User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-07-2012, 05:46 PM   #1
blake716 OP
nine toes

Oddometer: 11,697
MX Boots for big calves?

Okay, I could stand to lose a few more pounds, but even then, I have unusually large calves.
I'm about 260lbs (yeah I gained a few since I got married 7 years ago) But even when I was 190-195lbs and was racing enduro's, I had to adjust the buckles almost all the way out to fit over these cows.
I've been doing cardio and eating right for a few months now and dropped from 290lbs, all because I knew I'd be buying a bike and wanted to be in better shape.
The problem I have now is, I can't buckle my friggin new boots! I can make, er umm force, the buckles close without my riding pants on, but they won't buckle over my pants. It just ain't happening.

What are my options? ...besides keeping on losing weight.
Do they make boots for fat calf people?

I'm dropping the weight pretty good, but even at this pace it'll be a while before I can buckle my boots.

If anyone has any advice, I would appreciate it.

Let the fat jokes begin.
Old 05-07-2012, 05:53 PM   #2
Edwards
Gravel Eddie

Oddometer: 250
I am sure you have thought of this, but is there a Cycle Gear or a motorcycle shop that has a variety of boots you can try on? There has to be a boot out there for big guys.

Best of luck.
Edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 08:55 PM   #3
blake716 OP
nine toes

I did that, but the few bike shops we have locally don't have much of a selection.
The best thing I can think of is double up the cardio and get some over the boot pants.
Old 05-07-2012, 11:24 PM   #4
hardpackrider
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 150
I have large calves and my Gaerne sg12's have room to spare.. I think they'll still have room even w my knee guards tucked in..

via Tapatalk

Every man dies. Not every man really lives. William Wallace
I'm working on that Bill... it's why I'm here. hardpackrider