ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2012, 05:04 PM   #1
Burbs OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Burbs's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 195
Custom Route Issues in Basecamp

How in the HELL do I get this program to stick to the road I want to stay on? I'm trying to stay on a main road and yet it keeps routing me on other roads? For example, I'm trying to create my route on RT 6 in PA and yet it keeps putting me on other roads then eventually gets me to RT 6. Even when I'm zoomed all the way in, it still does it. This is driving me f***** insane!!!! I can't tell you how many times I've had to go back and redo the friggin route!!! There must be an easier way!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated or else I'm going to throw this f***** laptop out my window!!!!

-Chris
__________________
This is my Concours. There are many others like it, but this one is mine.
Burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 05:14 PM   #2
Burbs OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Burbs's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 195
One more thing, I did try to use the move route tool and that didn't seem to work either.
__________________
This is my Concours. There are many others like it, but this one is mine.
Burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:24 PM   #3
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burbs View Post
One more thing, I did try to use the move route tool and that didn't seem to work either.
Have you watched all of the online Video Tutorials for whichever [OS] BaseCamp you are using? Your post leaves me with the impression that you are not very familiar with the Route Preferences/Options settings.

Tip: Make sure you have chosen the appropriate Activity profile. Automotive would be a good place to start.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:47 AM   #4
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Youtube is your friend:
Creating a route using BC on a Mac
Creating a route using BC on a PC

daryl

dlh62c screwed with this post 08-27-2012 at 01:58 AM
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 07:40 AM   #5
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,894
Be sure to check the preferences. I would imagine you want shortest distance. Make sure you are not avoiding 4 lane roads.

One trick I use a lot is to put via points between intersections rather than at intersections. This forces the routing software to go down that path.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 03:02 PM   #6
Burbs OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Burbs's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 195
Thank you....thank you....thank you!!!

That really helped me out big time and made it a lot easier. I did watch the videos in the past but I guess the route options/preferences went over my head.

Thanks again for the help.

-Chris
__________________
This is my Concours. There are many others like it, but this one is mine.
Burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014