ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2015, 06:24 PM   #1
Trixie OP
No, not that Trixie
 
Trixie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Central MA
Oddometer: 3,571
Onboard Oil Level Indicator in 2015 GSAW?

I noticed flipping through the onboard display that an entry for Oil Level appears, but displays only the two flat bars, _._ similar to the tire pressure displays before you take off. Does this model year have a built in level sensor to display engine oil levels, a la BMW cars?

I haven't played with it to any extent to see if it will yield any info, and the manual has nothing at all on it, so I was curious if anyone here knew something about it? It toggles up on the lower display on the PRO computer equipped models.
__________________
Buy my 1150 GS: http://advrider.com/forums showthread.php?t=1049311
Trixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:26 PM   #2
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 53,388
You need to be warmed up for it to display correctly.
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:28 PM   #3
def
Ginger th wonder dog
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 10,359
I would opt for the sight glass.
__________________
The woods is closing in on me...I need a D6.
def is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:30 PM   #4
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 53,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
I would opt for the sight glass.
That is the luddite backup!
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:43 PM   #5
def
Ginger th wonder dog
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 10,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
That is the luddite backup!
Yes, no moving parts, no electricity required, it works without the key on and it is accurate!
__________________
The woods is closing in on me...I need a D6.
def is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:50 PM   #6
Roadscum
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: SW Florida
Oddometer: 2,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
Yes, no moving parts, no electricity required, it works without the key on and it is accurate!
That's so "old school"!

Paul
__________________
"One of the things that make motorcycling so great is because it never fails to give you a feeling of freedom and adventure." - Steve McQueen
Roadscum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:59 PM   #7
def
Ginger th wonder dog
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 10,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadscum View Post
That's so "old school"!

Paul
You are absolutely correct.

Question, would you buy a car with a sealed transmission that has no dipstick and no facility for adding ATF?
__________________
The woods is closing in on me...I need a D6.
def is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 06:59 PM   #8
Trixie OP
No, not that Trixie
 
Trixie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Central MA
Oddometer: 3,571
Yes, the age-old sight glass is almost as mystical in its never-ending inconsistency, full one ride, empty the next.

I've been kneeling down, worshiping the BMW gods for 15 years to check the oil on my old GS. You would think that, in 15 years, they could do more to innovate than simply adding a snap ring to contain the sight glass from blowing out. I'm getting old, dammit, and that glass is awfully low to the ground. No more, I demand modern amenities :)

So, engine warm, key on, motor not running, on centerstand? Do I need to spin clock wise three times and whistle the BMW jingle?
__________________
Buy my 1150 GS: http://advrider.com/forums showthread.php?t=1049311
Trixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 07:37 PM   #9
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 53,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
You are absolutely correct.

Question, would you buy a car with a sealed transmission that has no dipstick and no facility for adding ATF?
If you buy a new car, there is a very good chance that is what you will get! Of course if you have a manual transmission that is all you ever got!
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 03:08 AM   #10
bikeroz
Studly Adventurer
 
bikeroz's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Sydney Lower North Shore
Oddometer: 560
Dare I say this is old functionality.
My 2010 actively monitors oil and will throw up a warning too when it gets too low.
Add to that low fuel, low tyre pressure, LAMPF, ABS and ASC turned off and you have plenty to keep you entertained.
__________________
SPOT link
bikeroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 04:42 AM   #11
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 53,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikeroz View Post
Dare I say this is old functionality.
My 2010 actively monitors oil and will throw up a warning too when it gets too low.
Add to that low fuel, low tyre pressure, LAMPF, ABS and ASC turned off and you have plenty to keep you entertained.
The difference is that this is one you can actively check. But yes, same basic idea that has been around for some time.
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 06:59 AM   #12
Twisted1
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2014
Oddometer: 62
Electronics are ok, but if i have the option to visually see a fluid level ( sight glass, dip stick) Ill always feel more secure knowing its accurate and ok vs and electronic one.
Not saying i never look at my oil level on the dash to say "ok" , but i always look at my sight glass b4 Start each day or every couple days ..
__________________
'13 BMW HP4
'14 BMW GSW
First time since 1984 I didn't have at least 1 Japanese bike.
Times are changing.
Twisted1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 08:38 AM   #13
GS Addict
Pepperfool
 
GS Addict's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast B.C.
Oddometer: 4,111
The Space Shuttle still used hardwired relay logic for the critical stuff.
The same applies for Natural Gas booster stations.
__________________
Old enough to know better....
Young enough to try it again
GS Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 09:42 AM   #14
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 53,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by GS Addict View Post
The Space Shuttle still used hardwired relay logic for the critical stuff.
The same applies for Natural Gas booster stations.
The Space Shuttle was designed 40 years ago and still used top of the line DOS!
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2015, 09:44 AM   #15
krussell
Studly Adventurer
 
krussell's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Oddometer: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
The difference is that this is one you can actively check. But yes, same basic idea that has been around for some time.
You could check on the earlier models too. Not sure when it started, but I could check on my 09 GSA and my 08 RT.
__________________
Kevin
krussell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015