User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-11-2012, 11:02 AM   #1
Donkey OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 785
To clip on or not to clip on...?

Hey guys I'm new to old's cool and recently picked up a R80/7 that I'm in the process of stripping and rebuilding with a friends help. I have been going back and forth trying to decide if I want clip ons or not and looking for some feedback and advice. I believe I'll need rearsets if I go clip on but wondering if just a a nice low bar would do the trick. I'll have a cafe seat with s/s short fenders if that helps with the visual. I'm using barend signals and a simple round tailight.

I'm an old's cool n00b but not an adv n00b so I know enough to know that we like pics. Here's the bike after I cleaned it up a bit and put the new/used tank on for looks

2010 Ducati Monster 1100S abs
2012 Ducati Hypermotard 1100 Evo SP Corsa
Donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:07 AM   #2
Biebs
BMW Airhead

Oddometer: 471
Wicked Dirt bike handle bars

Do not over look the dirt bike handle bars - BMW GS handle bars are kinda wide but regular dirt bike handle bars might fit your needs.

Biebs screwed with this post 04-11-2012 at 11:20 AM
Biebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:13 AM   #3
mykill
odd

Oddometer: 1,158
How fit are you? Plan to ride far? Clip-ons put a lot of weight on your wrists and can get tiring. They do make you one with the bike and are great in the twisties, it is a committed riding position and best with rear sets. S or Euro bars are a good compromise and work well with or without rear sets.