ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-17-2012, 04:36 AM   #1
Steamy Moose OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Steamy Moose's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Taswegians
Oddometer: 131
Ram mount with Garmin 62s

I'm after a little info from anyone that has a ram mounted 62s.

I'm in the process of mounting my GPS to my bike and wondering does any one here have one mounted? if so, how secure is it? and how does it attach to the bottom of the GPS unit? From what i can see in the pictures it only appears to be a lip over the bottom of the unit. Is that right? or is there a tab that pops into where you would have a lanyard attached?

any info would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

Moose
Steamy Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:03 AM   #2
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
I use the RAM mount on my 62s.

Youtube is your friend: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n2byGkQ9W1g

Touratech sells a mount also:http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/2...-Series-Mounts

daryl
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:10 AM   #3
Steamy Moose OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Steamy Moose's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Taswegians
Oddometer: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlh62c View Post
I use the RAM mount on my 62s.

Youtube is your friend: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n2byGkQ9W1g

Touratech sells a mount also:http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/2...-Series-Mounts

daryl

Thanks for the link Daryl, exactly what I needed to see!

Do you have any vibration issues?
Steamy Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:51 AM   #4
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steamy Moose View Post
Thanks for the link Daryl, exactly what I needed to see!

Do you have any vibration issues?
I sent you a PM.

daryl
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 08:07 AM   #5
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,826
I use a Ram mount for my 60. One nice advantage is that you can swivel the unit around a little to get light onto the screen.

This seems counterintuitive. But the Ram mount is kind of cheaply made and if you have a bad fall the unit can pop out. I have found that having it pop out is better than having it hard mounted and breaking an expensive mount and/or the unit itself. If you break the mount you can get a new holder for about $7. I do loosely safety wire mine with the carrying strap so it doesn't go very far if it falls.

I don't know about the 62, but I have had problems twice with my 60 cutting out on me. I have fixed the problem by taking it apart and cleaning both the external and internal external power connectors and putting dielectric grease on the contacts. I also bend the tabs than connect the battery power to the main board and put some grease on them too. This fix seems to last for a couple of years.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 10:40 PM   #6
Steamy Moose OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Steamy Moose's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Taswegians
Oddometer: 131
Thanks for the info guys, ordered ram mount last night, is in transit as we speak!
Steamy Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 10:47 PM   #7
Steamy Moose OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Steamy Moose's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Taswegians
Oddometer: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
I use a Ram mount for my 60. One nice advantage is that you can swivel the unit around a little to get light onto the screen.

This seems counterintuitive. But the Ram mount is kind of cheaply made and if you have a bad fall the unit can pop out. I have found that having it pop out is better than having it hard mounted and breaking an expensive mount and/or the unit itself. If you break the mount you can get a new holder for about $7. I do loosely safety wire mine with the carrying strap so it doesn't go very far if it falls.

I don't know about the 62, but I have had problems twice with my 60 cutting out on me. I have fixed the problem by taking it apart and cleaning both the external and internal external power connectors and putting dielectric grease on the contacts. I also bend the tabs than connect the battery power to the main board and put some grease on them too. This fix seems to last for a couple of years.
I'd rather the unit pop out in a bad fall opposed to ramming it into the dirt and smashing it to bits. Do you run a short tether from the lanyard mount to the bike? Do you have a picture you could post of it on your bike?
Steamy Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 08:07 AM   #8
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,826
I just loop the strap around the mount near the handlebar a couple of times. If the unit pops out, it hangs 6-8 inches below the handlebars. I don't have a picture, but will try to get around to taking some when I get a chance.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 06:51 AM   #9
rammount
Ram Mount Support
 
rammount's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Seattle WA
Oddometer: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
I use a Ram mount .... If you break the mount you can get a new holder for about $7...
@wbbnm Just in case you did not know, all Ram Mounts have a lifetime warranty. For details see our Warranty Page

In addition if you are having problems with you device falling out under normal riding conditions please contact us with details as this should not be happening and we want to help solve the issue if it is. We do extensive in-house testing of all our products to make sure that your device stays where you put it. You can see a video from our vibration testing of a Ram Mount X-Grip here
__________________
Ram Mount websales@ram-mount.com
1-206-763-8361 / 1-800-497-7479
8410 Dallas Ave South
Seattle, WA 98108

rammount screwed with this post 05-22-2012 at 09:04 AM
rammount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 08:49 AM   #10
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steamy Moose View Post
I'd rather the unit pop out in a bad fall opposed to ramming it into the dirt and smashing it to bits. ?
Good engineering and seat belts in cars are also stupid!
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 12:21 PM   #11
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by rammount View Post
@wbbnm Just in case you did not know, all Ram Mounts have a lifetime warranty. For details see our Warranty Page

In addition if you are having problems with you device falling out under normal riding conditions please contact us with details as this should not be happening and we want to help solve the issue if it is. We do extensive in-house testing of all our products to make sure that your device stays where you put it. You can see a video from our vibration testing of a Ram Mount X-Grip here

I think I may have had my 60CX pop out once while riding an extremely rough section. The problem is that the rubberized area at the bottom of the GPS unit is wearing away and the unit is not seated quite properly in the cradle.

Sometimes I wrap a rubber band made from cutting an inner tube around it.

It has definitely popped out once or twice on bad crashes, but like I said I kind of see this as kind of a nice feature and not much of a problem.

I did break a cradle on a fall once and got a new one. Next time I will look into the warranty.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014