ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2012, 10:40 AM   #1
TorontoDude OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
TorontoDude's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: bowels of downtown Toronto
Oddometer: 395
routing with Garmin tracks?

Hi,

after a few frustrating days of fumbling, i finally figured out how to get Googlemap trips send over to my Garmin 60CSX (by reducing the number of waypoints)

so, the question is now, how to I route with it? How do i get the 60csx to tell me when to take turns etc? my tracks are all on paved/forest roads.
TorontoDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:17 AM   #2
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
You can't navigate a track, only a route. If your tracks are on paved roads, you'll should be able to built a route from them.

Using a track, all you can hope for is to keep the pointer on or close to the track line on the screen. The newer generation of Garmin gps’s like the 62/78 series allow you to navigate a saved track. You still won't get turn-by-turn directions, but you can use the trip computer data fields. The 60 won't do this.

You might try adding ‘Proximity’ warnings to waypoints placed along your track. The gps will warn you at a distance (i.e. radius in miles, feet or yards) from the waypoint. This can be set in the gps or in Basecamp. In BC and on the 62's gps display, a red circle will appear around it. You might drop a waypoint at a intersection, then set the proximity warning at 0.125 mile. The gps will warn you when your close, but you have to be looking down to see it. There are tone warnings, but you may not hear them.

http://gpstracklog.com/2010/07/navig...handhelds.html

daryl

dlh62c screwed with this post 06-19-2012 at 11:25 AM
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 03:03 AM   #3
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlh62c View Post
You can't navigate a track, only a route. daryl
Not quite true. The 60csx does have a trackback feature.

The first step is to RTM. http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/GP...nersManual.pdf

But likely the step before that is to read through one or more of the threads in here that deal with Tracks vs. Routes, and downloading information from Google Earth, as well as to make sure you have a routable data set in your GPS.

If what you really want to do is follow a track, I usually just leave mine on the GPS screen and follow the line.

If what you really want is a route that will follow the roads you want to travel and give you directions, then you probably need to store that GE track as a route in your GPS, make sure you have routable map data (City Navigator or the like) and go that way.

Again, lots of similar threads in here that cover either situation.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:24 AM   #4
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
The 60csx does have a trackback feature.
http://www.ehow.com/facts_7444889_garmin-tracback_.html

The TracBack feature allows the user to recall the track information and follow it in reverse, to return to the starting point, or in the original direction, to repeat the same trip exactly as it was done the first time. It's used to retrace a previously traveled route.

daryl
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014