Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-23-2012, 04:55 PM   #1
Slowhand Montenegro OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 15
Converting a street honda CB1000 BIG 1 to RTW Enduro

Fellow riders,

A big salute from the Netherlands. My name is Marko, I am originally from Montenegro, but for some half year now I have moved and live in the nice and flat Netherlands.

I have been driving bikes for a couple of years, but especially for the last 3 years a very lovely Honda CB1000 Big 1 built in 1995.
I travelled around 50,000 km in the last 2,5 years on this reliable and fun bike.

It is a interesting bike, I have not seen many of them rolling through the Balkans, neither EU. I was told it is somewhat more common on US and Japanese streets, but still a bit rare bike.
A bit heavier machine, around 230kg ready to roll, but a bit higher weight center makes it sluggish to get on to, but all that disappears at 10km/h. I bought it with intention to sell it a couple of months afterwards, but fell completely for the bike and decided not to part.

I may be a noob judging to the number of posts, but I have been very actively lurking and following many rides here on ADVrider for the past 2 years. They have been the inspiration behind most of the 50k of kilometers I have zig-zaged the EU and the Balkans for the last couple of years. I am amazed how the travels are reported here, especially Sibirsky Extreme’s travels, the Crazy Poles, RTW Doug, Radioman, and many more. I even have some close friends that have completed a similar RTW voyage in 2010 – http://www.theridearound2010.me ,
Not to bore, just to show some nice pictures of the bike in nice places, I will write (translate) RRs for most of these trips as soon as I get to it.

Somewhere in Eastern Germany

Town of my birth, Podgorica

Montenegrin mountains

Beaches of south Montenegro – this is one of the cleanest the bike has ever been –

Mountains in south Serbia

Tirana