ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-02-2014, 11:05 AM   #76
OmegaX
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 31
Where to enter code?

Have I lost my mind?? It is time to renew my service and I can't figure out how to do it with one of the promo codes. I have clicked and hunted 'til I am crosseyed

I can't find where I would enter the code. I have 10 days before it will renew automatically.
OmegaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 02:55 PM   #77
spidennis
SandStorm Adventures
 
spidennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: South Padre Island, Texas .... far from anything
Oddometer: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmegaX View Post
Have I lost my mind?? It is time to renew my service and I can't figure out how to do it with one of the promo codes. I have clicked and hunted 'til I am crosseyed

I can't find where I would enter the code. I have 10 days before it will renew automatically.
you have a code? to share maybe? I need to activate mine soon .....
__________________
2003 Yamaha WR250F (texas street legal, my primary ride, oh yeah baby!)
List of mods and rides:
http://www.sandslave.com/2003wr250f/
List of my Spot Tracker Adventures:
http://www.spotadventures.com/user/p...?user_id=53368
spidennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 03:34 PM   #78
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,183
see post 74
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 04:03 PM   #79
OmegaX
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by 250senuf View Post
see post 74
That is the code I was going to use. I just can't find a place to put it, I clicked until I have gone crazy

Please tell me how to click thru their menu to get to the right page.
OmegaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 04:32 PM   #80
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,183
I was replying to spidennis.
No idea where to put the code.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 04:33 PM   #81
moto_dmitriy
que?
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Oddometer: 71
Ether call and tell them you want to renew with a code. They will likely hassle you about where you got it etc.... (they aren't that stupid & know about online code sharing). You can also request to cancel service immediately, you will lose a few days you have paid for already, then just sign up again using the code business as usual. They clearly don't like giving existing customers a discount which is why there is no place to do it online if you already have service.

I happen to have 2 spot devices back in Sept. so while on the phone trying to get them to apply the code. I just signed up my second device with the code and asked them to cancel service on my first one. Then a few days laters I swapped them on the account online (from gen 1 to gen 2). Also when I called in asking for to apply the code I played coy telling them I got sent that code in the email reading the previous email format for them but they were a PITA to talk to hence why I did the 2nd device thing. If you only have 1 spot then canceling and signing up again should work no problem.
moto_dmitriy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 09:32 AM   #82
OmegaX
Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Oddometer: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto_dmitriy View Post
Ether call and tell them you want to renew with a code. They will likely hassle you about where you got it etc.... (they aren't that stupid & know about online code sharing). You can also request to cancel service immediately, you will lose a few days you have paid for already, then just sign up again using the code business as usual. They clearly don't like giving existing customers a discount which is why there is no place to do it online if you already have service.

I happen to have 2 spot devices back in Sept. so while on the phone trying to get them to apply the code. I just signed up my second device with the code and asked them to cancel service on my first one. Then a few days laters I swapped them on the account online (from gen 1 to gen 2). Also when I called in asking for to apply the code I played coy telling them I got sent that code in the email reading the previous email format for them but they were a PITA to talk to hence why I did the 2nd device thing. If you only have 1 spot then canceling and signing up again should work no problem.
Thanks for the info, it seems that the people that are using the code are renewing service on a device that was not currently active. Making a phone call seems to be my best chance for a discount.
OmegaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 03:46 AM   #83
b1pig
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Ray City, Ga
Oddometer: 632
just activated a device using the code in post 74... worked for me.
__________________
'07 Jeep JKU Rubicon, '73 Super Beetle, '12 Grand Caravan (wife)
'08 KLR 650
'07 GZ250 (wife)
b1pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 02:30 PM   #84
RodSTer
Adventurer
 
RodSTer's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Kamloops, BC
Oddometer: 58
No joy from Canuckistan

Just tried the code from Canada and no joy. I'll try to give them a call tomorrow and see if I can sweet talk them.
__________________
Rod Schween
Kamloops, BC
IBA #418

RodSTer screwed with this post 02-09-2014 at 04:07 PM
RodSTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 01:14 PM   #85
MooseBuilt
MoooooooooOOSE!
 
MooseBuilt's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Sutck in the republic of maryland
Oddometer: 144
codes

None of them worked for me, said i was out of the area? and they charge TAX...? wonder who it goes to, state wise...
__________________
KTM950SE you Crotch Rocket Weenies!! lets see you do 120 in the median !

Retired CRF450X TRX450ER Superhawk 996(3) XR650L(2) XR650R(2) CBR900 XR650R Motarded ZX600
MooseBuilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 01:45 PM   #86
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by RodSTer View Post
Just tried the code from Canada and no joy. I'll try to give them a call tomorrow and see if I can sweet talk them.
No love?
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 06:55 PM   #87
2000RSV
Go Fast, Go Long
 
2000RSV's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: FDL, WI
Oddometer: 2,112
Promo Code no worky. New service with Spot3.
2000RSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 01:04 PM   #88
AteamNM
Wonna Be ADVrider
 
AteamNM's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Sandia Mountains New Mexico
Oddometer: 3,363
Every time I think I want to buy the dang thing, I come here and the code does not work..............
AteamNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:56 PM   #89
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by AteamNM View Post
Every time I think I want to buy the dang thing, I come here and the code does not work..............
So what? The code is only for free tracking, but there are ways to use the Spot that don't kill the expensive AAA batteries anywhere near as fast as tracking mode does. So if you really do have a use for the Spot, don't let the lack of free tracking stop you.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 08:16 PM   #90
Shunka
Supervision Required
 
Shunka's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: San Clemente, CA
Oddometer: 3,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by KojiKP View Post
I just used the code "PCFTRACKSPOT" and it worked, free tracking for a year.

If you're trying to do it over the phone, tell them the website is pointclickfish.com, that's where I first saw the code.

Just worked for me in case anyone is thinking about trying.
Shunka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014