ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Pics, pics, pics...
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2014, 06:09 AM   #1381
wyowanderer
Wyoming Adventurer
 
wyowanderer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: 42.866610 -109.860986
Oddometer: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdgretz View Post
Look under the Image tab. Drop to Adjustments and you'll find Exposure along with a bunch of other options. You can change the exposure then save the image with a new name. Do this multiple times and you pretty much have the result of taking bracketed shots. Then take those bracketed shots and plug them into PhotoMatix.
jdg
jdretz,
Thanks for the reply. I am still having trouble navigating my way in x4 with your directions. Do you happen to have Photoshop x5 (latest version)? I just read that you can change exposure settings on x5 (I am ASSUMING this can't be done on the x4 version I have?). I have never liked the complexity of Photoshop. The little I messed around with Photomatix the other day I found it to be alot more user friendly.
wyowanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 12:27 PM   #1382
jdgretz
Looking for new places
 
jdgretz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Canoga Park - A great place to live work and shop
Oddometer: 935
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowanderer View Post
jdretz,
Thanks for the reply. I am still having trouble navigating my way in x4 with your directions. Do you happen to have Photoshop x5 (latest version)? I just read that you can change exposure settings on x5 (I am ASSUMING this can't be done on the x4 version I have?). I have never liked the complexity of Photoshop. The little I messed around with Photomatix the other day I found it to be alot more user friendly.
I have CS3, CS5 and CS6, which is the final stand alone version, and all of them have that same menu structure and allow you to change the Exposure settings.

Could it be that you have PhotoShop 4 not PhotoShop CS4? PS4 came out in 1996 while CS4 is 2008 and is Version 11.x If you're actually running the old PS4, you really, really, really need to upgrade to at least CS3 or get a copy of GIMP (free PhotoShop work alike). Take a look at Adobe Lightroom - much easier and more intuitive for photographers. You can do about 85%-90% or everything a photographer would do in PhotoShop. Unless you are big into masking and layers to change backgrounds, etc. Lightroom is the ticket.

Try this Adobe TV bit about exposure adjustment in CS4 http://tv.adobe.com/watch/getting-st...ting-exposure/

Hope that helps.

jdg
__________________
'07 Norge - the fast red one
'03 Honda Shadow 750 - Rocky
'99 Honda Helix - Little Zippy
'76 Honda CJ360T
jdgretz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 03:12 PM   #1383
JimRidesThis
Local celebrity
 
JimRidesThis's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Cumbria, UK
Oddometer: 236
Thumb

Quote:
Originally Posted by hakes View Post
Along the BRP
Truly excellent!
__________________
JimRidesThis

1995 R1100GS aka "Herr Flick" FOR SALE
1985 XL600R aka "Tamworth"
1992 TDM850 aka "The Motorcycle That Has Yet To Be Named" NEW
JimRidesThis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 03:22 PM   #1384
JimRidesThis
Local celebrity
 
JimRidesThis's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Cumbria, UK
Oddometer: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowanderer View Post
jdretz,
Thanks for the reply. I am still having trouble navigating my way in x4 with your directions. Do you happen to have Photoshop x5 (latest version)? I just read that you can change exposure settings on x5 (I am ASSUMING this can't be done on the x4 version I have?). I have never liked the complexity of Photoshop. The little I messed around with Photomatix the other day I found it to be alot more user friendly.
If you can't find Adjustment > Exposure on CS4 I've been experimenting with Adjustment > Levels, and adjusting the mid-tones up and down to get a number of different 'exposures'. Or you could try altering the colour balance, hue/saturation, or the channel mixer to get different 'exposures' instead. Not true HDR but Photomatix doesn't seem to mind
__________________
JimRidesThis

1995 R1100GS aka "Herr Flick" FOR SALE
1985 XL600R aka "Tamworth"
1992 TDM850 aka "The Motorcycle That Has Yet To Be Named" NEW
JimRidesThis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 03:36 PM   #1385
FakeName
Wile E Coyote SuperGenius
 
FakeName's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdgretz View Post
Do this multiple times and you pretty much have the result of taking bracketed shots.
I will have to respectfully and gently disagree with this statement.

Bracketing exposures in the camera will allow detail to be rendered on the sensor from the shadow areas (by over-exposing the highlights) and the highlights (by underexposing the shadows).

If the scene exceeds the ability to render both highlights and shadow with one exposure (a hard-lit scene, for example) all the post-production in the world won't put detail in where detail was not captured.

Does that make sense?

Further, there's no free lunch when jacking around with exposure, levels or (even better) curves. Each move on those sliders degrades the quality of the original image- noise becomes a factor.

A 3-stop exposure correction in post-production is most assuredly NOT (even pretty much) the same as a 3-stop, in-camera exposure bracket.

Shooting RAW will certainly help, but there are limits in RAW as well.

And now, I'll return to lurking.
__________________
ADVdiscount Motorcycle Product Photography


2011 White 990 Adv S
2014 500EXC Black
FakeName is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 09:50 AM   #1386
wyowanderer
Wyoming Adventurer
 
wyowanderer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: 42.866610 -109.860986
Oddometer: 91
1st Attempt At This

 photo HondaXr_zpsd6f979a5.jpg
Done with bracketing in +1 increments (5 shots).



 photo tiff2_zps8a89e5de.jpg
5 shots bracketed in +1 increments. Light was real flat.



 photo 20140219_122003_tonemapped_zpsf3de9ef3.jpg
Taken yesterday. Flat light. Point and Shoot Camera. No bracketing...sorry bout the no cycle in photo.



 photo 2013-07-10080838_tonemapped_zps35dc6539.jpg
Point and Shoot. No bracketing.


 photo P9230015_tonemapped_zpsf400bb14.jpg
Olympus C750UZ. No bracketing.


 photo P9300017_tonemapped_zpsc96f2ff3.jpg
Olympus C750UZ. No bracketing.

Hey, its a start! I've got a lot of learning to do. My photos don't even come close to alot of photos on this thread...I hope to get better though. In time
wyowanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 12:56 PM   #1387
wyowanderer
Wyoming Adventurer
 
wyowanderer's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: 42.866610 -109.860986
Oddometer: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdgretz View Post
Could it be that you have PhotoShop 4 not PhotoShop CS4? PS4 came out in 1996 while CS4 is 2008 and is Version 11.x If you're actually running the old PS4, you really, really, really need to upgrade to at least CS3 or get a copy of GIMP (free PhotoShop work alike). Take a look at Adobe Lightroom - much easier and more intuitive for photographers. You can do about 85%-90% or everything a photographer would do in PhotoShop. Unless you are big into masking and layers to change backgrounds, etc. Lightroom is the ticket.

Try this Adobe TV bit about exposure adjustment in CS4 http://tv.adobe.com/watch/getting-st...ting-exposure/

Hope that helps.

jdg
jdgretz,
I have Corel Paintshop Pro x5 at work....NOT Adobe Photoshop CS. That is the confusion. So I can't figure out how to adjust the exposure value in Paintshop. Sorry bout the mixup. I would imagine it can be done. That Paintshop Pro software seems to have everything (hence why it is so complicated and confusing for me). Sounds like Lightroom is perhaps the software for me. Thanks.
wyowanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 06:15 PM   #1388
TorontoBrit
TorontoBrit
 
TorontoBrit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Toronto,ON
Oddometer: 307
Flooded Bonneville Salt Flats

__________________
'04 BMW R1150GS Adventure
http://bmwgseh.blogspot.ca/
TorontoBrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 10:06 PM   #1389
jdgretz
Looking for new places
 
jdgretz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Canoga Park - A great place to live work and shop
Oddometer: 935
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowanderer View Post
jdgretz,
I have Corel Paintshop Pro x5 at work....NOT Adobe Photoshop CS. That is the confusion. So I can't figure out how to adjust the exposure value in Paintshop. Sorry bout the mixup. I would imagine it can be done. That Paintshop Pro software seems to have everything (hence why it is so complicated and confusing for me). Sounds like Lightroom is perhaps the software for me. Thanks.
Ah, well that explains why the Adobe menu picks don't work for you .

Can't help you with Paint Shop.

Yes, you'll really like LightRoom. Add to that the Topaz Labs filters/ad-ons and you'll have tools you never knew you needed.

Good luck,

jdg
__________________
'07 Norge - the fast red one
'03 Honda Shadow 750 - Rocky
'99 Honda Helix - Little Zippy
'76 Honda CJ360T
jdgretz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:11 AM   #1390
Mara Loochezarny
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Mara Loochezarny's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: KZ KG UZ TJ
Oddometer: 122
========

Kazakh stepp. Altyn Amel nature park . Guide of park on Izh Jupiter sidecar
__________________
http://silkoffroad.kz - Motorcycle tours and rent in Central Asia (Kazakhstan,Uzbekistan,Tajikistan,Kyrgyzstan,Turkmenistan,
Mara Loochezarny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 03:24 AM   #1391
Trane Francks
Studly Adventurer
 
Trane Francks's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Oddometer: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyowanderer View Post

Done with bracketing in +1 increments (5 shots).
I really like that.
Trane Francks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 01:28 PM   #1392
irishal
Adventurer
 
irishal's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: OKC, OK
Oddometer: 44
Along Rt66 today.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 DL650 ABS Adventure
OKC, OK
irishal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 07:23 AM   #1393
VietHorse
Beastly Adventurer
 
VietHorse's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Recalculating... recalculating.... HCMC-Vietnam :)
Oddometer: 1,258
VN Weekend ride - watching kite flying:


__________________

********************
Link to All about VietNam

********************
VietHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:02 AM   #1394
Three Dawg
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Three Dawg's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: The Highlands of Scotland
Oddometer: 493
Borrowed Hypermotard, New Zealand. Not true HDR, but close enough.

Three Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 09:52 PM   #1395
Shaggie
Unseen University
 
Shaggie's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,573
__________________
Shane

"We are not at home to Mr Reasonable" - Sam Vimes

NZ Touring pics:Brass Monkey 2009:Kiwi Sun:Tiki-touring: Daytrips in NZ
Shaggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014