User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-31-2012, 06:59 PM   #1
Gundy OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 872
Tiger 955i skidplate and crash bar suggestions pls

Just picked up an '04 955i and am really liking this bike so far. I plan on doing some dirt/gravel roads so I am wondering what the best protective gear is for this bike. Touratech makes a bunch of stuff but it's $$$$. Hepco Becker makes some crash bars that seem a little cheaper. Any recommendations are appreciated!

'12 Tenere, '04 Tiger, '09 WRR, '06 DRZ, '06 TW, '01 250 EXC, '09 KLR
Gundy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 12:16 AM   #2
johned
green noob

Oddometer: 41
I am surprised nobody is getting in on this. I am a noob and still searching for my bike. I have read that many are seriously disapopinted at the ground clearance and say they bash the bottom skid plate often. I will believe them. The skid/bash plate seems to come in two major variations.....nicely curved and hugging the pies and SHORT. The other is more squared of and ugly but is a truly protecting item.. I think that style comes in a short version and a longer that would protect the trans. You NEED crash bars that cover the front corners of the engine and for sure you need the bars that protect the "plastic" tank that bulges into the crash zone of nearly any mishap or drop.

Get the finger protestors that keep the branches from hurting and get the model that has a strong metal bar inside that will save the amputation of fingers by the brake or clutch levers.

You need way more help than I can give and I only hope to inspire questions. I want to see what the heavies have to say.

John
johned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 01:47 AM   #3
Drunk_Uncle
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,097