User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-20-2011, 12:22 PM   #1
IRideASlowBike OP
Banned

Oddometer: 1,786
I want to build a chopper.

So because I'm an idiot, and quite incompetent mechanically (aside from doing my own regular maintenance), I have a strong desire to build a chopper. I want it to have a Harley Panhead engine.

I know nothing about building motorcycles. I'm a student (pianist) and have very little money.

Is it possible, and if yes, where do I start?

PS Don't know if this is the right section to post this in, or if JoMomma would be more appropriate...
IRideASlowBike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:24 PM   #2
Foot dragger
singletracker

Oddometer: 12,818
Youve just missed the chopper craze,now its bobbers and cafe bikes. Maybe a streettracker. The piano skills will come in handy for bike building.
Old 12-20-2011, 12:25 PM   #3
IRideASlowBike OP
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foot dragger View Post
Youve just missed the chopper craze,now its bobbers and cafe bikes. Maybe a streettracker. The piano skills will come in handy for bike building.

I don't care, I want to build a chopper. I'd be doing this to ride myself, not for TV.

And yeah, those piano skills...
Old 12-20-2011, 12:32 PM   #4
larryboy
Chopper Rider

Oddometer: 14,258
Pan chop and very little money don't really go together.

Chop up something else to get your feet wet.

Good search terms for your local CL are roller, bobber, chopper. You can find a good starter roller for around a grand, then find an engine..any kind will do, slam it in and ride it.

You have a welder and tools, right?

If not, then what you really need to do is find a motorcycle that is ridable that you can modify. Look for an Intruder 700-800, great engine, cheap and a good base for a cool looking chop.
larryboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:37 PM   #5
IRideASlowBike OP
Banned

Quote: