ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2014, 12:07 PM   #1
wonderings OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 927
use garmin sd maps on multiple devices?

I bought a micro sd card from Garmin for the Europe maps for my parents. Now there seems to be no activating or registering this, so my questions is: Can this micro sd card be used in any compatible garmin gps device? Or does it lock itself to the device I just put it in?
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 01:04 PM   #2
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,202
Yes, that micro SD mapset can be used in any Garmin device that takes micro SD. It does not lock to any unit.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 01:54 PM   #3
wonderings OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
Yes, that micro SD mapset can be used in any Garmin device that takes micro SD. It does not lock to any unit.
Thanks, good to know.

The down side I am just finding out is it seems I cannot use the maps with base camp.
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 01:56 PM   #4
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,202
In some cases Basecamp will show the mapset while the GPS is plugged into the USB.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 05:16 PM   #5
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderings View Post
Thanks, good to know.

The down side I am just finding out is it seems I cannot use the maps with base camp.
If you can't see the maps in Basecamp while you have the SD card in the gps, and the gps plugged into the computer, you may need to use Javawa Device Manager to enable the map's visibility in Basecamp. I have a version of CNNA on sd which couldn't be seen so I enabled it through Javawa and it still works just fine in any gps, but can now be used in Basecamp as well.

You don't have to have the card in a computer to do this - you just need to point Javawa at the card via the drive selection window.

Here's a screen shot of Javawa with one of my gps units plugged into the computer.

__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 06:25 AM   #6
wonderings OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 927
Thanks, got it to work with JaVaWa, though it is a bit finicky at times. I tried making a copy of the SD card on my Mac in hopes of get the maps to load faster in Basecamp. I updated to the latest version of JaVaWa, I had an older version before. How do I get JaVaWa to see the image file I made? I mounted it, so it appears on my desktop just as an SD card would, but JaVaWa does not connect to it, even after restarting the app.

I am noticing there is a "virtualize" button, should I be using that to copy my SD card instead?
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 10:32 AM   #7
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,202
The mapsets on microSD have some sort of copy protection coding; could be the "problem".
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 10:43 AM   #8
wonderings OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Oddometer: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
The mapsets on microSD have some sort of copy protection coding; could be the "problem".
Thats what I original thought.

I did try the "virtualize" button in JaVaWa, but after thats all done, it now completely freezes the program on start up. I deleted the app and reinstalled, with the same results. Should have just left it alone.
__________________
“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor. If an elephant has its foot on the tail of a mouse
and you say that you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your
neutrality.” Bishop Desmond Tutu
2010 GSA
wonderings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 09:40 PM   #9
indio
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Northern Karlifornia
Oddometer: 93
Try this to make it work with BaseCamp.
https://support.garmin.com/support/searchSupport/case.faces?caseId={831bf7a0-78fe-11e1-6a4c-000000000000}

I had same issue with maps on SD card not being recognized by BaseCamp got it working after following steps listed on the page.
indio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 04:11 AM   #10
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmbeedee View Post
If you can't see the maps in Basecamp while you have the SD card in the gps, and the gps plugged into the computer, you may need to use Javawa Device Manager to enable the map's visibility in Basecamp. I have a version of CNNA on sd which couldn't be seen so I enabled it through Javawa and it still works just fine in any gps, but can now be used in Basecamp as well.

You don't have to have the card in a computer to do this - you just need to point Javawa at the card via the drive selection window.

Here's a screen shot of Javawa with one of my gps units plugged into the computer.

Em,
Do you know if the JaVaWa (IMGfromGPX) program will work with the 276/478 series in regards to creating track/map overlays and running them ?
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 04:16 AM   #11
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by DockingPilot View Post
Em,
Do you know if the JaVaWa (IMGfromGPX) program will work with the 276/478 series in regards to creating track/map overlays and running them ?
Sorry, I don't know that. I've never owned a gps of that series. Maybe Dan (DRTBYK) would know.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 07:38 AM   #12
BobM
DualSport
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Burlington, ON or Tucson, AZ
Oddometer: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by DockingPilot View Post
Em,
Do you know if the JaVaWa (IMGfromGPX) program will work with the 276/478 series in regards to creating track/map overlays and running them ?
I know the overlay maps work on a 276, but not having owned one, I'm unsure if they can be separate img files or combined into a single gmapsupp.img. I suspect it's the latter due to the age of the 276.

Bob
BobM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 10:12 AM   #13
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,124
How do you view an .img file ?
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:23 AM   #14
lhendrik
Truffle Rustler
 
lhendrik's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: New York and Floridoodie
Oddometer: 2,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by DockingPilot View Post
How do you view an .img file ?
.IMG file is the file type that is read by your GPS. The file is loaded into memory for use by the GPS. It is NOT intended as a file type that you can open with a program on your PC

If you want to see what the file looks like you can plug the GPS into your computer running the Garmin Basecamp program and it will probably load the file installed in the GPS so you can see it.
__________________
Normal is just a setting on the dryer.
2009 R1200GS A, 2008 K1200GT
lhendrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 09:00 AM   #15
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhendrik View Post
.IMG file is the file type that is read by your GPS. The file is loaded into memory for use by the GPS. It is NOT intended as a file type that you can open with a program on your PC

If you want to see what the file looks like you can plug the GPS into your computer running the Garmin Basecamp program and it will probably load the file installed in the GPS so you can see it.

Ah. Thank you for the clear answer. I get it now.
Thanks again.
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014