ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2011, 04:08 PM   #1
DRTBYK OP
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,188
Garmin BaseCamp-Win

I thought it would be good to start a new Garmin BaseCamp thread so we could potentially have one. I know some don't like that concept but let's see how it goes.


From the Developers:
We decided to release another Beta before 3.3.1. This release fixes some of the shaping point issues for Zumo 4x0 and 5x0, so we are especially interested in feedback on that (please use https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?t=24732 to provide feedback regarding that topic). We also fixed some other issues, and added a few more features that weren't done at the time of the first Beta.

Download the Beta here: http://developer.garmin.com/apps/BC/...3.0.3_Beta.exe. If you used 3.3.0.2, you should also be able to update from within BaseCamp.

If you haven't tried 3.3.0.2, make sure to check out https://forums.garmin.com/showthread.php?t=24413, there have been a lot of changes!

Change list from BaseCamp 3.3.0.2 to 3.3.0.3
  • Fixed zumo 5x0 and 4x0 route transfer issues. Note that this may cause route transfer issues on the zumo 660. A future firmware update on the 660 will address this issue
  • Update waypoint references to map data when recalculating routes. Advice for the first beta that said that shaping points only worked for brand new routes can now be ignored
  • Added hiding of Activity profiles
  • Added creating OpenCaches from waypoints
  • Added calculating ascent and descent for direct routes
  • Added indication of data filter visibility state on the data list
  • Change to prevent property dialogs becoming lost off screen after screen resolution changes
  • Fixed any profiles from BaseCamp 3.2 that have invalid routing preferences (ie invalid vehicle types and incorrect avoidances)
  • Fixed list in-place rename requiring pressing enter to complete the edit
  • Fixed the "Reset Headers" context menu being displayed after renaming an item
  • Fixed issue writing out altitude when exporting to the GDB file format
  • Fixed track filtering "automatic mode" for tracks with no time information

Known issues
Doing a “Send to” from the root device folder to “My Collection” crashes. This is when selecting the entire contents of the device in the folder list, and only when selecting the root My Collection in the folder/list picker dialog.
Sending geocaches to some of our older devices (first generation Oregons and older) fails when there aren’t already geocaches on that device (a geocaches.gpx file).

These will be fixed in the final release.
Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 01-08-2012 at 12:40 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:41 PM   #2
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 647
You might want to start two, until Garmin standardizes the feature set, look, and tool usage between the two platforms. If they ever do. A lot of people don't realize they're quite different apps at this point.
__________________
SW

The Weather in my Backyard
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 05:40 PM   #3
DRTBYK OP
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
You might want to start two, until Garmin standardizes the feature set, look, and tool usage between the two platforms. If they ever do. A lot of people don't realize they're quite different apps at this point.
Yeah, I've been mulling that over since I posted. OK, done. I doubt that BaseCamp will ever be exactly the same on both OS's.

Maybe R-dubb could change the Thread Title for me to Garmin BaseCamp-Win?

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 12-14-2011 at 05:45 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:45 AM   #4
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 675
Sweet. Dowloading now.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:02 PM   #5
DRTBYK OP
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,188
Just keep in mind that this is a BETA release. There are a few things that are not there or that are not functioning properly. If you find what you believe to be issues, it will help us all if you report them on the Garmin Forum.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:09 PM   #6
cablebandit
Web Adventurer
 
cablebandit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: State College PA
Oddometer: 675
Yeah, I just started farting around with it. I always thought Basecamp for Mac was so much better, interface wise. But my Mac is a netbook and it chokes trying to actually do anything productive.
__________________
IBA #33260
cablebandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:51 PM   #7
DRTBYK OP
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by cablebandit View Post
Yeah, I just started farting around with it. I always thought Basecamp for Mac was so much better, interface wise. But my Mac is a netbook and it chokes trying to actually do anything productive.
I also prefer the BC-Mac interface and tool methods. Sounds like it's time to "upgrade" your Mac. I use a MacBook Air and it runs BaseCamp (and most everything else) quite well. I'd like to have a Mac Pro but it's hard to spend the money when I have a VERY powerful Windows machine that does email and web surfing most of the time - use to run my CAD and Building Design apps.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 07:13 PM   #8
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,260
Geeeeze, I thought this was some kind of "Scratch & Win" thread?

Question,
does Base Camp have something like the Track properties page to set color of each track
does it have a way to set the "Show on Map" bit that Mapsource had but Garmin removed at no extra charge
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:14 PM   #9
DRTBYK OP
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Geeeeze, I thought this was some kind of "Scratch & Win" thread?

Question,
does Base Camp have something like the Track properties page to set color of each track
does it have a way to set the "Show on Map" bit that Mapsource had but Garmin removed at no extra charge
Double-click on the Track and the Properties window opens - imagine that! Set Color: choose from the standard 16 colors + Transparent. Yes, the Color property is passed to the GPS and the Montana reads it.

The Show on Map bit is not passed to the GPS. You get (have) to make that decision on the GPS. I'll bet that if we (as a community) each asked for BaseCamp to pass a Show on Map property in the GPX file, they would do it.

I also believe that if BaseCamp sent the property that the Montana and other GPS's would that can use it would follow suit.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 05:22 PM   #10
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
The Show on Map bit is not passed to the GPS. You get (have) to make that decision on the GPS. I'll Cheers,
Have you tested this? Set bit in GPS uplaod track to BaseCamp erase track in GPS then downoload and see if it is the same for both On & Off.

It transfers in Mapsource but you just can't see it or set it in Mapsource.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 06:07 PM   #11
DRTBYK OP
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Have you tested this? Set bit in GPS uplaod track to BaseCamp erase track in GPS then downoload and see if it is the same for both On & Off.

It transfers in Mapsource but you just can't see it or set it in Mapsource.
Your scenario is a bit different than the one I was describing. I have not tested that one since I don't have a GPS currently in my possession that passes the "Show on Map" tags in the GPX file.

I'm sure someone with an older GPS could test your scenario. One of the issues going forward is that the newer Garmin GPS's are using the "other" Garmin GPX Extensions. These XML tags are different than the older GPS used. So, there might not even be an Extension for "Show on Map"(?) in the new Extensions XML.

I can tell you that the Montana does not write the "Show on Map" tags in the GPX file and my Dakota 20 didn't either. Do the GPSMAP 76's/62's? Post a waypoint.gpx file so I can look?

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:30 PM   #12
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Your scenario is a bit different than the one I was describing. I have not tested that one since I don't have a GPS currently in my possession that passes the "Show on Map" tags in the GPX file. Cheers,
Are we talking same thing? The "Show on Map" tag is the the track properties of each Track (along with color). Nothing to do with any kind of file.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 09:26 AM   #13
DRTBYK OP
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Are we talking same thing? The "Show on Map" tag is the the track properties of each Track (along with color). Nothing to do with any kind of file.
Maybe, maybe not. Long ago MapSpource had a tick mark in the Track Properties for "Show on Map". That property was passed to the GPS (if it was supported) along with Color, etc.

What I was asking is, do you have a GPX file where the "Show on Map" is expressed? I think this was back in the non-GPX days when Garmin used GDB only and passed proprietary commands to the GPS. If you (or anyone) has a Track in GPX format with this attribute tagged, please post it. I really want to see what it looks like.

According to Garmin the current GPX Extension's don't support "Show on Map". But, Garmin has changed their GPX code and I just don't have a Track example of the old GPX format with that property set.

All of that said, I don't think that any current GPS writes the "Show on Map" attribute in the Track properties when they are transferred. And since BaseCamp writes GPX to the GPS, even if the tag were sent to BaseCamp it would not make the return to the GPS since there is no GPX definition for "Show on Map".

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 12-20-2011 at 09:33 AM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 11:08 AM   #14
Dagwood_55
Beastly Adventurer
 
Dagwood_55's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: The Ozarks
Oddometer: 1,317
A question:

I usually create a route first then convert it to a track before loading onto my GPS. I usually delete the route before loading.

But sometimes I want to create a route from a track. After doing this, how do I get rid of all the little flag symbols (points) that clutter the route up??
__________________
Live long, love much, laugh often, and
Ride, Ride, Ride.....
Dagwood_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 11:10 AM   #15
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
According to Garmin the current GPX Extension's don't support "Show on Map". But, Garmin has changed their GPX code and I just don't have a Track example of the old GPX format with that property set.

All of that said, I don't think that any current GPS writes the "Show on Map" attribute in the Track properties when they are transferred. And since BaseCamp writes GPX to the GPS, even if the tag were sent to BaseCamp it would not make the return to the GPS since there is no GPX definition for "Show on Map".

Cheers,
I just ran test with Mapsource and 76C.

You are correct at least in some part.

I had 6 tracks in 76C, 3 set to "Show", 3 set to "Not Show".

I uploaded to Mapsource, Saved as .gpx, opened .gpx file, and downloaded tracks back to cleared 76C.

They were now all "Show". This does not happen if you use Mapsource and .gdb files.

I am guessing that the .gpx format which is not a Gramin thing just does not support this bit.

When you open a .gpx file with Mapsource, it seems like it converts it to .gdb (not real clear) and defaults the "show on map" bit ot "Show". I know the 76C does not alter the bit like the 78 does. No matter how you have bits set in Mapsource .gdb, when you send to 78 it turns them all to "Not Show". This is a eal PITSA for promoters who want to give customers the correct "Show" and "Color" and not have to give them a long paper instructions for them to change them all.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014