ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2012, 05:46 PM   #1
BKMLWR OP
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,374
where are the unlock files for City Navigator? setting up a new computer and "retrieve unlocks" from garmin website says not able to download to computer
so I'd like to get them off the old computer
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong

BKMLWR screwed with this post 05-31-2012 at 06:46 PM Reason: fjound answer
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:47 PM   #2
BKMLWR OP
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,374
found the file....
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 07:38 AM   #3
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,090
If you share where you found them perhaps someone in the future won't have to ask the same question again...
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:26 PM   #4
BKMLWR OP
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatChance View Post
If you share where you found them perhaps someone in the future won't have to ask the same question again...
it depends on what system you are on xp or win7. I just did a search for *.ucx and include hidden files
win7 had it in c:\user\my name\appdata\roaming\garmin\maps\UnlockCodes.ucx


xp was this way-
C:\Documents and Settings\myname\Application Data\GARMIN\Maps
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:59 PM   #5
FatChance
Road Captain
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Oddometer: 10,090
__________________
Pain in the Butte Ranch
Durango, Colorado

- Calculated risk or forbidden fruit?
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:25 AM   #6
1200gsceej
Beastly Adventurer
 
1200gsceej's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco Peninsula
Oddometer: 1,229
Can you load the same map to more than one computer?

I have my CN NA map loaded on my Desktop where I did all my MapSource work w/o having to connect my GPS.
Now I have a new laptop. I'd like to also be able to use MapSource there. So do you know if I can just download/install the maps there and have them on two computers?
I have not tried yet; thought I'd ask first in case there are some side effects that I might want to consider.
Thanks,
-ceej
__________________
My bike: Yellow '05 1200GS - on the Spotwalla ADV location page as CJ3.
My solo trips: SF to Colorado and back 2011 and 2013, SF-LA loop, Pinnacles and Carmel Valley loop
With Ol'Badger: http://www.2guysonbikes.com
And remember: Beauty is in the behind of the holder.
1200gsceej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 12:28 PM   #7
BKMLWR OP
Wondering around...
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: North Carmel
Oddometer: 4,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1200gsceej View Post
I have my CN NA map loaded on my Desktop where I did all my MapSource work w/o having to connect my GPS.
Now I have a new laptop. I'd like to also be able to use MapSource there. So do you know if I can just download/install the maps there and have them on two computers?
I have not tried yet; thought I'd ask first in case there are some side effects that I might want to consider.
Thanks,
-ceej

yes, if you have the original DVD. I have CN on desktop, laptop and now a netbook.
Net book did not have a DVD reader so I copied the disk to desktop computer and then copied to big flash drive.
Then installed from flash drive to netbook. That is when I needed to get the unlock code file and copy to netbook
__________________
Sometimes I get off the bike before it has come to a complete stop....
Another Proud Small Scale Faker......
Praise You In This Storm
LifeSong
BKMLWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 12:29 PM   #8
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1200gsceej View Post
I have my CN NA map loaded on my Desktop where I did all my MapSource work w/o having to connect my GPS.
Now I have a new laptop. I'd like to also be able to use MapSource there. So do you know if I can just download/install the maps there and have them on two computers?
I have not tried yet; thought I'd ask first in case there are some side effects that I might want to consider.
Thanks,
-ceej
This is the way I operate, i.e., Mapsource on both my desktop and on the notebook I take on trips.

It's been well over a year, but I think I reinstalled all my maps kind of from scratch from my CD's onto the Notebook.

Since my Notebook did not have a CD drive I had to copy the CDs to the desktop and then send them to the notebook via a local network transfer. I tried putting the CDs onto a thumb drive, but it didn't work for some reason.

I was worried about the time order of things. My Topos are over 10 years old and my CN is only a few years old. I was afraid the older Topo installation wouldn't work with a new version of Mapsource already there. But this wasn't a problem. Once I had them installed I downloaded the latest version of Mapsource from Garmin and installed it over the top of the one created by the map installs.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014