Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-19-2011, 01:23 PM   #1
CosentinoEngineering OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 183
Some advice required?

Well, here it goes.....

The purpose of this thread is to give design/engineering advice to those in need of it for bike modification projects. As you can see on my 'Lots of Assembly Required' thread I'm a degreed engineer with a decent amount of experience with motorcycle design and a lot of experience being a garage hack!

I'm opening this thread to provide advice to those who are adventurous enough to start hacking on their own bike but need some technical assistance from time to time. It is not a general all questions answered thread but more for construction techniques, material recommendations, design philosophy. Questions like 'what is the best tire to use?', 'how do I install heated grips?, 'What is the correct tire inflation pressure?' are not suitable for this thread and I likely wouldn't be able to provide a better answer than the vendor you buy the parts from. Questions like 'What material should I use for a custom subframe?', 'Why is a long swingarm good?', and such are and hopefully I will be able to help your project move along a bit faster.

Now for the disclaimer: This is the internet and regardless of the advice I give you modifying your vehicle is a potentially dangerous hobby that can lead to serious injury or death. Any modifications you undertake are done at your own risk.

Tweaking season is now open.

Chris
http://moto2-usa.blogspot.com/
Lots of Assembly Required
CosentinoEngineering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 03:31 PM   #2
sakurama
on an endless build

Oddometer: 1,417
This is just a quick endorsement of Chris - he's the man!