ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Trip Planning
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2015, 08:20 AM   #1
ralph1464 OP
Adventurer
 
ralph1464's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Champaign IL
Oddometer: 11
Customs Duty at U.S. Port

Maybe somebody knowledgeable in customs issues can help:
I used my bike on an extended trip through Asia. It is U.S.-registered, has a U.S. Title and was purchased in the U.S. I am a U.S. citizen. Now, after a long nightmarish time waiting for the longshoremen getting their act together the bike is scheduled to arrive at the port in Long Beach, CA.
Here is the question:
The customs broker I am working with tells me that there will be customs duty for 'import" which doesn't make any sense to me, and which I will not pay.
Any help?
ralph1464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 08:27 AM   #2
Dan Diego
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph1464 View Post
The customs broker I am working with tells me that there will be customs duty for 'import" which doesn't make any sense to me, and which I will not pay.
Just to contextualize the statement: You won't be required to pay or you will just refuse to pay?
__________________
There are two rules for being successful in life.

Rule 1: Never tell others everything you know.

Triumph Rocket III Touring, KTM 990 ADV
Dan Diego is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 11:43 AM   #3
Pecha72
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Oddometer: 4,018
" customs duty for 'import" which doesn't make any sense to me "

does not make any sense to me either, if and when the bike is registered in the US, and now returns home.

I've had similar problems with customs in the EU.. They'll just assume, that every vehicle that arrives at a port, is an import. Be patient and explain, why you won't have to pay.
__________________
Countries ridden FIN SWE NOR DK EE LV LT POL SK HU RO BG GR IT AT DE CZ CH SMR LIE NL BE FR AND ES GBR LUX SI HR BIH SRB MK TR IR PAK IND TH KH LA MY ID AUS CR USA ZA LS SWZ MZ NA BW ZM ZW
Pecha72 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 02:12 PM   #4
Mark Manley
On my way
 
Mark Manley's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Back home in the UK
Oddometer: 697
To clear my bike when re-importing it to the UK I go to the customs office at the port of arrival with the registration document and any other paperwork relating to the bike, to myself to show who I am and shipping documents and they give me a release note with no money paid, I would presume the same in the States.
__________________
If it's in the Touratech catalogue then you don't need it

"You've got to think for yourselves! You're all individuals!"-Brian of Nazareth
Mark Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 07:50 PM   #5
Underboning
Studly Adventurer
 
Underboning's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Back in PDX again!
Oddometer: 721
We didn't have to pay any import duty when we flew our US registered bikes back to the US (LAX). I don't think your broker is correct. OTOH, the Customs agents at LAX were idiots, so good luck with them at Long Beach.
Underboning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015