User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-08-2011, 10:56 PM   #1
troutshack OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 72
Scorched Earth, Escaping Texas Heading South

I'm new to adventure riding but I've always enjoyed traveling. Two years ago after a trip through Southern Mexico, Belize and Guatemala my friend Jimmy asked me if a trip like that could be done on motorcycle. Of course I answered "I don't see why not". Jimmy loved to ride and spend all of his free time riding and seeing the United States, we were both excited about a trip South on motorcycles. The last e-mail I got from Jimmy said he had applied for his pasport. Before I even replied to that email and way too soon Jimmy was called home.
In the weeks and months that followed I discovered this site, other sites and all the great people who contribute so much to help others make their dream trips come true. I've lurked for months reading and trying to soak up as much as i can. I hope that those of you that share you knowledge realize how much it is appreciated by people that have read your thread and took something valuble away from it.
Now its my turn and I hope some tid bits form this thread help someone else on their journey.
Hi from Texarkana.

The bike is a lightly farkled 2009 KLR, doo hickey done with drilled through subframe upgrade.
troutshack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 07:15 AM   #2
troutshack OP
Adventurer

It wasn't long before I was in range of the first wild fire. The first one was near Linden TX.

I saw a few small flames and rode through a fog of smoke for about 40 minutes but was never rerouted.