ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
boxerbmws OP
boxerbmws
 
boxerbmws's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 13
Spotlights and handlebar switches

Hi folks - I'm mounting some new driving/fog lights and have been hunting for some decent handlebar switches. Anybody any pictures or sources for some form of readily available or home made? With thanks.
__________________
A Blind Woman, Two wheels and 25,000 Miles.

Amazon Reviews of 'Touching the World'

"There can only be one first and this is it."
boxerbmws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 09:41 AM   #2
Hicks
der Überluber
 
Hicks's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Prague, CZ
Oddometer: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxerbmws View Post
Hi folks - I'm mounting some new driving/fog lights and have been hunting for some decent handlebar switches. Anybody any pictures or sources for some form of readily available or home made? With thanks.
Touratech makes a panel + switch into the cockpit...

Maybe you could somewhat use a fog lights switch from 12GSA:

__________________
R1200GS 2013 LC, F800GS '08 (130 000+km)
.de + .at + .it + .sk + .pl + .hu + .li + .ch + .fr + .es + .p + .and + .lu + .be + .nl + .uk + .sco + .ork + .slo + .hr + .bih + .srb
Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 10:30 AM   #3
DesertStrom
Adventurer
 
DesertStrom's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Netherlands
Oddometer: 70
http://www.cyclenutz.com/Mini-Handle...tch_p_210.html
DesertStrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 10:36 AM   #4
MCMXCIVRS
Begining the Adventure
 
MCMXCIVRS's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Oddometer: 1,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hicks View Post
Maybe you could somewhat use a fog lights switch from 12GSA:

That's what I used. Very tidy install with no fabricating required and it looks factory beacause, well, it is. Not cheap though.

Available as a kit here, or you could just go to the dealer and order the pieces individually.
__________________
Ed

2009 BMW F800GS, 2008 BMW K1200GT
MCMXCIVRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 10:55 AM   #5
Hicks
der Überluber
 
Hicks's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Prague, CZ
Oddometer: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCMXCIVRS View Post
That's what I used. Very tidy install with no fabricating required and it looks factory beacause, well, it is. Not cheap though.

Available as a kit here, or you could just go to the dealer and order the pieces individually.
+1

I'd not survive non-bmw, non-RAM, non-Touratech or non-Garmin thing on my handlebars.. so I can perfectly understand that.
__________________
R1200GS 2013 LC, F800GS '08 (130 000+km)
.de + .at + .it + .sk + .pl + .hu + .li + .ch + .fr + .es + .p + .and + .lu + .be + .nl + .uk + .sco + .ork + .slo + .hr + .bih + .srb
Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 06:36 AM   #6
JRWooden
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The great state of confusion
Oddometer: 4,111
Two more options here:


http://trailtech.net/switches.html

http://www.highwaydirtbikes.com/HDB_Shop/
JRWooden is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 06:45 AM   #7
WoodWorks
House Ape
 
WoodWorks's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Ashland, OR, USA
Oddometer: 2,203
I know that this is not what you're asking for, but have you considered not using any switches at all? I slaved my flood to the ignition and the spot to the high beam switch, and it just works and relieves me of the annoyance of switches (and forgetting to use them).
__________________
David

I'm tryin' ta think, but nuttin' happens!
--Curly
WoodWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 08:06 AM   #8
Dieselboy
Journey not Destination
 
Dieselboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Port of the Gasparilla
Oddometer: 1,122
AUTOSWITCH:
http://www.sportouring.com/gallery.p...ngeChoosen=640

Eastern Beaver:
http://easternbeaver.com/Main/Elec__.../switches.html
__________________
Dieselboy
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Adventure Continues
Dieselboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 04:02 PM   #9
outrunner
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 45
This is the one I use.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Motorbike-...item231bf2a320



Andy.
outrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 04:35 PM   #10
Lost-n-Lovin-It
Lurker
 
Lost-n-Lovin-It's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: N.Idaho, When the snow melts its amazing!
Oddometer: 10
I put some Denali D2's on, and love them. They came with a switch that I put on top of my clutch lever mounting assembly (not sure what it's actually called). It works great, sits out of the way, is protected by my hand guards and can be easily turned on/off without taking my hands off the grips. Twisted Throttle sells the wiring harness with the switch I used for around $50.



Lost-n-Lovin-It is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 10:41 PM   #11
Bucko
In a parallel world
 
Bucko's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: South Coast, CA
Oddometer: 808
I'm using one of the basic ($19.95) Trailtech switches. It works fine, but isn't the most attractive thing on my handlebar.
Bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014