User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-20-2011, 09:56 PM   #1
redwards OP
n00b

Oddometer: 3
Concours into ADV bike?

I am new to riding and bought a 1986 Kawasaki Concours. I have noticed it is HORRIBLE/SCARY on gravel. What can I do to make this bike less scary and more comfortable gravel roads. Thanks for your time! Rick e
redwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:08 PM   #2
Uglydog56
Adventurer

Oddometer: 41
sidecar?
Uglydog56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:24 PM   #3
Grainbelt
marginal adventurer

Oddometer: 26,910
tire selection, tire pressure, and on a bike that old, make sure the suspension actually works and rebuild it if needed.
Grainbelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:20 PM   #4
IRideASlowBike
Banned

Oddometer: 1,786
Trade it for a KLR. Nothing you do to that bike will make it good on gravel. The weight, 4-cylinder engine, lack of even mildly dirt-oriented tires in those sizes, and also the amount of shit that will break if you drop it makes it one of the worst "ADV" bikes possible.

If you still want to take it off-road on anything more serious than light gravel roads, get some crash bars from Murphs.

Source? I ride a 1990 Concours.
IRideASlowBike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:07 AM   #5
redwards OP
n00b

Oddometer: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRideASlowBike View Post
Trade it for a KLR. Nothing you do to that bike will make it good on gravel. The weight, 4-cylinder engine, lack of even mildly dirt-oriented tires in those sizes, and also the amount of shit that will break if you drop it makes it one of the worst "ADV" bikes possible.

If you still want to take it off-road on anything more serious than light gravel roads, get some crash bars from Murphs.

Source? I ride a 1990 Concours.