User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-23-2012, 11:40 PM   #1
Joevano OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 128
Gopro vs Contour question

Leaving in 2.5 weeks for Alaska and my wife surprises me with a Gopro Hero 2. Unknown to her is that I ordered a Contour today. So in 2 weeks I need to figure out which camera, best mount, and how to operate it.

Here are the facts:

I have no video editing experience, shot the kids with VHS years ago. Either camera will have good enough quality for me. I want easy to operate, imagine mounting it to my helmet which will be Nolan N102 or full face depending on which bike. For woods riding, I don't see having the GP sticking out from the side or top of my helmet while ducking branches.

For Alaska, I see using it intermittently as interesting things come up while riding, and fun around camp.

If I open the GP, I can't return it so I won't be laying hands on it until it is decided. My impression of the GP is that it will be more difficult to operate while riding, and projects too much.

I like the iPhone app for the Contour to set up alignment and such easier.

On to the helmet, if I go with the Contour, where will it mount when using the Nolan?

Any input appreciated!
Joevano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:10 AM   #2
Kiwi Bush Rider
Adventurer

Oddometer: 32