ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2014, 10:31 AM   #1
Surfdog OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Surfdog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Floraduh - flatlander
Oddometer: 433
Assistance needed 2013 Adventure

I need a little assistance. During the SAS removal on my 2013 Baja Adventure, I inadvertantly remove the Pressure sensors that are not suppose to be removed. I have to reinstall them but, am unsure of the exact connectivity.
there are 3 Pressure sensors. If anyone has the schematics or pics they would share I would be much appreciative.

thanks...

BTW... the sensors are over $100.00 a piece if you happen to disguard them


signed --- Dumbass.
__________________
Noli nothis permittere te terere !
Surfdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 07:11 PM   #2
renogeorge
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 1,330
One connects to the rear intake manifold on the left side. One connects to the front manifold on the right side. Both attach to the frame via permanent mounting tabs. The third is located in front of the air box on the right side. It has a short section of tubing which is oopen to the atmosphere. All 3 have electrical connections. It is important that the 2 manifold sensors use the correct OEM length tubes. It is also important that there are no vacuum leaks. Check the unused taps on the manifolds. They should be plugged at the manifolds or if tubing has been run back for syncing--plugged at the tubing end.

Good luck
__________________
KTMs--300, 518, 990
renogeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 07:30 AM   #3
Surfdog OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Surfdog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Floraduh - flatlander
Oddometer: 433
Thumb

Thanks.... thats the info i need...
__________________
Noli nothis permittere te terere !
Surfdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 07:02 AM   #4
Surfdog OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Surfdog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Floraduh - flatlander
Oddometer: 433
Hey.... Can ya'll add a couple of pics of the neck to show how your throttle cables are routed.

mine seemed to be in a bind ... just want to compare.

thanks in advance for you assistance.
__________________
Noli nothis permittere te terere !
Surfdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 07:40 AM   #5
NeptuneTriton
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 201
Here's a new step-by-step 990 SAS removal video put together by CPR Fab. It also covers removing the airbox and installing the Rottweiler intake, so you'll have to disregard that part of the video...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jdglte4MJbw
__________________
America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.
-Abraham Lincoln


Kronreif, Trunkenpolz of Mattighofen - Model 990, Adventure Baja
NeptuneTriton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 10:58 AM   #6
Surfdog OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Surfdog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Floraduh - flatlander
Oddometer: 433
Great video.... too late for me.

But I still would like a pic of how the throttle cables are routed through and around the neck.

thanks in advance for the pics someone.....
__________________
Noli nothis permittere te terere !

Surfdog screwed with this post 12-16-2014 at 10:58 AM Reason: spelling
Surfdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 03:42 PM   #7
Surfdog OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Surfdog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Floraduh - flatlander
Oddometer: 433
Ok, still needs some thoughts on this......

bike is idling @2000.
I checked throttle cables for binding or something with airbox
and can't find any real problems.
Thoughts people....
__________________
Noli nothis permittere te terere !
Surfdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:50 PM   #8
armourbl
Adventure Life
 
armourbl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Oddometer: 616
I don't know, but you've got me real scared about messing with my own.

ben
__________________
______________________________
2013 KTM 990 Adventure Baja Edition
armourbl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 05:59 PM   #9
JoeMongo
¿Por dónde?
 
JoeMongo's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: SF Bay Area, not exactly dirt moto heaven
Oddometer: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfdog View Post
Ok, still needs some thoughts on this......

bike is idling @2000.
I checked throttle cables for binding or something with airbox
and can't find any real problems.
Thoughts people....

Your throttle cables are probably too tight. Did you release the idle stepper motor with TuneECU before you adjusted the throttle cable slack?
J.
__________________
'08 990 ADV, '03 DR-Z400S

Anything worth doing, is worth overdoing.
JoeMongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 09:31 PM   #10
Surfdog OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Surfdog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Floraduh - flatlander
Oddometer: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeMongo View Post
Your throttle cables are probably too tight. Did you release the idle stepper motor with TuneECU before you adjusted the throttle cable slack?
J.
No I did not release the idle stepper motor, I have not tried the TuneECU.
I figured the 15 min ldle would fix this
That was my point I checked all the mechanical possibilities and need to know where else to check.
TuneECU... dwnloadable ? Got a website ? So I guess I'll have to purchase a tuner cable too.
I really didn't want to go down this road.
__________________
Noli nothis permittere te terere !
Surfdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 10:31 PM   #11
Qwik
Adrenaline Addict
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Oddometer: 6,550
But now that you are you should tap these guys with the experience. Lots of em using tuneecu for those EFI bikes
__________________
Speed bumps never seem to make me go any faster
Qwik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 10:12 PM   #12
PolyrhythmFX
Adventurer
 
PolyrhythmFX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Dresden, OH
Oddometer: 38
http://tuneecu.com/TuneECU_En/install1.html
http://www.factorypro.com/tech/TuneE...KTM,Keihin_ECU

You will need the cable to connect TuneECU. As mentioned you'll use TuneECU to release the stepper motor before adjusting. The 15 minute idle doesn't work on its own. Only applies after using TuneECU to load a map, reset adaption, etc
PolyrhythmFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 09:24 PM   #13
Surfdog OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Surfdog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Floraduh - flatlander
Oddometer: 433
Ok, I see where it talks about releasing the step motor. But do I really need to
mess with all the other settings. I did the SAS removal & canasterectomy and
my idle jumps to 2000 I shouldnt have to adjust my throttle cables. They seem fine.
. No FI errors... geeez I want my carbs back.
anyone knowledgeable about this remapping live near Fl want to assist ?
__________________
Noli nothis permittere te terere !
Surfdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 10:39 PM   #14
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,568
If there is a high idle situation with a 990 I would check 3 systems, one of them is the throttle cables... make sure there is a bunch of slack (for testing), if still high idle, then perform a ECU reset (with TuneECU), if still high idle, run the Idle Speed control test in TuneECU, and re-run engine, let it run for ~1-2 min.. if still high idle, then the TPS NEEDS TO BE ADJUSTED, which for the un-initiated and impatient is not a task undertaken without support... granted, not impossible, but one can spend a fair amount of time messing with the TPS to the the measured idle setting 'correct'.... which I have found .58vdc is 'in the ball park' but may not be for all. If not 'right', then the idle can hang high (2500-3500) and a bunch of other fun side effects.
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 10:56 PM   #15
Rharr
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Tucson Az
Oddometer: 55
Dumb question but did you connect or cap the 2 nipples the charcoal canister connected to that connect to the intakes? High idle could also be air leak like having those nipples uncapped or unconnected or not having the throttle bodies fully seated. Just one more thing to look into.
__________________
2010 KTM 990 Adv R
2005 Honda Crf450x
2005 Suzuki SV1000 sport touring setup for sale
Old Suzuki GS stuff
Rharr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014