ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Hacks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2012, 04:38 PM   #16
pecos
BAM!!
 
pecos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Big D, TX
Oddometer: 505
Glad to see this thread started. I just installed my dauntless mounts last night on my 06 t100.. Connected the california sidecar this morning. Just took my first trip around the neighborhood 30 minutes ago.

I am in the early stages of discovery. The bike has plenty of power to haul my big self.

Since I have nothing to compare it to I am trying to figure out if any furture alignment is needed. I am reading some manuals and watching youtube to understand the functionality. The main thing I do need to get is a steering dampner. I did experience a little head slap from the front wheel.

When my old man came over this morning to help connect the car one of the first things he pointed out was the bolts hanging low on the front mounts.
pecos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 06:00 PM   #17
RidingDonkeys OP
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 7,420
I wouldn't worry too much about the steering damper. Mine shakes a little at low speeds, but I can take both hands off at 40mph and it tracks fine. At 60mph it tracks perfectly. I was a little concerned at first, mainly because my only other hack experience has been on a Ural with a steering damper. Jay at DMC told me it was normal, and I've gotten quite comfortable with it.

I don't know the full history on my rig, but Jay may have done some steering magic on mine. I do recall the PO mentioning something about having neck work done on a few of his other rigs. I do know that while it is a bit squirmy at slow speeds, it tracks great on the road.
__________________
Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 08:11 PM   #18
cathouse willy
just some guy
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: New West BC
Oddometer: 69
RD how wide overall is your rig? Mine is 62 inches overall and it seems vast when sitting on it.
cathouse willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 08:29 PM   #19
RidingDonkeys OP
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 7,420
I'll measure tomorrow for exact numbers, but it is just under 60" at the tires.

Sent from my Droid 2 Global using Typotalk 2
__________________
Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 08:45 PM   #20
cathouse willy
just some guy
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: New West BC
Oddometer: 69
I'm measuring from the outside of the left footpeg to the far edge of the car fender. It's wide... I'll have to get used to it as there's not much room on the mounts to make it narrower.
cathouse willy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:42 AM   #21
jaydmc
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Oddometer: 898
The Ural cargo rig you have has our new from billet triple tree's to lower the steering effort.
Jay G
DMC sidecars
www.dmcsidecars.com
866-638-1793
jaydmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 09:23 AM   #22
RidingDonkeys OP
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 7,420
There you go! Buy new triple trees from Jay and be happy.

Seriously, this thing is super easy to steer. It makes long days in the saddle a lot less tiring than the Ural.

Sent from my Droid 2 Global using Typotalk 2
__________________
Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 03:42 PM   #23
O'Hooligan
Ken Dodd's dads dogs dead
 
O'Hooligan's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 594
RD: did you ever find out anything about longer wearing tires on the bonnie, I know you had a thread on it. I'm about ready to put new tires on my T100 rig and am open to suggestions.

Gerry
O'Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 04:29 PM   #24
RidingDonkeys OP
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 7,420
Nope, I think that was Bokad's thread. He asked what people were running. I've got the factory Metzeler MEZ2's on my rig. I need something a little stickier for the dirt roads though.

I do like the new longer wear Duro's on the Ural though. If I could find a tubeless set for the Bonnie, I would go with it. They probably exist, but I haven't looked.

Sent from my Droid 2 Global using Typotalk 2
__________________
Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:23 PM   #25
Saxon7
n00b
 
Saxon7's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Oddometer: 3
Thanks for posting this. I have been tossing up the idea of a Bonneville for some time.
Sean,.
Saxon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 11:11 AM   #26
RidingDonkeys OP
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 7,420
I owe a couple of measurements.

Ground clearance shot



The rig is 59" at the tires, and about 75" handlebar to fender.

Sent from my Droid 2 Global using Typotalk 2
__________________
Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.

RidingDonkeys screwed with this post 09-03-2012 at 11:16 AM
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 04:10 PM   #27
O'Hooligan
Ken Dodd's dads dogs dead
 
O'Hooligan's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Oddometer: 594
Wow, I thought mine was low. I just took a quick measurement of mine with the same Wark subframe and it is just about 5".
O'Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 07:26 AM   #28
jaydmc
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Oddometer: 898
Our mounts loose 1 1/8 inch of ground clearance The reason why is that we want to tie to both sides of the frame of the bike, doing this requires passing under the bikes frame. The mount is made from one inch square tubing and clamped on using a clamp that is 1/8 inch thick. The triple tree's which moves the front wheel forward for lighter steering also account for about an inch of ground clearence loss. We often put stiffer springs in the front end of the bikes when we do the tree's to take out the sag in the forks. The original owner of the Ural cargo sidecar did not have us do this.
Jay G
DMC sidecars
www.dmcsidecars.com
866-638-1793
jaydmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 09:10 AM   #29
RidingDonkeys OP
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 7,420
Thanks for the info, Jay. Do you mind suggesting a spring to use in the front forks?

Sent from my Droid 2 Global using Typotalk 2
__________________
Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:27 PM   #30
rxcoop
persnickety curmedgeon
 
rxcoop's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: cultural mecca of mid-atlantic
Oddometer: 1,659
fyi...i used race-tech single rate, 1.1kg with 15wt fork oil. mounted a front fork brace from south bay triumph. my rig tracks real nice....
__________________
Bill Cooper (dba "drug dawg")
94 Miata M-edition, 10 Bonneville T100 w/cozy sidecar,
10 Trek fx7.3
<applicant for "Official Pharmacist of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame" (r)>
rxcoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014