User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-27-2012, 10:22 PM   #1
damasovi OP
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,570
after 100 cc what else?

HI, sorry but this is a What scooter to buy tread.

I am somewhat new to scooters and I have had 1 for a little over 1 month and all ready see my self wanting a little more than 100 cc, so the question is what should I get?

OK to help you help me this is what I would and would not like
a) 55-60 mph cruising speed.
b) none Chinese
c) I do not need a burgan 650/400 tmax (will like it but not a demand)
d) easy on maintenance.
e) I like new, but can not afford a $10K scooter, maybe 5000 tops

I am doing the data gathering since I like to see, compare and then buy, and I do take my time with this. what do you recommend ?

Damasovi
damasovi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:06 AM   #2
Forde
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 639
something in the 200-300 range are you after?

honda, gilera, kymco, aprilia and suzuki all have good offerings in those sizes
Old 01-28-2012, 03:47 AM   #3
klaviator
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 5,331
Here are some nice scooters that would meet your needs and can be found for less then $5,000 new in the US. I don't know what's available in Mexico.

Kymco Yager 200i, Grand Vista 250, People 250
Sym HD200, RV250, and maybe Citycom 300
Buddy Blur 220i (it's Chinese but I'd consider it)
Aprilia Scarabeo 200, Sport City 250
Piaggio BV250
Honda PCX 125, SH150

I'm sure I missed a few.

Of course if you buy used it opens up a lot more possibilities for under 5K

klaviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:06 AM   #4
ronnath
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,444
you said you "like new" but didn't mention that as a requirement.

for 5 grand or under, there's a boatload of rides out there in the used market and many with low miles.

good, reliable bikes include
-honda helix, big ruckus (pretty rare), reflex and silverwing