ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-22-2012, 01:27 AM   #1
2Vulcans OP
Let's go...
 
2Vulcans's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Stellenbosch, South Africa
Oddometer: 166
Question Garmin Montana mounted to battery or to sat nav power?

Hello,
There might be a place somewhere where this is discussed but I can't find it.
I have a 1200GSA, when using the AMPS cradle mount is it better to power a Montana directly from a battery or to use the sat nav power outlet close to the oil cooler? If using the power outlet, do I need the adapter? Any instructions on wiring somewhere?

Thanks!
2Vulcans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 03:28 AM   #2
GH41
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Vulcans View Post
Hello,
There might be a place somewhere where this is discussed but I can't find it.
I have a 1200GSA, when using the AMPS cradle mount is it better to power a Montana directly from a battery or to use the sat nav power outlet close to the oil cooler? If using the power outlet, do I need the adapter? Any instructions on wiring somewhere?

Thanks!
Do you mean rugged mount? You will get many opinions on how to power the mount. I prefer mine wired directly to the battery. I remove the GPS when I leave the bike. If I camped and left it installed overnight I would have wired it to a switched circuit to eliminate any chance of killing the bikes battery. GH
GH41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 06:36 AM   #3
WoodButcher
Beastly Adventurer
 
WoodButcher's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 1,972
I use the GPS connection near the oil cooler. it is switched and will power down about a minute after you turn off the bike.

I've had GPSs wire both to the battery and switched. With direct, you just need to know how your gps works with regards to the mount and being turned off. My zumo 550 won't draw power if the gps is off and in the motorcycle mount so it is safe to leave on the bike when direct to the battery. That isn't the case with all gps units. I don't know about the Montana. So with direct, you need to remove the gps when you are leaving the bike parked for a while (like overnight) or make sure it is off if it doesn't draw power when off.

So the switch is the safer option since it won't run your bike battery down. The downside is that for quick stops, like opening a gate or getting gas, it will try to shut off the gps. Most will tell you they lost power and give you a chance to tell them to run on internal battery, but if you miss that message then they shut down. They'll restart when you turn on the power again, but it will take a little time before they are running again.

So, pick which one sounds more convenient to you and try it out. You can always rewire and try the other way.
__________________
Rusty

2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
1999 DR650
WoodButcher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 08:10 AM   #4
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,082
As a third option, I power mine through a battery powered relay controlled by a handlebar mounted switch. That gives me the option to turn it on or off whether the ignition is on or off.
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 09:15 AM   #5
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Vulcans View Post
Hello,
There might be a place somewhere where this is discussed but I can't find it.
I have a 1200GSA, when using the AMPS cradle mount is it better to power a Montana directly from a battery or to use the sat nav power outlet close to the oil cooler? If using the power outlet, do I need the adapter? Any instructions on wiring somewhere?

Thanks!
First, the Montana is always being charged when it is in the AMPS Rugged Mount if power is applied whether the Montana is on or off.

So, if you don't want the unit to potentially draw down your battery you will need to do one of three (3) things:
  1. Use the BMW Accessory Plug you mentioned and you will need to get the appropriate harness plug from your BMW Dealer to wire to the Rugged Mount cable.
  2. Wire the Rugged mount to another switched source from the battery (as mentioned by FatChance).
  3. If your Rugged Mount is powered all of the time, don't leave your Montana in the mount when you turn off the bike for long periods (over night).

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 08-22-2012 at 01:10 PM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 12:54 PM   #6
WoodButcher
Beastly Adventurer
 
WoodButcher's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 1,972
Dan, thanks for that. I didn't know whether the Montana kept charging in the rugged mount or not.
__________________
Rusty

2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
1999 DR650
WoodButcher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 03:25 AM   #7
GH41
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 822
Dan, what about option #4? Wired directly to the battery with AAs (or no battery at all) in the unit. How can it use power if it isn't charging anything? GH
GH41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:45 AM   #8
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by GH41 View Post
Dan, what about option #4? Wired directly to the battery with AAs (or no battery at all) in the unit. How can it use power if it isn't charging anything? GH
See, see how this works - I love you guys watchin' my back.

Yes, that would be option #4.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:12 PM   #9
pizzaforbreakfast
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Oddometer: 61
I have found that with the montana/rugged mount wired directly to the battery you can still completely shut down the gps (no power draw from unit). Hold down the power button for a couple seconds and the GPS shuts down but still shows that it is charging on the screen. Hold down the power button again and the screen goes completely blank. I believe the montana is no longer being powered at this point. Another press of the button and the GPS starts back up.
pizzaforbreakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:42 PM   #10
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by pizzaforbreakfast View Post
I have found that with the montana/rugged mount wired directly to the battery you can still completely shut down the gps (no power draw from unit). Hold down the power button for a couple seconds and the GPS shuts down but still shows that it is charging on the screen. Hold down the power button again and the screen goes completely blank. I believe the montana is no longer being powered at this point. Another press of the button and the GPS starts back up.
I like your theory a lot! .

Have you put a meter in line with the negative battery terminal and looked at amps being drawn with and without that Montana in the mount?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 03:04 PM   #11
pizzaforbreakfast
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Oddometer: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
I like your theory a lot! .

Have you put a meter in line with the negative battery terminal and looked at amps being drawn with and without that Montana in the mount?
I was wrong... it does draw even if the screen is completely blank. I didn't even need to use a multimeter to find out. :)
pizzaforbreakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 10:38 AM   #12
covered in dust
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego County, Calif. USA
Oddometer: 19
No Power

I have a problem with the mount I can't figure out. I have 3 different bikes all with the Rugged mount on them. None of them seem to be powering the unit. I have the red and black wires connected directly to the battery and no other wires used. The unit will not turn on without a battery in it and runs the battery down during a day of riding. What am I doing wrong?

Covered in Dust
covered in dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 06:58 PM   #13
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by covered in dust View Post
I have a problem with the mount I can't figure out. I have 3 different bikes all with the Rugged mount on them. None of them seem to be powering the unit. I have the red and black wires connected directly to the battery and no other wires used. The unit will not turn on without a battery in it and runs the battery down during a day of riding. What am I doing wrong?

Covered in Dust
Almost certainly you're wiring it wrong. Red is Positive, black is Negative. Check the label on the cable for the correct polarity.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 07:30 PM   #14
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
you will need to do one of three (3) things:Cheers,
Never say Never, never say always, there is always some other way to skin a cat! Is that un-PC?
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 12:40 PM   #15
covered in dust
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: San Diego County, Calif. USA
Oddometer: 19
I have all three wired correctly. One of the mounts was on a bike I bought and the user was not having any problems with it. I think for some reason my Montana does not see the power from the mount. It may be a problem with my Montana but Garmin keeps saying I must have it wired wrong. There help center is not very helpful.

CiD
covered in dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014