ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 04:44 AM   #1
bmac OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 120
Super Tenere problem, kind of... (traffic light vehicle sensor inquiry)

I have been reading numerous reports on the S10 and the many happy owners but I am having a problem on the bike that caught me by surprise.

In Wisconsin we have a lot of traffic lights in which the main roads stay green unless the sensors detect an oncoming vehicle from the less traveled road. The S10 seems to have a lot of trouble triggering these lights. I have only had the bike for about a month but I have already had to go through more red lights than I have in the last 10 years. Whenever I pull up to one of these signals I now assume that it will not trigger the light and I will have to go to plan B.

Has anyone else noticed the same thing?
__________________
2012 Yamaha Super Tenere
2007 Aprilia Tuono
bmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:51 AM   #2
GrahamD
Beastly Adventurer
 
GrahamD's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Blue Mnts Ozstralia
Oddometer: 4,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmac View Post
I have been reading numerous reports on the S10 and the many happy owners but I am having a problem on the bike that caught me by surprise.

In Wisconsin we have a lot of traffic lights in which the main roads stay green unless the sensors detect an oncoming vehicle from the less traveled road. The S10 seems to have a lot of trouble triggering these lights. I have only had the bike for about a month but I have already had to go through more red lights than I have in the last 10 years. Whenever I pull up to one of these signals I now assume that it will not trigger the light and I will have to go to plan B.

Has anyone else noticed the same thing?
No. Never. In fact it it is better than the Strom in that regard. I always thought it was the steel frame that may have helped.

Maybe you were inadvertently shipped the carbon fibre model.
Have you noticed Ducati's seem a bit slow around your area?
__________________
"It's better to ride a boring bike than push an interesting one" ... Canuman

"I just may as well admit that my other bikes are toast. I don't ride them. Plain and simple. I didn't want this. It wasn't the plan." - snakebitten

GrahamD screwed with this post 04-23-2012 at 07:07 AM
GrahamD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:10 AM   #3
soldierguy
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: California, sometimes the coast, sometimes Tahoe
Oddometer: 423
I don't have an S10. But I've noticed this on every bike I've ridden.

If I'm the only one pulling up to a light, I make it a habit of stopping right on the sensor and rolling a tire back and forth over it repeatedly. That always works for me, and it keeps me from having to run a red light. If I don't do that, I can count on growing old before the light turns green.
__________________
soldierguy

'13 Wee-Strom, hacked, re-geared, Ohlins suspension
My Wee-Strom Hack
'14 KLR...I love this thing!
soldierguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:16 AM   #4
Firefight911
Studly Adventurer
 
Firefight911's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Folsom, CA
Oddometer: 997
Never had a problem with mine or any other bike for that matter.

Always pull up to where you are over the loop sensor wire. It is a magnetic type sensor so get as much bike over the line as possible.


---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?w1tqbw
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ride Safe, Ride Often, RIDE!!!!
Firefight911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:29 AM   #5
Voluhzia
iExplorer
 
Voluhzia's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Cary, North Carolina
Oddometer: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefight911 View Post
...so get as much bike over the line as possible...
Yep, just lower the bike on it's side, it's an S10, it must rest...
__________________
2012 Triumph Tiger Explorer

http://novascotiaexplorer.blogspot.com/
Voluhzia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:40 AM   #6
precarious
Studly Adventurer
 
precarious's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Oddometer: 515
There are magnets available to try to allay these problems. Maybe try one of them?
precarious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:04 AM   #7
SkiFastBadly
A beer? Yes, please
 
SkiFastBadly's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA
Oddometer: 1,500
I get almost random results with these things. Doesn't seem to matter if I'm on my Harley which is all steel or my Buell which is more plastic and aluminum. Even the HD doesn't have the amount of magnetic material that a small car has, so it probably depends on the individual sensor. Not much one can do except rehearse the "officer, when I took MSF training, I was informed that after one light cycle I was allowed to proceed" speech. Never been pulled over yet. But then, never went through a red in front of a cop yet either.
__________________
The crows seemed to be calling his name, thought Caw.

2008 Buell Ulysses
2008 Triumph Scrambler
2004 HD Heritage Softail
SkiFastBadly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:12 AM   #8
ChR1s
Spherical Bastard
 
ChR1s's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Oddometer: 334
Not all demand-acuated traffic controls are triggered by an inductive loop. Some use cameras, or radar. I stop, I look, I go.
__________________
Chris
ChR1s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:26 AM   #9
211john
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Reno
Oddometer: 186
I noticed it too. It does seem to be harder to set off the light sensor than with other bikes. My other bikes have normal steel frames that pass under the engine. I assume that has something to do with it.
211john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:18 PM   #10
Sock Monkey
Corporate slave
 
Sock Monkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA, Earth
Oddometer: 1,728
Have the same problem w/ my Ducati, BMW, etc. There are two in-the-road sensor types. If you see cuts in the road surface, you want to put the engine over one of the cuts, NOT in the center of the cutout area. These are typically rectangular in shape. If you don't see cuts in the road surface, then you need to be right over where ever the bloody thing is, typically 1 bike length BACK from the "stop" line and in the center of the lane as this is where a car engine would be.

If you have lights that typically cause issues around where you live, contact the city and report it. They should send a crew out to adjust the sensitivity of the detector.

Good luck!

-SM
__________________
aka NoVector
Current: 2012 Moto Guzzi Stelvio NTX, 2008 Yamaha WR250R
Gone: Ducati Multistrada, Moto Guzzi Norge, BMW R1200GS, BMW F650 GS Dakar, KTM 520 EXC, Suzuki DRZ400E, and the list goes on.......
Sock Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:28 PM   #11
roadstar
Gnarly Adventurer
 
roadstar's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Lancaster PA
Oddometer: 360
Try putting your side stand down to touch the ground (worked for my 05 Concours) for some reason that bike would not trip a light.
__________________
IBA # 47424
2012 Concours (Black)
76 Honda GL1000 (red & naked)
roadstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:36 PM   #12
whisperquiet
Studly Adventurer
 
whisperquiet's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: 62298 in lovely corrupt/bankrupt Southern Illinois
Oddometer: 821
Move to Illinois..........it is now legal to run the red light that won't trip with your bike after a reasonable time in Illinois. Everything else is $%^&^% up, but you can run the light legally.
whisperquiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:38 PM   #13
Dirty Hippie
Somewhere in a canyon
 
Dirty Hippie's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadstar View Post
Try putting your side stand down to touch the ground (worked for my 05 Concours) for some reason that bike would not trip a light.
+1. Try dropping the side stand.
Dirty Hippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:46 PM   #14
bmac OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by whisperquiet View Post
Move to Illinois..........it is now legal to run the red light that won't trip with your bike after a reasonable time in Illinois. Everything else is $%^&^% up, but you can run the light legally.
That is now true in Wisconsin as well. The statute is 45 seconds and if the light has not turned you can proceed when it is safe to do so.

The reason for the post is that the S10 is not triggering lights that were triggered when I was riding the FJR. Perhaps slightly less mass and higher ground clearance is the reason for the difference.
__________________
2012 Yamaha Super Tenere
2007 Aprilia Tuono
bmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 03:36 PM   #15
roadstar
Gnarly Adventurer
 
roadstar's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Lancaster PA
Oddometer: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmac View Post
That is now true in Wisconsin as well. The statute is 45 seconds and if the light has not turned you can proceed when it is safe to do so.

The reason for the post is that the S10 is not triggering lights that were triggered when I was riding the FJR. Perhaps slightly less mass and higher ground clearance is the reason for the difference.
start hitting all the buffets & build up some mass it will also lower the bike ,worked for me
__________________
IBA # 47424
2012 Concours (Black)
76 Honda GL1000 (red & naked)
roadstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014