ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 07:05 AM   #136
KTMADV
Hammer Down
 
KTMADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Willows Ca
Oddometer: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek View Post
Diek: hate to see you having these problems brother: I might know where you can find a set of carbs if you finally decide you just want to be done with it.

While you are cleaning all of the connectors throw some dielectric grease on them too.
Put the carbs on and be done with it. Its very easy and your bike will run great and smother.
I just put carbs on my 2007 ktm 990 adventure and thats the best thing for the bike.
__________________
Ceasar Vasquez
KTMADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:09 PM   #137
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMADV View Post
Put the carbs on and be done with it. Its very easy and your bike will run great and smother.
I just put carbs on my 2007 ktm 990 adventure and thats the best thing for the bike.

That's not off the table. How involved is it? Pretty much plug-n-play?

Which carbs? From a 950, or some exotic?
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:14 PM   #138
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
Here's a link to the conversion:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...6&postcount=16
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:17 PM   #139
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvGa View Post
Hmmmm, not exactly for a shoe-string budget. We'll see where this goes. There is a lot I like about FI, and that may not even be my problem. Carbs are black-magic too... Thanks for the link.
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:40 PM   #140
AdvGa
Beastly Adventurer
 
AdvGa's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Atlanta Metro
Oddometer: 1,320
Hope you get things worked out.

The cost is pretty substantial to do a Carb conversion for most... thought you might like to know the facts.
AdvGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:56 PM   #141
tahoeacr
Beastly Adventurer
 
tahoeacr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Tahoe
Oddometer: 2,210
Forgot you are down in San Antone. Been In Austin for the last week. Crap, we could have got it figured out. You need to fix the Air inlet code straight away. As said on here before your bike is in a limp home mode. You can load different maps but nothing will happen. I'll be heading to Florida in January. Probably have time to stop for a day and we can throw the wide-band on her.
tahoeacr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:18 PM   #142
KTMADV
Hammer Down
 
KTMADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Willows Ca
Oddometer: 163
Talking

I just put carbs on my 2007 ktm 990 with abs and I spent $1200 + total and that was with bike on the dyno.

If you wanted to do it to your bike it could be done for a $1000.

I used the carbs, ecu, wire harness off a 2004 KTM 950.

My abs still works fine. I can help you with that.

You can see my dyno runs on advrider under ktm 990 adv carbureted dyno run.

If you have any questions call me 530-228-6446 Ceasar

I can help get the parts you need.
__________________
Ceasar Vasquez
KTMADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:58 AM   #143
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMADV View Post
I just put carbs on my 2007 ktm 990 with abs and I spent $1200 + total and that was with bike on the dyno.

If you wanted to do it to your bike it could be done for a $1000.

I used the carbs, ecu, wire harness off a 2004 KTM 950.

My abs still works fine. I can help you with that.

You can see my dyno runs on advrider under ktm 990 adv carbureted dyno run.

If you have any questions call me 530-228-6446 Ceasar

I can help get the parts you need.

So by converting to carbs would I be eliminating ALL these sensors and such? Air inlet, O2s, could easily do the canni and SAS. Would the ECU stay (to control the other bike electronics like the dash, ABS, etc)? I guess my main question is: Would converting to carbs simplify the entire bike-system, or will I be chasing my tail by adding more PITA factor than it's worth by attempting an organ transplant?

Simple is good. As I grow as a motorcyclist this idea is becoming more prominent. Convince me.
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:58 AM   #144
Katoom119
Mmmm....Orange Kool-aid
 
Katoom119's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Oddometer: 1,755
Stick with it man. If you can get it out of limp mode I think all your problems will be solved.

I'd call a good KTM dealer that deals with LC8's specifically and just ask them what will make the ECU put the bike in a limp mode. Then I'd ask how to check those. Once this is done, just run down the list until you've found the fault.

If it's the Air Inlet Sensor that originally was throwing the code, replace it. Is it expensive? Don't know. But I do know that for the fuel mileage you're getting there is a sensor that's gone bad. Even if it's a few hundred dollars, it's still cheaper than carbs.
__________________
Those who dance are considered crazy by those who do not hear the music.
I am not the same having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world. - Radmacher

5 Cylinders vs. Moab..........My East Tennessee.........Internships may go to Hell and I will go to Alaska
Katoom119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:06 AM   #145
KTMADV
Hammer Down
 
KTMADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Willows Ca
Oddometer: 163
Yes it would eliminate all the sensors. Your new ecu will run your dash.Your abs will still work fine on and off.

Life is much better for me after I put the carbs on.

In the long run you will save money on parts plus better fuel mileage.

Give me a call and we can talk about it.
__________________
Ceasar Vasquez
KTMADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:47 PM   #146
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,724
Fuel pump going south?

When my fp expired, it would starve the engine from time to time, especially when the bike run hot. Falling to its face was the effect, making the bike unrideable. If you need to experiment, I ensure you, you can use even a 3.0bar chinese fp from a car, transformed to suit. I am running one with no problems for 8 months or so. Cutting the aluminum extrusions to fit and the plastic connection protections is all is needed. Doesn't seat perfectly but seals where it is essential:

http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...=461827&page=8

The cost of a chinese fp unit goes for 48 over here. I guess you could get it at $40 at your side of the pond.
I believe the pressure regulator is very unlikely to malfunction. I cannot see dirt sitting there.
Cheers
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014