ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2013, 10:36 PM   #12676
tyrsmkkyle
off the ground.
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: St louis mo, by the big place with airplanes
Oddometer: 241
I have little contribution at this point, only that i have a deposit down a 14 690r , apparently they're still in Austria and not en route yet according to the conversation with the dealer the other day.I am waiting quite impatiently.
tyrsmkkyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 11:19 PM   #12677
DanTheMan07
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: San Jose
Oddometer: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
Dammit Dantheman! I opened mine up and I have the same problem.

I picked the bike up yesterday here in Bangkok and I was barely charging. I thought it was my RR. So I put on the spare. Still its charging at about 12.1v. I checked the voltage coming out of the Stator and it was 8 or 9 Vac. My resistance line to line was good. But all three have a path to ground. I opened my stator cover to reveal the same thing that you had. I blame you

Now i'm off to KTM bangkok to try to convince them to let me rob one off their brand new 690s in the show room. I have a flight to catch on friday in Cambodia. So.. If I cant get one from KTM, I might be trying to do a re-wind.

Sorry?!

Well you were able to nail the issue quickly so thats a plus.

What you doing in Bangkok....ah i see the ride report something new to follow looks like i got some catching up to do.

Windfarmer huh? I just joined the solar farming industry.
DanTheMan07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 05:22 AM   #12678
sdd04
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: The Ozarks....SW MO, NW AR-great place to play!
Oddometer: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrsmkkyle View Post
I have little contribution at this point, only that i have a deposit down a 14 690r , apparently they're still in Austria and not en route yet according to the conversation with the dealer the other day.I am waiting quite impatiently.
Just curious as to when they said you would get it. The 2013's didn't hit this part of the country until this past March.
sdd04 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 06:42 AM   #12679
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Between Velez Rubio and Huercal Overa, Spain.
Oddometer: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post

Now i'm off to KTM bangkok to try to convince them to let me rob one off their brand new 690s in the show room. I have a flight to catch on friday in Cambodia. So.. If I cant get one from KTM, I might be trying to do a re-wind.
Good luck with KTM Bangkok. I emailed them a few times last year and never heard anything back, so I gave up.
__________________
'12 KTM 690 Enduro R
MeinMotorrad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 06:46 AM   #12680
MeinMotorrad
Beastly Adventurer
 
MeinMotorrad's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Between Velez Rubio and Huercal Overa, Spain.
Oddometer: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by mezcal View Post
I need a little help (or a lot depending on the subject matter)...
I drove through some heavy rain last night with the bike in the back of the ute, and today its running like shit.
It stalls on idle and when I release the clutch to take off, and pops and farts when I give it a fist full from low down in the rev range.
It is a little intermittent though, I got home and it idled away just fine and didn't cough and fart.
Im hoping it just dries out.. I have unplugged most of the wiring under the seat, anything else I should do?

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk
You may have water anywhere. I'd take the seat off and check the state of the air filter and take a look in the box for water too. Check the spark plug and lead as well.
__________________
'12 KTM 690 Enduro R
MeinMotorrad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:36 AM   #12681
AccelRus MaxiMus
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Oddometer: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
Dammit Dantheman! I opened mine up and I have the same problem.
Maybe it is time to pester one of the stator suppliers
and get them on a stator with higher output, and better
build than the stocker...

I have spoken to a few of them trying to find a higher
output stator

RoninMoto - can you post some pics of your stator
when you get a chance ?

Anyone else in for a higher output stator ? (Recall
the better lowering link scenario...)

If we all focus on one supplier, may be enough demand
to spur some action !
AccelRus MaxiMus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:47 AM   #12682
RoninMoto
Wanderer
 
RoninMoto's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: EN ZED
Oddometer: 1,628
quick fix for stator

So.. KTM Bangkok didn't have a stator.. and they would not sell me one of the 7 from the 690s in their showroom. They gave me an addres for a "dynamo repair shop". The taxy driver got lost on the way.. and I spotted a small shop that was rewinding electric motors. Blind-fooking luck. I showed them the stator and they said it was fooked ( in Thai) but I pointed at the wire.. and said "i want" and they gave me enough to rewind the problem pole of the stator.

Back at the hostel I stripped the burnt wire and located the leads to that pole. The 690 stator has 18 poles.. 6 for each phase. I rewound and soldered the new wire to the old. Feeling proud of my work, I checked the resistance. Unfortunately somehow I was still grounding on 2 phases. So I ripped it all off and spliced both leads together. I now only have 5 poles on one phase and 6 poles each on the other 2. I figure it will be about a 16% difference in voltage from the stator. All said and done, I think I can now make it into Cambodia.


Soldered leads.


That's what I'm talking about
__________________
Noah 08 KTM 690 ADV. 125,000 km. 42 countries. 5 continents and counting.
RTW Ride Report --> http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=781893
Blog ------------------> http://rtwwithnoah.blogspot.com/
Facebook------------> https://www.facebook.com/RtwWithNoah
RoninMoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 09:52 AM   #12683
ktmmitch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: uk
Oddometer: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninMoto View Post
So.. KTM Bangkok didn't have a stator.. and they would not sell me one of the 7 from the 690s in their showroom. They gave me an addres for a "dynamo repair shop". The taxy driver got lost on the way.. and I spotted a small shop that was rewinding electric motors. Blind-fooking luck. I showed them the stator and they said it was fooked ( in Thai) but I pointed at the wire.. and said "i want" and they gave me enough to rewind the problem pole of the stator.

Back at the hostel I stripped the burnt wire and located the leads to that pole. The 690 stator has 18 poles.. 6 for each phase. I rewound and soldered the new wire to the old. Feeling proud of my work, I checked the resistance. Unfortunately somehow I was still grounding on 2 phases. So I ripped it all off and spliced both leads together. I now only have 5 poles on one phase and 6 poles each on the other 2. I figure it will be about a 16% difference in voltage from the stator. All said and done, I think I can now make it into Cambodia.


Soldered leads.


That's what I'm talking about
Noah,
I have one I can send off Wes's(Beaney) spare Rally motor, would be nice to have another bit of his bike on your travels !!!!!!!!!
ktmmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 10:02 AM   #12684
tyrsmkkyle
off the ground.
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: St louis mo, by the big place with airplanes
Oddometer: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdd04 View Post
Just curious as to when they said you would get it. The 2013's didn't hit this part of the country until this past March.
There has been no specific dates yet, just that they have not been alerted to shipment :(
tyrsmkkyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 10:29 AM   #12685
cyborg
Potius Sero Quam Numquam
 
cyborg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Pacific NorthWet
Oddometer: 4,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bike Nomad View Post
Seat Concepts has developed their own seat pan.

http://www.seatconcepts.com/products...52&id=23236515

From the info on that page I'm guessing it would be about $100.00. They don't mention it being available separately--but a month or so ago I saw someone (I think on this thread?) mention they were having Seat Concepts ship a seat pan to Renazco for a seat build.
That's essentially what I did too (and told Uller about), but started from a full SC seat, a bit of a spendy way to do it. The "log" shape foam just didn't suit me. Renazco is just finishing up mine right now. The SC seat pan is really nice, thicker plastic that seems like black PE and a little flexible, should last a long time.

Welcome back Crank!
cyborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 11:28 AM   #12686
Velociraptor
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmmitch View Post
Noah,
I have one I can send off Wes's(Beaney) spare Rally motor, would be nice to have another bit of his bike on your travels !!!!!!!!!
Awesome fix by Noah and awesome vibe and offer from Mitch. Good all around!
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 01:04 PM   #12687
DeepSeaOne
Carnivore
 
DeepSeaOne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Earth
Oddometer: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bike Nomad View Post
There you go bobzilla, only 1 ECU on the 2014 model.
I just yanked the ECU out of mine and put in a Vortex. There is only 1 ECU on the 2013's. I think the other box that some are calling an ECU is actually a throttle controller ...it also gets pulled for a Vortex installation.
__________________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R, FMF Apex, Vortex ECU
2014 Night Rod Special, Vance & Hines/Screaming Eagle package
DeepSeaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 01:27 PM   #12688
Arzach
never too old...
 
Arzach's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Not the Caribbean anymore . Think rain .
Oddometer: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrsmkkyle View Post
There has been no specific dates yet, just that they have not been alerted to shipment :(
I put a deposit as well and have no date for delivery .I could not get answer on simple things like what brand Handlebar on the US models .
KTM is not feeding a lot of info to their dealers , it seems .
in the mean time my 950 in the their floor looking for a buyer .
As long as it comes before the race in Odessa (Wa) I am ok
__________________
People sail for fun and no one has yet convinced me
that it's more fun to go Slow than it is to go Fast .Dick Newick
Arzach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 03:59 PM   #12689
mezcal
Gnarly Adventurer
 
mezcal's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Location: South NSW Australia
Oddometer: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeinMotorrad View Post
You may have water anywhere. I'd take the seat off and check the state of the air filter and take a look in the box for water too. Check the spark plug and lead as well.
Cheers MM they all looked ok but I cleaned the air filter anyway. Seemed ok inside the air box. Started and idled fine and going for a ride today so hopefully its sorted itself out
__________________
2011 Berg 570
mezcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 05:36 PM   #12690
sieg
Beastly Adventurer
 
sieg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Southern Illinois USA
Oddometer: 2,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arzach View Post
I put a deposit as well and have no date for delivery .I could not get answer on simple things like what brand Handlebar on the US models .
KTM is not feeding a lot of info to their dealers , it seems .
in the mean time my 950 in the their floor looking for a buyer .
As long as it comes before the race in Odessa (Wa) I am ok
Dealer called me today.......mid-January shipment.
__________________
I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but let's take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself.
Current bikes F800GS-EXCF350-Versys-690R-RZ350
sieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014