ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2013, 06:56 PM   #12646
crankshaft OP
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 14,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uller View Post
Well, well. Welcome back Crankshaft. Hope time has been treating you good.

Seat Concepts is using their own seat pan now. While I haven't seen it personally, I have spoken with someone who has. Word is, it is very nicely constructed and seems to be much more durable than OEM.

Edit: Bike Nomad beat me to it. That is the person I was speaking of. They will probably chime in here shortly...He doesn't have it back from Renazco though so I didn't get to see it.
Hey! Yea, took a much needed break from ADVrider and did a bunch of racing this summer. I had surgery Wednesday for a broken collar bone, so I'm catching up on my research Thanks for the tip
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:22 PM   #12647
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,346
That would be me. I called Seat Concepts and after a slow "OOOKAAAAAYY"
they took my CC info and mailed it to Renazco where it is right now, awaiting my build date. Cost me $100 plus a little shipping.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bike Nomad View Post
Seat Concepts has developed their own seat pan.

http://www.seatconcepts.com/products...52&id=23236515

From the info on that page I'm guessing it would be about $100.00. They don't mention it being available separately--but a month or so ago I saw someone (I think on this thread?) mention they were having Seat Concepts ship a seat pan to Renazco for a seat build.
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:36 PM   #12648
Bike Nomad
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bike Nomad's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Central Newfoundland, Canada
Oddometer: 321
There you go bobzilla, only 1 ECU on the 2014 model. Whatcha waiting for? Go reserve one now.

You know you want too. You're handy, you know that your dual sporting time just doesn't have that same joie de vivre, now that you are reasonably certain that your forays into the desert won't involve a little wrenching time (I mean why even bring tools if you aren't going to use them? Remember the deep sense of personal accomplishment when you fixed something out in the dez?) or a tow rope? Being towed just helps to get to know your riding buddies better and builds up a distinct riding skill set you wouldn't have otherwise.

For those of you who have not been following the thread that long, bobzilla had an early model 690 (or maybe two--I can't remember for sure) and came up with a number of elegant mods to address certain issues, and shared them with us.

Seriously though, here's a challenge for you bobzilla. Go order up a 2014 Enduro R. Set to work addressing every known issue/weakness on the bike right out of the box, fuel pump, R/R, custom wiring harness, rad protection, clutch slave, flimsy brake pedal,etc., etc. add a skid plate, shark fin, HDB hand protectors, stick on case protectors, lockite and safety wire stuff where possible etc. Maybe do a build thread for "bobzilla's Bulletproof, Big Basin Blastin' Battle Bike". C'mon I haven't seen a really good 690 Enduro build thread since Bartron's.
__________________
DON'T GET IT TWISTED --ITS DUAL SPORT! NOT DUEL SPORT!
Bike Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 08:53 PM   #12649
mezcal
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mezcal's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: South NSW Australia
Oddometer: 450
I need a little help (or a lot depending on the subject matter)...
I drove through some heavy rain last night with the bike in the back of the ute, and today its running like shit.
It stalls on idle and when I release the clutch to take off, and pops and farts when I give it a fist full from low down in the rev range.
It is a little intermittent though, I got home and it idled away just fine and didn't cough and fart.
Im hoping it just dries out.. I have unplugged most of the wiring under the seat, anything else I should do?

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk
__________________
2011 Berg 570

mezcal screwed with this post 12-13-2013 at 08:58 PM
mezcal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 10:20 PM   #12650
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanTheMan07 View Post
Opened it up and this is what i found. Not an expert but don't think that black crusty stuff should be there. Crusty and charcoal like



Dammit Dantheman! I opened mine up and I have the same problem.

I picked the bike up yesterday here in Bangkok and I was barely charging. I thought it was my RR. So I put on the spare. Still its charging at about 12.1v. I checked the voltage coming out of the Stator and it was 8 or 9 Vac. My resistance line to line was good. But all three have a path to ground. I opened my stator cover to reveal the same thing that you had. I blame you

Now i'm off to KTM bangkok to try to convince them to let me rob one off their brand new 690s in the show room. I have a flight to catch on friday in Cambodia. So.. If I cant get one from KTM, I might be trying to do a re-wind.
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 10:36 PM   #12651
tyrsmkkyle
off the ground.
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: St louis mo, by the big place with airplanes
Oddometer: 250
I have little contribution at this point, only that i have a deposit down a 14 690r , apparently they're still in Austria and not en route yet according to the conversation with the dealer the other day.I am waiting quite impatiently.
tyrsmkkyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 11:19 PM   #12652
DanTheMan07
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: San Jose
Oddometer: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
Dammit Dantheman! I opened mine up and I have the same problem.

I picked the bike up yesterday here in Bangkok and I was barely charging. I thought it was my RR. So I put on the spare. Still its charging at about 12.1v. I checked the voltage coming out of the Stator and it was 8 or 9 Vac. My resistance line to line was good. But all three have a path to ground. I opened my stator cover to reveal the same thing that you had. I blame you

Now i'm off to KTM bangkok to try to convince them to let me rob one off their brand new 690s in the show room. I have a flight to catch on friday in Cambodia. So.. If I cant get one from KTM, I might be trying to do a re-wind.

Sorry?!

Well you were able to nail the issue quickly so thats a plus.

What you doing in Bangkok....ah i see the ride report something new to follow looks like i got some catching up to do.

Windfarmer huh? I just joined the solar farming industry.
DanTheMan07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 05:22 AM   #12653
sdd04
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: The Ozarks....SW MO, NW AR-great place to play!
Oddometer: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrsmkkyle View Post
I have little contribution at this point, only that i have a deposit down a 14 690r , apparently they're still in Austria and not en route yet according to the conversation with the dealer the other day.I am waiting quite impatiently.
Just curious as to when they said you would get it. The 2013's didn't hit this part of the country until this past March.
sdd04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 06:42 AM   #12654
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal, for a couple of weeks.
Oddometer: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post

Now i'm off to KTM bangkok to try to convince them to let me rob one off their brand new 690s in the show room. I have a flight to catch on friday in Cambodia. So.. If I cant get one from KTM, I might be trying to do a re-wind.
Good luck with KTM Bangkok. I emailed them a few times last year and never heard anything back, so I gave up.
__________________
'12 KTM 690 Enduro R
MeinMotorrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 06:46 AM   #12655
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal, for a couple of weeks.
Oddometer: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezcal View Post
I need a little help (or a lot depending on the subject matter)...
I drove through some heavy rain last night with the bike in the back of the ute, and today its running like shit.
It stalls on idle and when I release the clutch to take off, and pops and farts when I give it a fist full from low down in the rev range.
It is a little intermittent though, I got home and it idled away just fine and didn't cough and fart.
Im hoping it just dries out.. I have unplugged most of the wiring under the seat, anything else I should do?

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk
You may have water anywhere. I'd take the seat off and check the state of the air filter and take a look in the box for water too. Check the spark plug and lead as well.
__________________
'12 KTM 690 Enduro R
MeinMotorrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:36 AM   #12656
AccelRus MaxiMus
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Oddometer: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
Dammit Dantheman! I opened mine up and I have the same problem.
Maybe it is time to pester one of the stator suppliers
and get them on a stator with higher output, and better
build than the stocker...

I have spoken to a few of them trying to find a higher
output stator

RoninMoto - can you post some pics of your stator
when you get a chance ?

Anyone else in for a higher output stator ? (Recall
the better lowering link scenario...)

If we all focus on one supplier, may be enough demand
to spur some action !
AccelRus MaxiMus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:47 AM   #12657
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: In the mountains?
Oddometer: 1,680
quick fix for stator

So.. KTM Bangkok didn't have a stator.. and they would not sell me one of the 7 from the 690s in their showroom. They gave me an addres for a "dynamo repair shop". The taxy driver got lost on the way.. and I spotted a small shop that was rewinding electric motors. Blind-fooking luck. I showed them the stator and they said it was fooked ( in Thai) but I pointed at the wire.. and said "i want" and they gave me enough to rewind the problem pole of the stator.

Back at the hostel I stripped the burnt wire and located the leads to that pole. The 690 stator has 18 poles.. 6 for each phase. I rewound and soldered the new wire to the old. Feeling proud of my work, I checked the resistance. Unfortunately somehow I was still grounding on 2 phases. So I ripped it all off and spliced both leads together. I now only have 5 poles on one phase and 6 poles each on the other 2. I figure it will be about a 16% difference in voltage from the stator. All said and done, I think I can now make it into Cambodia.


Soldered leads.


That's what I'm talking about
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:52 AM   #12658
ktmmitch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: uk
Oddometer: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
So.. KTM Bangkok didn't have a stator.. and they would not sell me one of the 7 from the 690s in their showroom. They gave me an addres for a "dynamo repair shop". The taxy driver got lost on the way.. and I spotted a small shop that was rewinding electric motors. Blind-fooking luck. I showed them the stator and they said it was fooked ( in Thai) but I pointed at the wire.. and said "i want" and they gave me enough to rewind the problem pole of the stator.

Back at the hostel I stripped the burnt wire and located the leads to that pole. The 690 stator has 18 poles.. 6 for each phase. I rewound and soldered the new wire to the old. Feeling proud of my work, I checked the resistance. Unfortunately somehow I was still grounding on 2 phases. So I ripped it all off and spliced both leads together. I now only have 5 poles on one phase and 6 poles each on the other 2. I figure it will be about a 16% difference in voltage from the stator. All said and done, I think I can now make it into Cambodia.


Soldered leads.


That's what I'm talking about
Noah,
I have one I can send off Wes's(Beaney) spare Rally motor, would be nice to have another bit of his bike on your travels !!!!!!!!!
ktmmitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 10:02 AM   #12659
tyrsmkkyle
off the ground.
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: St louis mo, by the big place with airplanes
Oddometer: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdd04 View Post
Just curious as to when they said you would get it. The 2013's didn't hit this part of the country until this past March.
There has been no specific dates yet, just that they have not been alerted to shipment :(
tyrsmkkyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 10:29 AM   #12660
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 5,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bike Nomad View Post
Seat Concepts has developed their own seat pan.

http://www.seatconcepts.com/products...52&id=23236515

From the info on that page I'm guessing it would be about $100.00. They don't mention it being available separately--but a month or so ago I saw someone (I think on this thread?) mention they were having Seat Concepts ship a seat pan to Renazco for a seat build.
That's essentially what I did too (and told Uller about), but started from a full SC seat, a bit of a spendy way to do it. The "log" shape foam just didn't suit me. Renazco is just finishing up mine right now. The SC seat pan is really nice, thicker plastic that seems like black PE and a little flexible, should last a long time.

Welcome back Crank!
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015