ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-30-2013, 12:13 PM   #1
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,919
Garmin: Road segmentation and use of MapSource vs BaseCamp

Somewhere here, in a thread I cannot find someone mentioned that in more recent map sets, Garmin changed the way they segment the roads, and that one needs to use BaseCamp for this reason.

Am I remembering the remarks correctly? And if so, what is different about the road segmentation, and what would be the unwanted result if one did not shift to BaseCamp from MapSource? I am already on BaseCamp, but a friend is not...
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 06:36 PM   #2
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Somewhere here, in a thread I cannot find someone mentioned that in more recent map sets, Garmin changed the way they segment the roads, and that one needs to use BaseCamp for this reason.

Am I remembering the remarks correctly? And if so, what is different about the road segmentation, and what would be the unwanted result if one did not shift to BaseCamp from MapSource? I am already on BaseCamp, but a friend is not...
I'm not familiar with the thread post you're referring to but the new MAPs today have fewer Map Tiles/Segments. Roads are not "segmented" and they use the same tagging that they have previously. There is new more descriptive road tagging in many maps, including Garmin's, but this has little to do with routing relative to MapSource. The issues that MapSource users will be facing is that as BsaeCamp and Garmin GPS unit mature, they will be taking more advantage of the Activity based Routing features being coded into map data (from many sources). MapSource has no awareness of this data -- nor will it.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 04:16 AM   #3
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
I'm not familiar with the thread post you're referring to but the new MAPs today have fewer Map Tiles/Segments. Roads are not "segmented" and they use the same tagging that they have previously. There is new more descriptive road tagging in many maps, including Garmin's, but this has little to do with routing relative to MapSource. The issues that MapSource users will be facing is that as BsaeCamp and Garmin GPS unit mature, they will be taking more advantage of the Activity based Routing features being coded into map data (from many sources). MapSource has no awareness of this data -- nor will it.
Ah. Thanks.

So, if one makes a route in MapSource and pushes it to a GPS, does the fact that it has to"activity" setting make any difference?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 07:46 AM   #4
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Ah. Thanks.

So, if one makes a route in MapSource and pushes it to a GPS, does the fact that it has to"activity" setting make any difference?
No, the GPS if it is capable of using the Transportation Mode tag will just default to the local settings for the route calculation.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014