ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > The perfect line and other riding myths
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-11-2012, 01:20 PM   #1
BeerIsGood

Oddometer: n/a
What Is The Advantage Of Large Displacement In The Dirt?

This is probably a noob question. And as far as off road riding goes, I guess I am a noob. I see a lot of riders on this forum wallowing around the dirt and mud with HUGE bikes (BMW 1200 GS, Yamaha Tenere, KTM 990) and I was just wondering:

1. What is the advantage of a bike this large in an off road situation?
2. Other than speed and power on tarmac, is there really any advantage?
Old 03-11-2012, 02:36 PM   #2
julesmt
Adventurer

Oddometer: 42
There`s no advantage in dirt riding a big displacement bike. A smaller / lighter bike wil always be easier to ride / faster / more fun in the dirt. The only advantage of the big bikes is that you can travel a lot of distance fast.

Of all the big adventure bikes the only one that can be ridden agressive is the big KTM, but only with a very good rider on top of it.
julesmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:31 PM   #3
lemieuxmc
Banned

Oddometer: 3,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerIsGood View Post
This is probably a noob question. And as far as off road riding goes, I guess I am a noob. I see a lot of riders on this forum wallowing around the dirt and mud with HUGE bikes (BMW 1200 GS, Yamaha Tenere, KTM 990) and I was just wondering:

1. There isn't one.

2. No, but it really impresses the other posers riding across the speed bumps in the Starbucks parking lot.
lemieuxmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:37 PM   #4
BeerIsGood

Quote:
Originally Posted by julesmt View Post
The only advantage of the big bikes is that you can travel a lot of distance fast.