User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-17-2012, 06:08 PM   #1
Buster714 OP
VP of crash testing

Oddometer: 631
Thumb SOLO8GS - Buster's F800GS Build Thread

Ive watched some friends start their own bike threads and it looks like fun so here we go Please keep in mind, Im not a mechanic and any advice or techniques posted here are my own cockeyed inventions/processes. I don't want to discourage anyone from bolting a skid plate on their bike, but if you'll likely drop the bike on yourself in the process, please utilize a professional mechanic. If you'd like more information on myself and Solo Moto Parts, read here.

All are welcome. I just ask that you please refrain from posting product-related items from other vendors or stores.

All of the parts and gear I'll be sharing here can be found at SoloMotoParts.com.

SO IT BEGINS... I dedicated my R6 exclusively to track use so I was going crazy not having a bike on the street. I did some research and decided to buy a 2010 F800GS. Here she is straight from the showroom floor...

I started my adjustments and additions from there...

Pulled off the plastics for paint. I loved the placement of the Orange before with reference to the Black so I just replaced the Orange with Dark Gray and called it a day. Added the SW Motech skid plate. I liked the notch in the side leaving room to pop off the drain plug for an oil change and I knew it would pair nicely with SW Motech's crash bars. The skid plate was powder coated Black and bolted on.

After paint...

Here's a quick comparison between the SW Motech Skid Plate for 800gs 08+ and the stock protection...