ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 08:22 AM   #271
SteveO
Huh???
 
SteveO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Oddometer: 1,164
factory floor tanks

Folks,

I can't stress enough that the gas tanks should be cleaned before use, as the pictures above show, there is a load of crap that will clog the fuel filter....

When I got my 2012 EXC, I started it once, just to make sure it would start, then shut it down and trailered it back to my house.

I used "Goof-off" to rinse out the tank three times.
I used premium gas to then rinse the tank out an additional three times.

All of this was done to ensure the filter (at that time the 10 micron filter) stayed clean.

I never, I repeat NEVER, had an issue with crap clogging up the 10 micron filter.

It pays to take the extra time and clean the innards before taking even the 1 hour breakin ride.....
__________________
.................................................. ....................................
NMOHVA.ORG - Help to keep your trails open!

Life is a mist in the wind, here today and gone tomorrow; know who you are and where you are going after you pass through death's door.
SteveO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:10 AM   #272
The Wolf
Gnarly Adventurer
 
The Wolf's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Oddometer: 248
Ok so i have a new question for the adv crew regarding the mapswitch. there seems to bea lot of confusion about this so im hoping someone will clarify for me.

For my 2013 500 xcw:

do i need to have it remapped in order to use the mapswitch?

Does the xcw already have an unrestricted map and is ready to use the map switch?

Has anybody seen the map on tuneECU or have the map and would be willing to upload to tuneECU?





im california and ive ran out of resources to aquire clear information on this subject. Thanks much CHEERS
The Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 11:00 AM   #273
The Wolf
Gnarly Adventurer
 
The Wolf's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Oddometer: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodzrider View Post
That came out of the stock tank. This is right off the showroom floor!

Hadn't even ridden the bike yet. I heard of others having clogged filters/injector right from the git-go, so I decided to flush the tank right away. Where I ride, it would be a bitch to push out of the woods.
after just now flushing my tank, i agree that if youve bought a new ktm it is a MUST that you flush the tank before riding. i found not only plastc shaving but also black fibers of some sort. thats pretty fucked that these bikes are being sold at a premium price and stuff like this hasnt been taken care of.

after you flushed the tank, were you able to get the fuel filter? im a noob to dirt bike and i dont really want to fuck with pull things apart if its not needed.
The Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 06:46 PM   #274
mtnseeker1
dirty me
 
mtnseeker1's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: SW Utah
Oddometer: 37
Larger Tank

I would like to know just how hard the choke is to reach with the larger tanks like the 5+ gln?
I have the 2012 xc-w and I amy have missed this along the thread.

I got turned around on the throttle response modds as well.
If I just plain missed it can someone guide my dumb ass back to what worked?
I have reset it from the 1/4 " I'm guessing to zero at that was a nightmare so worked it back to about 1/16/ to maybe 1/8" and it flow much better while on the trail standing.

Total noob but love this bike.
She gets it when neede and yet pluggs along in the tight narley stuff as long as I don't get that YZ attitude .
__________________
Hogs suck and pigs rule.

mtnseeker1 screwed with this post 12-15-2012 at 07:00 PM
mtnseeker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:57 PM   #275
c.vestal
Rally On
 
c.vestal's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: COS
Oddometer: 4,828
'12 = FI = No choke

On another note, choke is easy to reach with a 6 gallon on the 08-11 KTMs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnseeker1 View Post
I would like to know just how hard the choke is to reach with the larger tanks like the 5+ gln?
I have the 2012 xc-w and I amy have missed this along the thread.

I got turned around on the throttle response modds as well.
If I just plain missed it can someone guide my dumb ass back to what worked?
I have reset it from the 1/4 " I'm guessing to zero at that was a nightmare so worked it back to about 1/16/ to maybe 1/8" and it flow much better while on the trail standing.

Total noob but love this bike.
She gets it when neede and yet pluggs along in the tight narley stuff as long as I don't get that YZ attitude .
c.vestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:18 PM   #276
crankshaft
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 13,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by c.vestal View Post
'12 = FI = No choke

On another note, choke is easy to reach with a 6 gallon on the 08-11 KTMs.
So, the idle adjustment screw on the left hand side isn't actually a fast idle, helping with cold engine starts? You might want to check out page 21 of the manual.

Quote:
The idle adjustment screw has two functions.
Turning it adjusts the idle speed
Pulling it out all the way raises the idle speed during a cold start
I've used it many times on my berg for ice riding and it does the trick.
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:49 PM   #277
toddler
Unpronouncible
 
toddler's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Pinewood Springs, CO(between Lyons and Estes Park)
Oddometer: 2,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnseeker1 View Post
I would like to know just how hard the choke is to reach with the larger tanks like the 5+ gln?
I have the 5.3g on my 12 500 and it takes a long finger to reach the fast idle and pull it out, but it can be done. Takes some practice. Nothing that should keep you from getting the bigger tank. Only if it is below 40F do I need to use the fast idle.
toddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:49 PM   #278
Datan556
Adventurer
 
Datan556's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Muscat, Oman
Oddometer: 97
mate how did you get these pictures up on the thread? and what camera are you using...my god its crystal clear, what is this sorcery?
__________________
Suffering is caused by desire, A. Sh.
Datan556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:16 PM   #279
c.vestal
Rally On
 
c.vestal's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: COS
Oddometer: 4,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by crankshaft View Post
So, the idle adjustment screw on the left hand side isn't actually a fast idle, helping with cold engine starts? You might want to check out page 21 of the manual.

I've used it many times on my berg for ice riding and it does the trick.
whoops, I stand corrected. better read that manual again
c.vestal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:43 AM   #280
crankshaft
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 13,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by c.vestal View Post
whoops, I stand corrected. better read that manual again
My response sounded a bit cunty, sorry about that. I was on the iPad and tend to be brief and to the point
__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:10 AM   #281
woodzrider
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Choctaw, Okla., anywhere I happen to be
Oddometer: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datan556 View Post
mate how did you get these pictures up on the thread? and what camera are you using...my god its crystal clear, what is this sorcery?
If you are referring to my funnel pic, I used a Nikon D60 with a standard lens. Then I downloaded to my photobucket acct then copy and pasted to this forum. That's it! I'm no camera or computer whiz by any stretch-just got lucky for the most part. Maybe thats why the pic is so large too.(lack of skill)....
__________________
Woodzrider AKA vetracer1
"If it can't kill ya-it's not a sport"......It ALMOST killed me tho.....
Check out my crash report:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=500314
Baja report http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641219
woodzrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 04:14 PM   #282
h2oplayer
Adventurer
 
h2oplayer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Gig Harbor
Oddometer: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddler View Post
Nope. Pump is not working
So what did you figure out with the pump not working?
__________________
Don - Gig Harbor, WA
GTR1400
CBR1100xx
LC4 six days

Some of my past rides
GSXR1000, FZ1, ZX-10, CBR1000F Hurricane
Sabre V65. CB1100F, CB900F, CB750F, CB750K
Kawasaki 750 H2 Triple, RD350 and RZ350
YZ250F, KDX200, Elsinore MT125
h2oplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:02 PM   #283
CamelBill
Ride It!
 
CamelBill's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: St. Chuck, Mizery
Oddometer: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABYSS View Post
I use a Golan inline it is a 10 Micron but large filter area. really nice. Thne I removed te one nearest the FI unit. Here is a link to pic of it on mine these are fantastic and eliminate the problem completely. the screen inside is cleanaabel so onthe trail you can clean it anywhere.

Is this the mini or the super mini, and what size are the fuel line inputs? By the pics it looks like a super mini, but is it 1/4 or 5/16 inch line? Thanks, and happy holidays to all!
__________________
Camel
KTM 1190R, 950S, 500XC-W
FJR, Wing
CO Single Track RR http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...0#post24875020
CamelBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 05:00 PM   #284
h2oplayer
Adventurer
 
h2oplayer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Gig Harbor
Oddometer: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamelBill View Post
Is this the mini or the super mini, and what size are the fuel line inputs? By the pics it looks like a super mini, but is it 1/4 or 5/16 inch line? Thanks, and happy holidays to all!
I put a call into goland. They told me the filter part number you need is 70-312G-A and it is 10 micron. They are closed until the 3rd.
__________________
Don - Gig Harbor, WA
GTR1400
CBR1100xx
LC4 six days

Some of my past rides
GSXR1000, FZ1, ZX-10, CBR1000F Hurricane
Sabre V65. CB1100F, CB900F, CB750F, CB750K
Kawasaki 750 H2 Triple, RD350 and RZ350
YZ250F, KDX200, Elsinore MT125
h2oplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:52 AM   #285
crankshaft
Guns are for pussies
 
crankshaft's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Burlingtron,VT
Oddometer: 13,974
Best snowmobile in the world

__________________
Just say'IN
crankshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014