ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 10:46 PM   #1
Craig McCurdy OP
BIGMAC
 
Craig McCurdy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,373
Fuel line on a KTM 640e

Okay, I asked the KTM dealer for a fueline for a 2001 640e with a 18L tank which is a pre-bent affair with a part number (that I have). They sent me a foot of good old straight fueline. That's just great but I only need about 3" and it needs 2, 90 deg. bends and that just leads to one big kink! So, what am I missing? The other fix would be if the fuel intake on a Mikuni carb could be replaced with a straight intake... Any ideas?
Craig McCurdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:33 AM   #2
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Oddometer: 5,324
Obviously it would be best to get the preformed line, but if that is not available for some reason you could place a long spring with the same inner diameter as the fuel hoses outer diameter around it to prevent kinking.
__________________
Proud member of the HUSABERG ADVENTURE TEAM!
12 690 Enduro-R, 12 Husaberg FE570, 09 KTM XC-F/ 450 RFS hybrid, 07 KTM 450 SMR, 09 BMW F650GS twin/F800GS hybrid, 03+05 YZF-R6
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:24 AM   #3
ktmbmw
Getting there
 
ktmbmw's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Dayton, NV
Oddometer: 309
For my SXC tank upgrade, I ordered my fuel line from bikebandit by part number and got the one I needed.

have you tried other vendors?
__________________
KTM 625SXC '03 (street legal), BMW 1200RS '99
'The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.' - Bertrand Russell
ktmbmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:19 AM   #4
Craig McCurdy OP
BIGMAC
 
Craig McCurdy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,373
Laugh

Thanks, I'm going to try the spring first then since it's not electrical maybe a "Big hammer" If that doesn't work then I'll just have to order the right part from some one else!
Craig McCurdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:33 AM   #5
wrk2surf
BITD/Rallye
 
wrk2surf's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: THE exact center of California/Bass lake/Yosemite
Oddometer: 5,955
just use the black sheathed VW style fuel line... and make a loop... what Ive used on all the tanks for my 625 sxc//adventure/Lc4.. and I replace it once a yr..
also check your carb inlet screen .. little white jobby that looks like a lip on the end of the inlet...
__________________
Thanks for the 2014 support:BELL HELMETS, SCOTT USA, Kriega USA, Carbon-pro.com, GPR stabilzers, Renazco Racing, Sidi/Motonation, Masters paint and body, Magura , motolab , Tripy GPS, Loctite and Dunlop tires .
wrk2surf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:59 PM   #6
Sparrowhawk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Sparrowhawk's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Oddometer: 1,609
My 2000 LC4E 18L tank came with a straight bit of hose (that had taken on a bent shape over time) and an internal coil spring to keep it from kinking. Part #2 on the diagram is the spring, #6 the hose. I didn't know the spring was in there until my local dealer (where I bought the hose) told me not to forget to change the spring over. Sure enough the spring was in my old hose.

Sparrowhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 11:38 PM   #7
Craig McCurdy OP
BIGMAC
 
Craig McCurdy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,373
Well, this is how it ended! Since I have only had this 640e for a couple of months I did not get the old fuel line. The one that was put in (not buy me) was kinked bad! So I just thought I would show my work around and it works great so far.

This is before

And after


And yes, I made the mistake of thinking that if I took the little in-line fuel filter out to check it that I might be able to put it back in, "NOT". So that big white thing between the air intake and the carb is a nice big inline fuel filter. It was a tight fit but it worked...
Craig McCurdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 10:21 AM   #8
Sparrowhawk
Beastly Adventurer
 
Sparrowhawk's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Eastern Washington, USA
Oddometer: 1,609
The only issue I see with a high loop like that is when the fuel gets low in the tank. If you have an air bubble in the line at the top of the loop fuel won't flow once it gets below the highest point of the loop. Just like a siphon with air in the hose, it doesn't flow.
Sparrowhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 12:13 PM   #9
Craig McCurdy OP
BIGMAC
 
Craig McCurdy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,373
I was trying to make that happen in the shop but it did not. This will have to do for now until I can find a spring or the pre shaped line. And a new filter for the carb.
Craig McCurdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 12:37 PM   #10
clintnz
Trans-Global Chook Chaser
 
clintnz's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Rotoiti, New Zealand
Oddometer: 3,056
I have a loop but it goes down rather than up like that. It means I can swap between the 12L & 18L tanks without changing the fuel line.

Cheers
Clint
__________________
'03 KTM 640 LC4 Enduro

The wilderness, the desert - why are they not crowded
.................................................. .....with pilgrims?
clintnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:23 PM   #11
gettinold
n00b
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Oddometer: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparrowhawk View Post
My 2000 LC4E 18L tank came with a straight bit of hose (that had taken on a bent shape over time) and an internal coil spring to keep it from kinking. Part #2 on the diagram is the spring, #6 the hose. I didn't know the spring was in there until my local dealer (where I bought the hose) told me not to forget to change the spring over. Sure enough the spring was in my old hose.

Old post but this was the made to order info I needed right now, awesomely wonderful.
gettinold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:17 AM   #12
sir phily
Gnarly Adventurer
 
sir phily's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Lake Keepit NSW
Oddometer: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparrowhawk View Post
The only issue I see with a high loop like that is when the fuel gets low in the tank. If you have an air bubble in the line at the top of the loop fuel won't flow once it gets below the highest point of the loop. Just like a siphon with air in the hose, it doesn't flow.


Spot on, I had the same set up on my old 640E ran into trouble, couldn't work out why I kept running out of fuel moved the loop to below the outlet and problem gone. .

Cheers Phil
sir phily is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014