ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-04-2012, 07:29 AM   #16
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimzx1000r View Post
I have to emphasize routes act like tracks when built in google earth and converted to route.gpx files for the garmin. I typically build and load all routes i need for a trip. If you open the route I posted you can get the idea how i use waypoints to direct turns. It will not recalculate if you leave the route because like I said it runs like a track. I always use routes and i hear all the time that routes don't work as well as tracks but if you look at my route files they do not run like traditional routes! This would work I believe but you have to be comfortable with what you get and how it works. I am with mine and just pointing out the things I have done with it if it helps you at all. Cheers mate!
I only really know about my 60CX, but I suspect that the reason your routes act like tracks is that you have chosen the "do not follow road" option or that you do not have a road routable map set loaded or maybe the unit does not recognize the routes as being possibly road following routes.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 07:31 AM   #17
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 15,391
First, I agree with Countdown. Get a GPS that will give you full track abilities for your purposes. However there is a workaround.

Convert your routes to "Direct Routes" and it will work remarkably well. You are still limited to 200 via points but I have found this to be the best work around for my 550. I currently use a 276c (soon to be a Montana) as my primary gpsr but the 550 is my back up.

Using direct routes gives you a "track" like line to follow. This effectively negates the unit from re-calculating the route if you miss a turn. You can add waypoints as you need them for turns etc.

See my my post HERE. The steps seem cumbersome but after you do it once it goes quickly and adds the reliability I wanted.

TRZ Charlie screwed with this post 05-04-2012 at 07:38 AM
TRZ Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:30 AM   #18
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimzx1000r View Post
I have to emphasize routes act like tracks when built in google earth and converted to route.gpx files for the garmin.
Not sure this is correct as routes and tracks are different by nature but that aside, in the example you posted the 153 mile route contains 191 waypoints. That is why it follows the roads fairly well but even then at the start the first leg crosses the Mississippi River twice at locations where there is no bridge!

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 07:51 PM   #19
kimzx1000r
Studly Adventurer
 
kimzx1000r's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Oddometer: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnut View Post
Not sure this is correct as routes and tracks are different by nature but that aside, in the example you posted the 153 mile route contains 191 waypoints. That is why it follows the roads fairly well but even then at the start the first leg crosses the Mississippi River twice at locations where there is no bridge!

Bruce
Yes it appears as though it does cross the river but that is more like if you follow a route. I build these like a track where you get straight lines between way points. In this example I have, I know that when the lines leave the road way I am not to leave the road I am on until I hit another waypoint indicating a turn or confirming to continue on. At the begining you see this in my example, my last way point at Navoo has me on the river road, you follow that road to the next way point which is a straight line (crossing the river to waypoint) from there and you see I never leave that road. That next way point is confirming I am on the right road and following that one marks a turn. The straight line does not mean to cross the river it means to follow the road I am on at my last way point until I arrive at another waypoint. (Make sense? Think track.) At the end of the route it has me crossing the river again with no bridge. That is a ferry crossing. Look on google earth and you can see the ferry in the river. I say the route acts like a track because it is only straight lines between waypoints. Where I place them sometimes makes it seem like you are following a route. I would bet that most anyone could follow my routes with ease. But the gps will not announce turns because it is not following a road route and it will not re-route if you leave the route. I know weird because it is called a route and saved as a route.gpx and loads like a route but performs in the GPS like a track.

I use google earth to map out the route (allows me to see terrain and things around the area)and save it. Then at gpsies.com do the convert to route.gpx. Comes out just like the example I posted which is part of an 8 day ride I will be doing in two weeks. I will be riding some levee roads and back roads through Illinois. I know boring right! :) Riding and camping is never boring! The Shawnee will be a beautiful area.
kimzx1000r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:08 PM   #20
kimzx1000r
Studly Adventurer
 
kimzx1000r's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Oddometer: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
I only really know about my 60CX, but I suspect that the reason your routes act like tracks is that you have chosen the "do not follow road" option or that you do not have a road routable map set loaded or maybe the unit does not recognize the routes as being possibly road following routes.
I believe it is strictly a product of the process. When I build the path in Google Earth, I am using points to establish turns and confirming points. When it is saved and converted it is just a path of connecting points and they just so happen to align with the road allot! :) When converted and saved as route.gpx the gps does not see it as a road calculated route. So it displays the data and treats it like a track. Seems I have found a way to make a track and load it as a route. I know weird but it works like a charm and anyone could follow it as long as you just stay on the road and only turn when it is indicated. All turns line up with the roads perfectly and so it makes it really easy to follow.
kimzx1000r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:18 PM   #21
BadDogMax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 157
Frustrated with BaseCamp Mac

I have been frustrated by the Mac version of Basecamp. You can make routes in Basecamp, or import from Google maps/Earth, but whether they will transfer to the 500 or not is totally random.

I agree with what the Garmin employee said, you are best off creating waypoints in Basecamp/Google and then stringing them together in the device. This would be a drag for any long trip.

If there is a way to transfer routes reliably I'd like to know! I use my iPhone with MotionX more than I do the Nuvi because it works correctly.

Once on bike, the Garmin is awesome. I like the display, the RAM mount is perfect, and you can operate it with gloves.

__________________
2007 Suzuki DR650

BadDogMax screwed with this post 05-04-2012 at 08:20 PM Reason: Link fail
BadDogMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:27 PM   #22
biker128pedal
Super Lurker
 
biker128pedal's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Eastern, VA
Oddometer: 2,904
I was able to convert a track to a map overlay and uploaded it to my N500 by way of the map install software. It worked but too many steps. Then the map overlay's are installed in Basecamp. The procedures are in another thread. See DR Rocks postings.

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=782653
__________________


Wee Strommin along.

biker128pedal screwed with this post 05-04-2012 at 08:32 PM
biker128pedal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 06:27 AM   #23
Tudelum48
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Pumpkin Ridge Ky.
Oddometer: 332
Countdown

I own (2) 76CSX units and a Nuvi 550. I mostly use Tracks. Several of us did ride a big portion of the TETS last year and I loaded both a route and tracks to my (2) 76CSX and ran them at the same time, one with only tracks showing one with the route running. I had to use alot of waypoints to get the Routes to perform like I wanted. 2 of the guys with me had my routes running on there non track capable gps. The other 4 ran tracks only.
I was really surprised at how well the Routes ran by using waypoints to navigate by but everytime we came to a section without a road as you will on the TAT the guys running routes took a back seat to the ones running tracks. It simply didnt work as well.
Now 2 of the guys running tracks had never used a gps at all. The 3rd guy had used one very little. I stayed in the back to watch the show and pick up any straglers that got misplaced. The 2 guys with no to little experiance using a gps were younger mind you but after an hour or so they understood it and led most of the time. Tracks are just that easy to deal with in my experiance with them.
I have tried using routes with my Nuvi by drawing it on mapsource and loading to the unit with little success when not using waypoints to navigate by.
I have ridden a big portion of the TAT and just for me wouldnt want the hassle of using routes.
Im with Jerry on the 76CSX units. With the exception of the small screen its my unit of choice.
I am looking at the Montana though but only because it runs True Tracks.
Listen to Countdown and you wont be in the western portion wondering which way to go.
My 2 cents
Tudelum48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:01 AM   #24
Hatley Rocket
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Hatley Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Hatley, WI
Oddometer: 311
My head is spinning.

I read through this thread and I am confused with all the talk of routes, tracks and waypoints. I would like to get a gps for cannontracks, I believe his tracks are all limited to less than 500 trackpoints. I currently have a RINO 120, and if I try to put a track onto that device, i am told my RINO is limited to 250 trackpoints per saved track. From what I read, the NUVI 500 can only hold 200 trackpoints per saved track? Am I catching on? Or is it different in that the track must be converted to a route for that device? I like the 60CSX, and I think it would work for what i wanted it to do, but I can't find one for less than $550.00. Am I looking in the wrong places? I thought they were more around $200 or so. I have a KLR, and a venture, so the NUVI 500 appeals to me as it would work perfect for the venture, I would just like to be able to use tracks too for off-highway riding on the KLR. I found the NUVI 500 for about $275, is that about right? It's waterproof, needs to be hardwired(or charged), and has a nice ram mount for it. I have the RINO 120 for hiking, so I think with those, as long as can track, I wouldn't need the 60csx. The Nuvi then acts like a car gps, with autorouting and has preloaded maps? Any help is appriciated.

Tyler
Hatley Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:32 AM   #25
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 9,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatley Rocket View Post
I like the 60CSX, and I think it would work for what i wanted it to do, but I can't find one for less than $550.00. Am I looking in the wrong places? I thought they were more around $200 or so
This only answers one part of your question, but some (Countdown especially) would argue that the 76CSx would be the better choice, and they can be found on sale right now for $209 at GPSCity The 76 is identical to the 60 except for the shape.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:35 AM   #26
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,364
If you are looking to make what you have work it is easy with MapSource/BaseCamp (and others) to take the 500 point tracks and filter down to 250. Sounds like loosing 1/2 the resolution but it's not because the software does an excellent job of removing only the least significant points. The 250 point track will be 80-90% as useful as the 500 point track.

The Nuvi 500/550 does not accept tracks. In the day a nice unit and worth $275 but that's more then it's worth today. Comes with CityNavigator.

$550 is criminal for the discontinued 60! Consider the GPSMAP 76Cx from West Marine ($150-170) which is the same unit in a better package. Also consider the Montana if in the budget. All 3 will require maps to be added.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:27 PM   #27
BadDogMax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatley Rocket View Post
I found the NUVI 500 for about $275, is that about right? It's waterproof, needs to be hardwired(or charged), and has a nice ram mount for it. I have the RINO 120 for hiking, so I think with those, as long as can track, I wouldn't need the 60csx. The Nuvi then acts like a car gps, with autorouting and has preloaded maps? Any help is appriciated.

Tyler
That's how I'm using my NUVI 500 because it has such a nice form factor for the bike. And I'm using my iPhone with MotionX for tracks.

But truthfully, this setup requires a ton of work on the computer before each trip, can be frustrating, and I would not do it again. My advice is to get a better do-it-all GPS that imports tracks from your favorite sources directly.
__________________
2007 Suzuki DR650
BadDogMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:18 PM   #28
Hatley Rocket
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Hatley Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Hatley, WI
Oddometer: 311
'round and 'round I go....

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadDogMax View Post
That's how I'm using my NUVI 500 because it has such a nice form factor for the bike. And I'm using my iPhone with MotionX for tracks.

But truthfully, this setup requires a ton of work on the computer before each trip, can be frustrating, and I would not do it again. My advice is to get a better do-it-all GPS that imports tracks from your favorite sources directly.
So is it the Iphone with motion X that requires a ton of work on the computer, or the garmin 500? Tell me more please about the Iphone with motionX.

If it is the Nuvi 500 that requires a ton of work on computer, what is it about it that requires so much work? Doesn't it autoroute, or is it the entering of tons of waypoints/routes?

On the GPS map 76cx, I think the only thing it would be useful for is tracklogs? It has no map on it from Garmin, so software would have to be added. The price is better than others. It is the same product as the 60csx, just different case? Is the 60 discontinued? Can't you guys make it cost less? Pull some strings or something?

T
Hatley Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:44 AM   #29
BadDogMax
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatley Rocket View Post
So is it the Iphone with motion X that requires a ton of work on the computer, or the garmin 500? Tell me more please about the Iphone with motionX.

If it is the Nuvi 500 that requires a ton of work on computer, what is it about it that requires so much work? Doesn't it autoroute, or is it the entering of tons of waypoints/routes?

On the GPS map 76cx, I think the only thing it would be useful for is tracklogs? It has no map on it from Garmin, so software would have to be added. The price is better than others. It is the same product as the 60csx, just different case? Is the 60 discontinued? Can't you guys make it cost less? Pull some strings or something?

T
1. MotionX works for tracks. You need a different app, MotionX Drive, for turn-by-turn directions. Most dual-sport adventures require both. The maps require cell signal, or you must plan ahead and create your trip then pre-download the maps while you have cell data or wifi. You need a handlebar mount and power for your iPhone, and maybe a waterproof case. $$$. You need to take it out of the mount whenever you leave the bike or want to use the phone. The iPhone is very difficult to use with gloves.

2. The Nuvi 500 comes loaded with some topo maps. If you've pre-loaded your destinations, the Nuvi can navigate you there. Or, it can get you home from just about anywhere. However, the touch screen is crude when compared the iPhone, scrolling to a distant point on the map takes forever with slow redraws, and it can be difficult to see the roads in hilly areas because of the elevation lines. A better solution than routing on the front panel is to pre-load the routes or waypoints in Basecamp and then upload them to the NUVI via USB. However, Basecamp only displays topo map info when the Nuvi is plugged in via USB so you'll need it plugged in the entire time you're planning. If you're used to Google maps or Earth, it seems very crude and slow.

Another solution that's been referenced above is to create your trip in Google Maps, and then export the Google file to disk, then convert the file using GPSVis or GPSBabel into a route file (I forget the exact procedure), then import the route into Basecamp, then upload this to the NUVI. Most of the time Basecamp will upload the route to the NUVI OK, but I've had some stubborn routes that refuse to show up.

The Nuvi 500 doesn't have bluetooth, so if you have bluetooth in your helmet for turn-by-turn directions you won't hear them. MotionX Drive works great for this while listening to iPhone tunes however.

--------------

If you want to ride with reckless abandon and then need a GPS to get you home or to the nearest gas station, even without cell service, then the NUVI 500 can do the job.

However if you want to follow other's tracks, or like to plan your routes maybe with a few alternates before you leave then you'll need mucho patience and/or need another GPS.

I am not an expert in this, others may have better advice... but for me if doing it over I'd get one awesome GPS or go iPhone-only.
__________________
2007 Suzuki DR650
BadDogMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 12:39 PM   #30
Hatley Rocket
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Hatley Rocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Location: Hatley, WI
Oddometer: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadDogMax View Post
1. MotionX works for tracks. You need a different app, MotionX Drive, for turn-by-turn directions. Most dual-sport adventures require both. The maps require cell signal, or you must plan ahead and create your trip then pre-download the maps while you have cell data or wifi. You need a handlebar mount and power for your iPhone, and maybe a waterproof case. $$$. You need to take it out of the mount whenever you leave the bike or want to use the phone. The iPhone is very difficult to use with gloves.

I am not an expert in this, others may have better advice... but for me if doing it over I'd get one awesome GPS or go iPhone-only.
Your advice is VERY helpful. I am going to get motionX. There are premade track mapsthat I can download with my iphone. I do have a ram handlebar mount for it, but not a waterproof case. Powering on the bike, I will have to get something squared away there. For now, I may stick with a $0.99 app and be set. I have a telenav gps app, and your right, its downright useless with gloves on.

Still looking into the 76csx, and is there another like the nuvi 500 that is waterproof for less? Otherwise, it seems like a good all arounder, for travelling for work, car and motorcycle.

T
Hatley Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014