
Ontario GS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 09:17 PM   #9285
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: EN ZED
Oddometer: 1,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ontario GS View Post
A couple of question from the mechanically inexperienced if I may.

1) What is the exhaust and intake valve clearance on the 2010 690 Enduro engine?

2) I would like to grease the swing arm bearings, is it a challenge to access\remove the swingarm?

Any guidance would be much appreciated.
1) .07 to .13 mm

2) It can be done. I wouldn't worry about it till you rebuild the suspension. I did my 2008 with about 30,000 miles about 2 months ago. Some of the bearings have loose needles so if you aren't careful, you might lose them. So unless you are going through lots of water or have reason to think you don't have grease in there, I wouldn't worry too muchb. Other than that its pretty straight forward.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014