ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Some Assembly Required
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2015, 06:02 AM   #1
gmk999 OP
____ as a Rotax
 
gmk999's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: New England
Oddometer: 1,021
Is there a “dash board” thread already?

Now that my bike is getting up in years 16 I was thinking of upgrading the dash from ground zero, removong the guages, filling the holes or replacing the deck, (i want to keep the fairing as is) and redesigning an updated version with sat nav and phone built in . I would like to utilise my harnes as is and i’m not opposed to keeping the idiot light cluster intact. Oh and the analogue clock has to stay as is
I’m looking for ideas ..
Materials
Hardware
Placement
basic design ideas , I’m not sure how to organise everything,
Do’s and don’ts..

Bike is a 99 f650
__________________
Peace
gmk999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 04:36 PM   #2
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 13,250
Moved to Some assembly required forum.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 11:36 PM   #3
sidetrack one
Chief Tiddler
 
sidetrack one's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: hole shaven area
Oddometer: 5,732
Start here for ideas!
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=122927
__________________
I live more in 5 minutes on my motorcycle than some people live in a lifetime...............
Where are my pants?
www.buyabale.com.au.. Our farmers thank you!
sidetrack one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 03:08 PM   #4
Renegade_Azzy
Kamen Rider
 
Renegade_Azzy's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: SW PA
Oddometer: 844
Im all ears. Got some ideas here and there, but custom is the name of the game.

If you are looking for full on custom, lemme know. I can do them for just about anything.
http://www.azzysdesignworks.com/gauges/
__________________
___
AzzysDesignWorks.com Need laser cut acrylic for a project? Engraved metal? No problem. Shoot me a PM

Current bikes; '99 R1100GS ABS, '80 CM400A Hondamatic
Renegade_Azzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 03:34 PM   #5
MrPulldown
Beastly Adventurer
 
MrPulldown's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Truckee
Oddometer: 3,356
The trail tech Vapor has a dash. Might look into those. If you want to keep your harness you will have to cut the plugs off your current dash. that or find a busted up stock dash to pirate the plugs from.
MrPulldown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:14 AM   #6
Andyvh1959
Cheesehead Klompen
 
Andyvh1959's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Da frozen tundra eh? 1.5 mile west of Lambeau
Oddometer: 733
I have installed three TrailTech Vapor products on two dirt bikes and even on my ice bike so I can ride it during the summer with dual sport tires on it. The one on my ice bike included a temperature sensor ring that I installed under one of the head stud nuts. Gives me some reference on engine conditions.
__________________
When life throws you a curve,.....lean into it!
42+ year rider, 22+ year MSF Coach, Street, Dirt, Ice, ride em all!
Andyvh1959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:37 AM   #7
gmk999 OP
____ as a Rotax
 
gmk999's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: New England
Oddometer: 1,021
Thanks .. The bike is under a few feet of snow right now so the dash is on hold.. But keep the ideas comming..Ill post picts in a week or two
__________________
Peace
gmk999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015