ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Vendors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2014, 04:01 AM   #1
JamesMio OP
Adventurer
 
JamesMio's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 10
MotoGoLoco - Motorcycle Maps System

Hey folks,

Any of these sound familiar?

"Google Maps to Basecamp Tracks/Routes for Dummies?"

"Is it possible for me to make my routes in google maps and the transfer them to my older garmin 450. base camps is not as user friendly for me..."

They should do, because I see these same questions and gripes on pretty much every single biking forum or group I visit.

The question of 'How to create a route in Google Maps, then send it onto my Garmin/TomTom' is a common one among bikers and, bar a couple of really faffy workarounds, there isn't a real, straightforward answer.

So, we decided to spend the last couple of years working alongside one of Google's own maps developers to create a motorcycle mapping system that:

- Utilises the same Google Maps' interface which many are already familiar with
- Provides a quick & simple Export to GPS function to send your routes to your Garmin/TomTom
- Displays iconic, classic and user created biking routes as layers, and allows you to add any of these to your own new route (a bit like laying tracing paper over a paper map)
- Shows a growing list of real, recommended biker-friendly hotels and guest houses as another layer (currently UK & Eire only, but not for long)

Here's the link:

MotoGoLoco Maps



You'll need to create a user account to be able to save routes and then export them onto your GPS, but it's free, takes 30 seconds and I promise not to spam the hell out of your inbox afterwards!!

Bar a couple of little glitches here and there, we're pretty much good to go with it.

Would love to get your feedback, so I'll look forward to hearing from you.

Cheers,
James @ MotoGoLoco

JamesMio screwed with this post 06-19-2014 at 03:53 AM
JamesMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 04:05 AM   #2
Fishwiz4
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: North Dakota
Oddometer: 62
Sounds great. I tried to look at it, but I'm browsing on my phone and it says map was designed for larger screens. I guess I'll have to check it out another time.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk
Fishwiz4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 05:40 AM   #3
JamesMio OP
Adventurer
 
JamesMio's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishwiz4 View Post
Sounds great. I tried to look at it, but I'm browsing on my phone and it says map was designed for larger screens. I guess I'll have to check it out another time.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk
Ah yes - about that. We tried it with iPhones & a couple of Android phones and there's just too much going on to make it a pleasant/usable experience on such a small screen.

It can also be a fairly meaty beast in terms of system resources - nothing a laptop/desktop would sniff at but on occasion phones were struggling a little.

So - the plan is to get the desktop/tablet version nailed, then translate it into a proper mobile app. Watch this space!

:)
JamesMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 06:55 AM   #4
cotton
Adventurer
 
cotton's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: The Vol State
Oddometer: 49
Giving it a try

I have signed up and will give it a try!!

First look is how simple it is.

Will try sending to my Monterra later........
cotton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 08:25 AM   #5
Shunka
Supervision Required
 
Shunka's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: San Clemente, CA
Oddometer: 3,495
Just spent a few minutes with it and found to to be mostly what I have been looking for!

I did find in my first route though it is trying to force me through a town I want to avoid via a FS route that I plan to do an out and back on. If there is anyway to force it to remove the suggested route I haven't found it yet. 10X better than anything else I've run across so far though Great work!
Shunka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 02:21 PM   #6
huguesfrederic
HF
 
huguesfrederic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa, Gatineau
Oddometer: 120
Trying it right now for my ride tomorrow...
__________________
"What do you want a meaning for? Life is a desire, not a meaning." - Charlie Chaplin
huguesfrederic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 07:33 AM   #7
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,146
James:

Your website looks awesome - nice work!

Have you seen any issues with the various GPS units "recalculating" the routes and as a result you end up on different roads than what is shown in the planner? Is adding extra via points to "anchor" the route recommended?

In the past sometimes when I've tried to add extra anchors they wind up getting slightly misplaced and have ended up taking me down side streets and etc. unless I zoom in pretty closely to make sure the via is actually exactly where I wanted it instead of (say) on the southbound side of an interstate on which I am heading north!

JRWooden screwed with this post 06-14-2014 at 07:39 AM
JRWooden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 08:45 AM   #8
fastredbike
recovering
 
fastredbike's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Oddometer: 529
Really nice, I like it!
fastredbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 05:45 AM   #9
JamesMio OP
Adventurer
 
JamesMio's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shunka View Post
Just spent a few minutes with it and found to to be mostly what I have been looking for!

I did find in my first route though it is trying to force me through a town I want to avoid via a FS route that I plan to do an out and back on. If there is anyway to force it to remove the suggested route I haven't found it yet. 10X better than anything else I've run across so far though Great work!
Hey fella - just about to drop you a PM for some more details on this as I'm not 100% sure what the issue is. 2 ticks, something will be hitting your inbox shortly!
JamesMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 08:00 AM   #10
Shunka
Supervision Required
 
Shunka's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: San Clemente, CA
Oddometer: 3,495
thanks replied.
Shunka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 10:00 AM   #11
Nowwhat
I'll Go Second...
 
Nowwhat's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: On the Ground Laughing
Oddometer: 4,547
wow...I just recreated my route from this weekend in under a minute....great job
__________________
'14 1190R...Adventure Beast
'13 690 Quest...Rally Beast
950SE......Desert Beast
'Berg 570..Trail Beast
Nowwhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 01:31 AM   #12
JamesMio OP
Adventurer
 
JamesMio's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 10
Brilliant feedback guys, thank you all so much - it really does mean a lot to us.

I'll zip through the couple of questions above as soon as I can.

Cheers
James @ MotoGoLoco
JamesMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 07:25 AM   #13
DJacobsen5116
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: PNW - Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 120
Downloaded the app late last week and have created a number of routes with it very quickly that I had spent literally hours trying to create with BaseCamp. BaseCamp has a lot more bells and whistles but I don't need them and MotoGoLoco does what I want in a fraction of the time. Much easier to use and I am looking forward to using it frequently this summer/fall.
DJacobsen5116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 12:40 PM   #14
ADVill
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: West Tn, USA
Oddometer: 593
I like the intermediate stop. Many times you can't jog a map system to go the route you wanted with just a beginning and endpoint. And being able to pull it to where you want is much better if you don't know the name of a town in the direction you want to go.
__________________
'08 990 Adventure Orange of course
'00 520 EXC
'14 500 XCW
ADVill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 03:28 AM   #15
JamesMio OP
Adventurer
 
JamesMio's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWooden View Post
James:

Your website looks awesome - nice work!

Have you seen any issues with the various GPS units "recalculating" the routes and as a result you end up on different roads than what is shown in the planner? Is adding extra via points to "anchor" the route recommended?

In the past sometimes when I've tried to add extra anchors they wind up getting slightly misplaced and have ended up taking me down side streets and etc. unless I zoom in pretty closely to make sure the via is actually exactly where I wanted it instead of (say) on the southbound side of an interstate on which I am heading north!
Hey JR,

Thanks - much appreciated.

GPS units "recalculating" - It's still a problem because your device has settings, that you can change, that might differ from what you created on the system...

The device will always win so always double check the route on the device before starting your journey.

Best example is if you've created a route that includes motorway/highway, and your GPS is set to never use motorways/highways, then the GPS will override any imported route.

TIP - It does help to add in more anchor points as these are the only bits of data that are taken across to the device, the device then finds the best road to get between anchor points based on your devices settings.

Yes - misplaced anchor points are a problem but it's the nature of the beast, if you tried to drop an anchor point from a zoomed out level in London you could end up anywhere...

Rule of thumb, in built up areas zoom right in and and make sure you definitely hit the right road... In lower density areas you can afford to be off by 20/30/50 meters and it'll be fine.
__________________
MotoGoLoco Maps - Create your route in Google Maps and send it to your Garmin/TomTom the EASY way.
JamesMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014