ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 10:02 PM   #31
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADVMax View Post
I got two words for you - carburetors.
Isn't that one word? Believe me, I've thought it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katoom119 View Post
Nah. It can be fixed. Before he goes to carbs I'll drive down to Texas myself, pick up the bike, and haul it over here to Wheeler to let him work his magic.


What can I say? Band geeks have to stick together.
Ya man! Brothers! We'll get it sorted eventually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADVMax View Post
I hear ya. We've about decided that if we're going to fool with injetion we're going to have to put our own system together to make it work the way we want it to. Mileage will not be a result.
That's fine, performance should always be first! But wasting fuel for no benefit is, well, wasteful! Not cool.

Who is "we" BTW? Are you cooking up something interesting?
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:05 PM   #32
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,070
I suppose I'm gong to reassemble again and hook up to TuneECU and have a go with the suggestions here, see what happens.

Still seems that the committee is split on "S" Hose VS. Bolts on the intakes... Hmmm. Kinda gotta decide that before I put the airbox back on.
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 05:40 AM   #33
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by viola-tor View Post
I suppose I'm gong to reassemble again and hook up to TuneECU and have a go with the suggestions here, see what happens.

Still seems that the committee is split on "S" Hose VS. Bolts on the intakes... Hmmm. Kinda gotta decide that before I put the airbox back on.
I know you said the S hose is open, but does it leak air (I know this is highly unlikely)?
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:42 AM   #34
MrLebowski
Gnarly Adventurer
 
MrLebowski's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Lander, Wyoming
Oddometer: 158
I'll add to the Hose debate... Mine is in "S" configuration (injected bike), works fine. Doesn't seem to effect my mileage, I routinely get mid-high 40's with my setup.
MrLebowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 09:55 AM   #35
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,709
You can always pinch the "S" hose underneath the air filter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by viola-tor View Post
Still seems that the committee is split on "S" Hose VS. Bolts on the intakes... Hmmm. Kinda gotta decide that before I put the airbox back on.
You can leave the "S" hose on and pinch it or nick it from the side, under the airfilter with a tie wrap or a wire, just to see what is happening. Leave the left tank out.
Cheers.
__________________
There is always a reason!!
Fuel filters Fuel pump
Aluminum base plate for ITG foam air filter
Clutch master cylinder resleeving
Out of office 25 till 4th August
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:11 PM   #36
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,070
Bike is back together, charging batt now.

Looks like the O2 sensors are off (unchecked) in my current Akro map. Should I try turning them on?

TPS - how do I go about calibrating/testing this? The manual isn't very clear, it says "no, can't test TPS" and then goes on to mention how to do it. I can't tell if engine is supposed to be on, off, or what... I see the "TPS" box in the lower right border of the window, do I manipulate it from there? Please give me very specific instructions.
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:46 PM   #37
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,128
It's the tps that you are trying to adjust, right? Not the throttle cable adjustment function.

I'm just trying to be clear.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:57 PM   #38
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,376
HIghly recommend that you change nothing since the mechanical check and go give it another test. Change too much and you'll never know what worked or didn't....

S
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:58 PM   #39
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
It's the tps that you are trying to adjust, right? Not the throttle cable adjustment function.

I'm just trying to be clear.
Yes, correct. My throttle cable is adjusted properly, I want to calibrate/reset the TPS if possible to eliminate that as a factor contributing to my poor fuel consumption.
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 03:59 PM   #40
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycatdad View Post
HIghly recommend that you change nothing since the mechanical check and go give it another test. Change too much and you'll never know what worked or didn't....

S
Okay, you're right, worth a shot (even though I didn't change anything, just took it apart and put it back together...)
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:01 PM   #41
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycatdad View Post
HIghly recommend that you change nothing since the mechanical check and go give it another test. Change too much and you'll never know what worked or didn't....

S
+1 except if you have your right tank off and/or air box opened
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:01 PM   #42
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by viola-tor View Post
Okay, you're right, worth a shot (even though I didn't change anything, just took it apart and put it back together...)
Strange hearing you resist the idea of a ride.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:04 PM   #43
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by viola-tor View Post
Yes, correct. My throttle cable is adjusted properly, I want to calibrate/reset the TPS if possible to eliminate that as a factor contributing to my poor fuel consumption.
Got it. But the throttle slack sometimes has an impact of the ISC. That why there is a function to retract it to adjust the slack

The tps adjustments are done on a warm engine. In the off position. After a TBs adjustment preferably. It's easier to do when your airbox is of the bike otherwise you'll need to drill it (easy way to accept the tps). And the value that you are aiming for is 0.60v
What do you currently have?
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 08:04 PM   #44
viola-tor OP
Needs to ride!
 
viola-tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Rockies. Freakin' Rockies.
Oddometer: 2,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
Got it. But the throttle slack sometimes has an impact of the ISC. That why there is a function to retract it to adjust the slack

The tps adjustments are done on a warm engine. In the off position. After a TBs adjustment preferably. It's easier to do when your airbox is of the bike otherwise you'll need to drill it (easy way to accept the tps). And the value that you are aiming for is 0.60v
What do you currently have?
Thank you for your patience as I stumble through this.

So then I should warm the engine, plug it in, do a TB adjustment, then a TPS adjustment? Any special instructions for TB and TPS?

I'm confused, is the TPS adjustment a manual/mechanical adjustment? Why do I need to be physically in the airbox if my throttle cable is properly adjusted?


My throttle cable tension/slack looks good, just a little bit of give at full close. Am I supposed to adjust it with a computer aid somehow? I really am scratching me head, it's a couple simple little nuts...
viola-tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 08:32 PM   #45
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,376
Yes. The computer sets the isc servo at a specfic starting place independent of your cable slack.

Under the TESTS tab, under the test&adjust window, use the "adjust throttle cable" button. This zeros the ISC servo so that you are actually adjusting what you think you are adjusting.

Under "tasks" on the tuneecu site: http://www.tuneecu.com/TuneECU_En/tasks.html

"Adjusting the throttle cable - only KTM
The idle speed control stepper motor will be completely retracted and the throttle valves completely closed.
Switch the ignition switch off, WITHOUT exiting or disconnecting the software, and adjust the throttle cable clearance."


Hope this helps.

Steve
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014