ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2005, 01:26 AM   #1
TerryM OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Oddometer: 39
Garmin software on Apple Mac?????

Does anyone know if and how the software maybe run on Mac please?
TerryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 02:56 AM   #2
Slimie
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: East Debon
Oddometer: 1,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryM
Does anyone know if and how the software maybe run on Mac please?
Virtual PC, AFAIK.
Slimie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 03:54 AM   #3
Gizmo
Hermes
 
Gizmo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 1,668
Don't even go there, I just tried this using Virtual PC and it works up until you try to connect the GPS and transfer maps. It will not recognize the GPS. When I called Garmin they said their units are not designed to work with Mac's even with Virtual PC on board. I did some investigating and it seems the problem is that Mac's use USB for the mouse and keyboard and this creates a conflict. I ended up using an old PC laptop I had to make use of the software and my GPS, just hope it keeps working. This is a sad story with Garmin and really has my feathers ruffled. Sorry I cannot be more optimistic.
__________________
Regards & Ride Safe!

Bruce
4-Wheels moves the body, 2-wheels moves the soul
09' BMW K1200 LT
IBA # 8547
Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 06:05 AM   #4
RocketJohn
Hook em' Horns!
 
RocketJohn's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2002
Location: Denver Metro
Oddometer: 11,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo
Don't even go there, I just tried this using Virtual PC and it works up until you try to connect the GPS and transfer maps. It will not recognize the GPS. When I called Garmin they said their units are not designed to work with Mac's even with Virtual PC on board. I did some investigating and it seems the problem is that Mac's use USB for the mouse and keyboard and this creates a conflict. I ended up using an old PC laptop I had to make use of the software and my GPS, just hope it keeps working. This is a sad story with Garmin and really has my feathers ruffled. Sorry I cannot be more optimistic.
I thought people that used Apples drove VWs and rode bicycles...

RocketJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 07:32 AM   #5
Tim
Beastly Adventurer
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands, UK
Oddometer: 2,356
Although I have seen reports from someone on AdvRider that he was able to use Virtual PC with his Garmin, I tried and failed Had to go out and get a used PC just for Garmin work.
__________________
A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying........."Damn..We F*cked Up" - Anon.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 08:38 AM   #6
TerryM OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Oddometer: 39
Thank you all, that will save me some heartache failing to make it work.


Perhaps I will install the PC in my VW camper and the GPSMap 276C on my bicycle then dream about getting a motorcycle when my hormone levels improve!
TerryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 09:24 AM   #7
Danamr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Danamr's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 282
All that has been said is true, trying to run mapping software on VPC is painfully slow, and if the GPS is a serial connection forget it. OTOH if the GPS is one of the newer units that are true USB you can make that work.
Danamr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 09:27 AM   #8
fire_strom
Beastly Adventurer
 
fire_strom's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Durango, CO
Oddometer: 1,256
i married a PC user so i do my mapping on on her laptop.

scott
fire_strom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 01:34 PM   #9
sakurama
on an endless build
 
sakurama's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: NYC & PDX
Oddometer: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by fire_strom
i married a PC user so i do my mapping on on her laptop.
Boy that was an expensive solution but I admire your dedication. I'm buying a laptop on ebay now just for this reason. No Mac support, 256 proprietary cards that I'll have to get 3-4 of, then the Touratech mount then, finally, I'll have access to 4-5 year old out of date information.

Remind me why again?

I wish the TomTom Rider was out or the Lowrance iway 500c had batteries. There's no good solution is there? Does your wife have a sister with a laptop?

G
sakurama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 01:42 PM   #10
bigmizzle
Grease Pirate
 
bigmizzle's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Oddometer: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketJohn
I thought people that used Apples drove VWs and rode bicycles...

and sometimes they RIDE BMW'S and sometimes they ride bicycles

are you trying to stereotype someone?
__________________
2000 R1150GS
1984 Mercedes 300SD Turbo-Diesel (WVO)
Founder of Westside-Greasers car club
$5 off smugmug coupon M1l1PZrRsFWYo
bigmizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 04:08 PM   #11
Crossmojonation
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Ca Earthquake anyone?
Oddometer: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryM
Does anyone know if and how the software maybe run on Mac please?
Actually you might not be in as big a hole as you think.
Check out this thread and you may find some helpful info. Using GPS and Mac
Crossmojonation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 05:45 PM   #12
sakurama
on an endless build
 
sakurama's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: NYC & PDX
Oddometer: 1,382
GPSCity has a petition page that you should take some time to sign just to help put the pressure on the manufacturers.

That and you should email Garmin: mobile@garmin.com

It can only help...
sakurama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 07:17 PM   #13
Bayou Boy
Beastly Adventurer
 
Bayou Boy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Houma, LA
Oddometer: 1,685
I just used my G4 Powerbook with VirtualPC everyday on an 8 day trip to reload maps to my GPS V with a serial/USB connector. Took like 40 minutes to upload but worked like a champ. If you don't have 40 minutes every night while eating or drinking beer or something, your trip is way to tight on time.
Bayou Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 05:02 AM   #14
sakurama
on an endless build
 
sakurama's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: NYC & PDX
Oddometer: 1,382
The issue is USB only GPS units which can't upload maps through VPC. Units that are serial can use a serial to USB and suffer VPC but USB only can't - I've tried. Garmins protocol for USB is too messed up.
sakurama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 05:26 AM   #15
Gizmo
Hermes
 
Gizmo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 1,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayou Boy
I just used my G4 Powerbook with VirtualPC everyday on an 8 day trip to reload maps to my GPS V with a serial/USB connector. Took like 40 minutes to upload but worked like a champ. If you don't have 40 minutes every night while eating or drinking beer or something, your trip is way to tight on time.
How did you do this, I do not care about the time I would just like to ba able to do it? The computer (Virtual PC) nor Map Source recognizes my Garmin 276C.
__________________
Regards & Ride Safe!

Bruce
4-Wheels moves the body, 2-wheels moves the soul
09' BMW K1200 LT
IBA # 8547
Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014