ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2012, 06:20 AM   #1
bmccrary OP
Adventurer
 
bmccrary's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Lexington, NC
Oddometer: 60
2720 - Acquiring Satellites??

Just added a 2720 to my Vstrom. Purchased it off ebay and tested it in the car when it arrived. Worked great. Hooked it up on the bike the other day and when I powered it up to test my connections I got a notice that my maps were over a year old and needed to be updated. I clicked ok and when continued on with my basic test.

This morning I rode the bike to work for the first time with this GPS on and for the entire ride (40 miles) the GPS never acquired the satellites to work. At the top of the map screen it said "Acquiring Satellites" and the icon on the map never moved.

Any chance a map update would resolve this? Any one else had this issue?
__________________
Ride Reports/Snowboard Trips
http://www.bmccraryfz6.blogspot.com/

IBA #42019
bmccrary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 04:12 PM   #2
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,880
Go to a big wide open field and try booting it up there.

My 2720 acquires enough satellites to navigate in (I would guess) 1-3 minutes after the GUI is complete. That is when sitting in my driveway. BUT, if I start riding/driving before it has acquired the birds, it can take a long time, especially if there are lots of trees or buildings to block signal. Best advice, I can offer is don't start moving until it has finished acquiring the birds.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:22 PM   #3
viverrid
not dead yet
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Western Mass
Oddometer: 30,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
...Best advice, I can offer is don't start moving until it has finished acquiring the birds.
That might be a looong time! I don't have a 2720, but we have three Garmins of various kinds. Sometimes I've had this happen. Just letting it sit didn't seem to help. Powering it off and then on resulted in a subsequent signal acquisition. YMMV.
__________________
Advanced pancreatic cancer found 04/2010. Have outlived +/- 97% of patients with this diagnosis, but 08/2013 cancer now in liver, vascular system and lungs with 20+ lung tumors. Sick/weak sometimes, not riding much. No more treatments & now under Hospice care.
viverrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 11:13 PM   #4
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,406
Try a reset as described here:

http://www.justanswer.com/car-electr...reetpilot.html

Then set it outside or go for a ride/drive for up to 30 min and hopefully it will reaquire satellite fix for you.

JR 356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014