ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2012, 10:25 PM   #1
DS Rider OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 70
What do I need?

Hey everyone,
Firstly thanks for your help in my previous post abhibeckert and Goosefeather. I had a look at the OMS maps, and while i'll contribute to them later, for the moment they dont have enough information where i want it.
I'm totally new to the whole GPS thing, and think its best if i keep it simple for myself to start with.
I have a Garmin GPSmap 60CSx and i want to be able to auto-route directions, as well as record where i have been on tracks and trails for download to the computer later so it can be overlayed on a map. I need detail of sealed and unsealed roads, and hopefully tracks as well in areas around lake Frome, lake Eyre, Flinders ranges etc in SA. I'd like to be able to input gps coordinates and see them on the map/route to them too if thats possible.
I'm happy to pay for products if its easier, and provided they have the detail im after.
So what do i need? im excited about the mapping gps's but totally confused as to what gps mapping programs are compatible with what ive got and what will do what i want.

Thanks in advance for the help and advice.
DS
DS Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 11:38 PM   #2
abhibeckert
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS Rider View Post
Hey everyone,
Firstly thanks for your help in my previous post abhibeckert and Goosefeather. I had a look at the OMS maps, and while i'll contribute to them later, for the moment they dont have enough information where i want it.
I'm totally new to the whole GPS thing, and think its best if i keep it simple for myself to start with.