ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Fluff > Shiny things
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 384 votes, 4.97 average. Display Modes
Old 09-30-2012, 08:26 AM   #2611
Mambo Dave
Backyard Adventurer
 
Mambo Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Oddometer: 4,697
Lots of people can't log in to the game this morning. For those who can't log in, it's not you, nor your connection.

Mambo Dave screwed with this post 09-30-2012 at 12:50 PM
Mambo Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:32 AM   #2612
janeuner
Get Some
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 1,139
Hey Smithy-

Was still thinking about your connection issues after you left last night. You said you were using the FiOS router. It would be reasonable to guess that you have at least one neighbor doing the same.

Both routers would likely be configured (by default) to use the same wireless frequency channel. Interference between the two could create the connectivity issues you describe.

Consider running through this guide to figure out if this applies to you:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/21132...reless-signal/

The fix may be as simple as changing the wireless channel configured on the router.
__________________
'06 Suzuki Boulevard C50
'92 Suzuki GS500E (sold)
janeuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:50 AM   #2613
janeuner
Get Some
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by papalobster View Post
I have a spare case that will probably get a new motherboard/cpu/ram.
Microcenter special!

This... http://www.microcenter.com/product/3...MD_Motherboard

and this... http://www.microcenter.com/product/3...oxed_Processor

Add them both to the cart. The cost of the mobo drops to $10. Total pretax/shipping is $120. Pretty good deal imho.

For video, Radeon 7750 is the best card you can get that doesn't require a $60+ power supply. You could run medium details in WoT without ever dipping below 20 fps. If you have a good power supply, the Radeon 6850 is still the best bang-for-buck that I know of.
__________________
'06 Suzuki Boulevard C50
'92 Suzuki GS500E (sold)
janeuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:14 AM   #2614
vwboomer
Buffoon
 
vwboomer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: WI
Oddometer: 9,327
really like the efficiency calculator that was posted. thanks!

Also using the gamebooster, though I honestly can't tell much difference.

spending quality time in the IS3 the last couple days. I guess it's growing on me after the turret upgrade adn BL9. took 26 hits in the last battle
urban maps I am still not doing too well.

I did manage to hit a T7 for 1350hp

I need to make around 30,000 per battle or risk losing money. those shells are spendy.

about 80 battles in it over the last two days
__________________
It's important to own a great adventure bike, and leave it in the garage because there's no time to adventure
vwboomer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 12:55 PM   #2615
Mambo Dave
Backyard Adventurer
 
Mambo Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Oddometer: 4,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwboomer View Post
really like the efficiency calculator that was posted. thanks!

Also using the gamebooster, though I honestly can't tell much difference.

spending quality time in the IS3 the last couple days. I guess it's growing on me after the turret upgrade adn BL9. took 26 hits in the last battle
urban maps I am still not doing too well.

I did manage to hit a T7 for 1350hp

I need to make around 30,000 per battle or risk losing money. those shells are spendy.

about 80 battles in it over the last two days
Cool.

A few tips - avoid turning your turret if an enemy can shoot into the side of it... it gets damaged ammo racks easily. Likewise, avoid using a repair kit for tracks if you aren't in immediate danger (but how rare is that if your tracks got hit?) because you may need it for the gun or ammo rack with the IS-3 more than other tanks.

And training that skill for a loader to have ammo rack safety, or whatever it is called, is worth it with the IS-3.

Urban maps should be the IS-3's forte, as it is a true brawler, just don't be the one to pop out first and show your side to them. Patience is usually a virtue as, eventually, the enemies will pop out in front of you.

---------

Ugh, server just went down for maintenance... but I guess it was called for.
Mambo Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 01:07 PM   #2616
vwboomer
Buffoon
 
vwboomer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: WI
Oddometer: 9,327
I used to go through a lot of repair kits for tracks until I decided to just wait for the autofix and take a few shots, because yeah the ammo rack needs some serious love.

When possible, I try to get stacked around a corner. tank in front of me, pop out with the lead tank, wait for his shot and reverse, That seems to work pretty well as long as there is no dawdling out there.


I don't recall what my crews training is on. that would be a good one to do and maybe do the wet ammo rack or whatever it's called.
losing half hitpoints on one shot sucks
__________________
It's important to own a great adventure bike, and leave it in the garage because there's no time to adventure
vwboomer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 01:51 PM   #2617
Smithy
Avoiding the Skid-Demon
 
Smithy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: 22310
Oddometer: 7,665
Game Booster installed. How hot is too hot for my hardware? Gives readings for CPU, Vid card, and HD.
__________________
Consultant, Geospatial Science at Viking Geographic LLC Always Exploring
Proprietor of The Tidewater Forge Hot iron is my passion. Fire is my mistress. Let's dance.
35 Years of Scouting Blog for Bushcrafting and Boy Scouting experiences.
Smithy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 03:16 PM   #2618
sargev55
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: charlotte, nc, usa
Oddometer: 496
wow,

surprised to find this thread, although i was not exactly looking.

add me, screen name is the same. mention adv rider or i will most likely ignore.
__________________
2005 Harley 1200 Roadster. 72whp/76tq
1995 eclipse gs-t. 342whp/310tq
1999 ford exploder...who cares.
Bladez Moby-S goped thingy. 35cc of whoop ass!
sargev55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 03:56 PM   #2619
janeuner
Get Some
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Oddometer: 1,139
30C -- Typical temp at idle
50C -- Typical temp under load
60C -- Clean you heat sinks with compressed air.
80C -- Maximum steady state temp w/o damage
90C -- Permanent damage
__________________
'06 Suzuki Boulevard C50
'92 Suzuki GS500E (sold)
janeuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:06 PM   #2620
jkstehn
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Kent, WA
Oddometer: 91
Screen name for WOT is RoverJon

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Jon
WR 250 R

jkstehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:20 PM   #2621
Mambo Dave
Backyard Adventurer
 
Mambo Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Oddometer: 4,697
I have to manually turn on Game Booster (after opening it) for WoT, but for one other game I have it opens itself and turns itself on automatically.

And maybe you guys knew this, but with supplies on sale... you can go to the "Store" then "Consumables" and buy tons of repair kits and medical kits for half price. In the long term this will save you silver. So far I have 312 repair kits and 163 small first aid kits, plus some fire extinguishers and such. Buy 'em today, last day for half price I think.

I never knew we could buy tons of them at one time when they are on sale.
Mambo Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:35 PM   #2622
vwboomer
Buffoon
 
vwboomer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: WI
Oddometer: 9,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mambo Dave View Post
I have to manually turn on Game Booster (after opening it) for WoT, but for one other game I have it opens itself and turns itself on automatically.

And maybe you guys knew this, but with supplies on sale... you can go to the "Store" then "Consumables" and buy tons of repair kits and medical kits for half price. In the long term this will save you silver. So far I have 312 repair kits and 163 small first aid kits, plus some fire extinguishers and such. Buy 'em today, last day for half price I think.

I never knew we could buy tons of them at one time when they are on sale.

must not be on sale anymore. I just got charged full price. forgot to do it earlier in the weekend.
__________________
It's important to own a great adventure bike, and leave it in the garage because there's no time to adventure
vwboomer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:23 PM   #2623
jkstehn
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Kent, WA
Oddometer: 91
Think it rolls over to new day midnight over in Europe. New day is 5pm Pacific time.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Jon
WR 250 R

jkstehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:36 PM   #2624
Smithy
Avoiding the Skid-Demon
 
Smithy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: 22310
Oddometer: 7,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by janeuner View Post
30C -- Typical temp at idle
50C -- Typical temp under load
60C -- Clean you heat sinks with compressed air.
80C -- Maximum steady state temp w/o damage
90C -- Permanent damage
Sitting here with Chrome open, it's CPU 42C, VID 59C, HD 38C

Will report on what it's like in-game.

4 year old Dell Precision M4400 laptop, 4gb RAM, Intel Core Duo CPU T9400 @2.54GHz, 64-bit Vista with a Quadro FX 770M video card running 512mb dedicated video memory, and 1785 shared.

I'm not currently of sufficient funds to go buy a better computer, so playing with my configurations and making do with this is what's on the menu for the foreseeable future. I will definately be wanting something better, and would love to get a better idea of a proper rig capable of both high-quality gaming, as well as high-performance computing (I do GIS for a living and like to have it running at home).

As for my network, I downloaded the wi-fi detector, and found only one other router on my channel, and he's so much weaker on the chart I find it hard to believe he's the cause of my problems. My wireless amplitude to my router shows -45, the other is -90. Can't figure out tonight how to get into my router to switch channels, so I'm leaving that be for now.

Thanks for the tech support.
__________________
Consultant, Geospatial Science at Viking Geographic LLC Always Exploring
Proprietor of The Tidewater Forge Hot iron is my passion. Fire is my mistress. Let's dance.
35 Years of Scouting Blog for Bushcrafting and Boy Scouting experiences.
Smithy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:40 PM   #2625
Hodag
native
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Oddometer: 22,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwboomer View Post
must not be on sale anymore. I just got charged full price. forgot to do it earlier in the weekend.
just bought 50 of each at 1500
Hodag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014